[Resolved]  Honda Unicorn — Defect in Bike and Customer Service

My name Arun Kumar and I bought a HONDA Unicorn from Didar Motors Chennai (#340 (old # 654), Anna Salai, Chennai – 600006) on 18th Feb 2008. The bike was good, until I found out this defect. This Unicorn Bike in allergic to water, the moment it gets wet the engine cools down and bike turns off. When I visited some websites to figure out what has gone wrong, I got replies from forum members saying it’s a common defect in UNICORN and I need to get this fixed. Being an Engineer I accept a defect can occur in a product, and I don’t blame HONDA for this. But what followed was even more surprising. First I went to Didar motors saying I have this problem, the guy had a look at the bike, looked at spark plug and then gave it back to me saying “Now it’s fine…” Four days after this had happened, we had rain in Chennai, and the same old problem reappeared. This time after completely getting myself drenched in rainwater I somehow managed to push my bike to a nearest service center JSP Honda Vepery. An authorized service center in charge gave me this reply “Sir. I understand your problem, but I suggest you to take it to Didar, we will have problems servicing it here”. Next day I went to Didar again, this time the person in charge of that service station said to a mechanic “Same problem which we had in the Black one, look into this…” I was finally happy; some one has recognized my bike’s problem. He got the bike back in 10 mins. I got even more excited thinking they have super mechanics who can fix such problems in matter of minutes. But I had doubts in my mind so finally decided to give it for First Service on 27th March (again in Didar). This time, I asked him to retest this problem. Next day I got the bike saying “It’s all fine….” Today 31st march again we had rain in Chennai, and again the problem reappeared. Again I took my bike to Didar at 6.15PM saying I have this problem, the attitude with which the person in charge replied to me has actually got me upset. The guy replied “Get the Bike tomorrow when it is raining, we will test drive the Bike in rain and then see what can be done….” in a manner, as if I am asking him for some HELP. I literally pleaded to him, to have my mike there and have a closer look at it. HONDA Company did not gift me this bike, I bought this Bike with my hard earned money for Rs 62, 160.00 + Rs 868.00 (accessories) and I expect only things which a person normally expects out of his Bike and nothing more. For all along I was quite, but now I feel things are going above a tolerable level. Consumer’s right should be protected, and it is not only the responsibility of a Company but also (Dealers, Sub dealers) every single person associated with it. I don’t know whom I should report this to, so I send this mail to every single mail ID of persons whom I think can really help me. If you have any suggestion for me do reply back to [protected]@yahoo.com

Arun
Yes (3)
Honda Cars India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Honda Unicorn — scratches at delivery

I purchased one honda unicorn m.cycle from ur kasaragod dealer pace motors dl.code.KL 140001. Wide eng no. 1073162. and chassis no.3F98071876. At the time of delivery. we found a scratch on the silensor guard and another mark on rear fender.v informed the delivery person. at the time of first service they replaced the guard. but they are not responsible for the mark on the fender. so kindly do the needful as soon as possible.

yours truely.
Reji jacob
Dear, sir. Maine 26.12.2008 ko sardar motors, civil line faizabad se honda unicorn khareeda tha.jis ki clutch friction kharab ho gaye.Agency se badalwane par kit ka rate Rs 663/=liya gaya.jab ki wahi kit ka rate lucknow agency me Rs 330/=print rate hai.aap 3day me es complain ka jawab dejiye.nahi to majboori vash hame upbhokta foram me jana pade ga..thanks
hello honda,

your unicorn bike handle is not steady, it is fluctuating . seat has more hight. fuel tank is bulky and not convenient and comfortable, mileage is low, no fuel injection technology, but only good thing is riding comfort and engine smooth. it is my own experience
my vehicle also giving the same kind of problem not only in rainy season, its happening on daily basis, i too bought my bike through Didar motors, chennai

hari
Hey i just booked this bike and yet to receive, and i found your compalint very interesting..other than this do you have any problems in your unicorn??how is the comfort and do u drive long distance? if so any back ache??
pl respond my friend..ur response helps
hello mr arun kumar

just replace your spark plug in your bike..that wil do the trick.if possible go for an iridium sparkplug with High Tenssion Cable...
Take this to honda help line enquiry or to consumer forum.

Honda Unicorn — very low mileage

I bought a honda unicorn on[protected].It has very poor mileage about 38.I had said this problem to the honda showroom in the 1st service itself, now its date for 5th service i.e. payed service .Yet the problem was not cleared.I had purchased this bike from "Vahini Honda, Puthentherivu(branch of Kollam), Kerala.Did I get a satisfied mileage about 55-60? For that what I want to do?Please sujest me practicable way.
I also had the same problem of getting the bike off in wet conditions.
I experienced the problem on 1st day itself.
But honda technicians told me that it might take some 1000 km or more for the engine to run perfectly.
The problem persisted even after the 1st paid (after 6 free)services.
They insisted on changing the plug adaptor in this time.
At last the problem got solved[protected]By Muthoot Honda Thiruvalla.

" Carbeurator air intake line not routed properly-----Mistake from the assembly line"
Namstey to all,

I brought the honda unicorn three months back from om sai honda malad mumbai.when i got the delivery from the showroom on that time the bike was jurking after starting and the still i am facing the same problem whenever i start my bike i am having this problem and when i gave my bike for my first service to the company service station they people changed my diefame and then they said now your bike's problem is sloved and then again i faced the problem again on very next day so i asked the service station people on phone that the same problem is there in my bike so what should i do so the fellow replied to me that when you will come next time then we will see to it and on second service they people changed my fuel tank and put down my old diefame then they said the problem was in tank not in the diefame so i felt relax that my problem is solved but very next day i felt same problem with me then i called up again to the service station then they put my call to the workshop manager then he said when ever your bike is free then give me for two days i will check the problem.And after two days ( they have drived my more then 125k.m ) that showroom manager replied i have checked your bike there is no pronblem in your bike.

But i am very surprice that the same problem is still there in my bike.so i think that the problem is there in my bike and in the company service station's people.

Hitesh Kotak
My registration number :- MH - O2 - BL - 9000

Honda Unicorn — chain cover noise & knocking

hi my name is mayur I bought a HONDA Unicorn from pune in wakade wadi Didar Motors.The bike was good, until I found out this defect and i have problem in my bike.engin noise is more and when i race my bike that time vibrations is created so what can do
I am using the Unicorn since 2004 and recently I bought the newer verson o[censored]nicorn, but till today I haven't witness such a strange problem! The problem may be somewhere else.
This is for kind information and notice last three day back we have been called for the repair / starting problem of Honda Unicorn 150 cc. your agent muthoot honda, pathanamthitta, kerala has not been reply for itselt.

Your dealer has not attending the complaint . It is very diffictult to provide the place of dealer. The motor cycle is under garantee/warantee it is very to shame to not attending the complaint

please this is for information and take action against the dealer.

with regards,

BABU P K
MGF HYUNDAI
KOZHENCHERRY P O
PATHANAMTHITTA
my name anoop am working in dubai living at aluvay(kerala) may i booked a honda unicorn bike ( befor three month at perumpavoor aryabangi motors ) now i yet my vecation period before one week i contact with the booking stall but he canot geev a good reaply i am not satisfade with your dealar in perumbavoor i have only two month leave how can purchers a bike pls geev a good solution

Honda Unicorn — worst servicing

The Manager ,
Samrat Honda (Pvt) Ltd,
Kothi Rampur ,
Dist: Karimnagar.
Andhre Pradesh – 505001

Sub: Defective Motorcycle (Honda Unicorn)

I am sorry to inform you that the Honda-Unicorn Motorcycle that I purchased on 12th May, 2009 has been constantly giving me troubles from the very first Servicing. All complaints made to the authorised service centres and workshops have failed to rectify the problem in my vehicle. I am going through a phase of severe mental, physical and financial exploitation due to this problem the details of which are given below.

Details of Motorcycle:

Model : Honda Unicorn
Chassis No : MF4KC093F98062115
Engine No : KC09E1063108
Date of Purchase : 12th May, 2009
Dealer : SAMRAT HONDA
: Kothi Rampur,
: Karimnagar.
Vehicle Registration No. : AP15AM4819

Please do the needful as early as possible

Kiran
Never go to a service center for repairs as claimed by the company. Find out a best mechanic in your locality and try to solve the problem with him. It is not a complicated engine. I have several experiences with Honda service center. In service center, each member has to cover nearly 5 to 10 vehicles in a day and may neglect detailed service to your vehicle. Now I used to service with a mechanic who does all the job with perfection, but only buy genuine parts from the service center and rest try to do with the mechanic. They do not charge for what ever thing you do in the center. Who knows that our vehicle is best cared for in the service center as we are not allowed to get in.
I mr taufeeque jaitapkar KONDE TAD RAJAPUR TALUKA RAJAPUR DIST RATNAGIRI MAHARSHTRA earlier i had sent u email complaint againts JAGRUT HONDA RATANAGIRI DIST :RATNAGIRI STATE MAHARASHTRA regarding purchasing o[censored]nicorn honda .in this connection your executive of konkan region [the name of this person not in my mind now]he follows properly.i had claim compensation againts company which i had beared.

the manager mr raut of jagrut honda pay rupess 918 [nine hundred eigteen ] as compensation.

I am very much thankful to company who follows my complaints.and treat me better response.
thanking u
please send ur consumer complend e-mail id for sending about my vechile complent with attachment documents

with faihfully
DEEPAK
21SEP2009
Name:Fateh Singh
Address:Village : Sainikhera,
Near Signature tower, South City - I, Gurgaon - 122001
city:Gurgaon
state:Haryana
pincode:122001
phone:[protected]
email:[protected]@yahoo.co.in
comments:I Have bought a new Honda Stunner from Nawab Honda, Gurgaon. Now
Rear tyre has some air leakage problem. I went to the showroom of Honda,
the exective/engineer over there told that the tyre has manufacturing
problem, Please to MRF. I don't know to whom I contact for the same.
Kindly help me to get my tyre replace as confirm by Honda. I also have the
letter & photo of faulty tyre from Honda stating that the tyre has
manufacturing problem.

Thanks & Best Regards
Fateh Singh
# [protected]

Honda Cars India
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    29%
    Honda Cars India Phone
    +91 11 3989 8918
    Honda Cars India Address
    D-126, TTC Industrial Area, MIDC Shiravane, Nerul,Thane-Belapur Road, Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400706
    View all Honda Cars India contact information