Follow us
Log in        Register
     
 

Hathway - Set Top Box not working. No response from HATHWAY

 
132 Reviews
User
  11111asdas
Hathway sucks !!!!

Its one of the worst service provider on earth.

The box has not been working for almost 3 months now. Contacted the concerned Hathway people. They assure me of immediate help. But they never did that.
I am very dissapointed. Please help. I wish if someone could file complaint against this DIRTY organisation for there DIRTY job.

HELP!!
Complaint comments 131 Comments     Updated:
Resolve this Complaint  

Comments

 

Refund and Redressal - Hathway

I had hired internet services of M/s Hathway Broadband Internet on Jan 16, 2007. The package was for six months with 3GB download capacity. During these six months the service was never reliable. It had lot of interruptions and the service practically came to halt in the month of April 2007. Due to these problems we were unable to utilize even 50% of the download capacity offered by the package, apart from the agony
caused by the inturrupted services.

Despite being aware of the problems faced by us, Hathway sent a
reminder for renewal of the package, for the service that was
practically non-functional since April 2007.

After prolonged communication, Hathway confessed that they are unable to provide these services in our locality. They even agreed
to refund all the money that was paid by us for this package.

As I was out of India, I had told Hathway not to take away their equipment (Modem) till I return to Mumbai. Based on my experience with them, I had told them to take the Modem only after sending the refund cheque. However, their technicians visited our house in my absence and took away the modem by misleading my 80 year old mother. After taking the situation in their control Hathway is ignoring my requests for the refund as agreed earlier.

So far, I have written 40 emails to Hathway on this issue which should have been resolved long ago.
 
see my story with Hathway
http://hathwayworst.blogspot.com/
 

Delay of service - Hathway Cable & Datacom Pvt Ltd

My internet connection from Hathway expired on 11-December-2007 and I paid the renewal amount by cash on 12-December-2007 by cash to the customer representative of Hathway. The connection was supposed to be active from the same day night. But it was not.

I made a call(usually reaching them is tough, you will have to make atleast minimun 30 tries) to customer support next day and found the connection was not renewed. They promised to renew the connection same day mid night 12:00 PM...But it never happend :-(

I had to make repeated calls and came to know their internet renewal application was going upgradation and my renewal will happen only the next day...

From then on till day(24-December-2007), I have been making repeated calls to the customer care department and the hathway renewal department. I am getting the same answer.

Once I did speak to the renewal manager also, he also gave me the same response and till now nothing has turned up.

I also asked them a couple of times to refund my renewal money so I can take up some other service provider, for that the manager on the renewal department says "Every service provider has the same issue..." and he never was agreeing to refund my money also. I have seen people defending their own services but I have never heard a manager speaking so ir-responsible.

Apart from this the basic difficulties,
* You cannot reach the customer care centre so easily, you will have to make a minimum of atleast 30 tries before you talk to a person on the other end. They say they have a 24*7 customer service, but after 10:00 PM and on weekends no one is there to attend your calls. Also, when there is an global issue like the renewal issue I am facing, no one picks up the phone...Even the representative who collected the renewal money from me, his mobile is switched of till now.
* The person on the customer support end is not so good in technical aspects of networking or neither he/she knows how to deal with customers. They just say they will look into the issue and get back, they will never in life time get back to you.
* For any issue, no time lines are certain. If you ask for a word, they won't be in a position to give it.
* As long as the system and devices work, you are in safer side. Once there is an problem, you are gone for a toss. No one, not a human cares for you.
* You will not be given any grace period for your renewals. Not even a single minute.

So its my humble request for those who are planning to take up Hathway, please think more than thrice...take up a service level agreement signed by the hathway folks so later it would be useful.

In other words, I would say, Please refrain from going to internet via Hathway....Please don't fall in a mess like myself.

Now finally, I have sent them an email and if they are not responding I am planning to go and speak to them in person in their Alwarpet office.

For taking service from Hathway I had to lose the following,
* My internet service - I was not able to do any of my work till now. The loss is huge.
* The money for all the call costs, atleast more than 75 calls to customer care and renewal department.
* Energy...good will and atlast finally going to waste my fuel and time behind these guys !!!

Please think before going for it !!!
 
I would want to remove this complaint from here.
I request the site owner to erase this complaint from this site.
 
After the delay of more than six months and prolonged communication with Hathway, I have finally received the refund cheque Jan 04, 2008.

In this case I would say that "Justice was delayed but not denied".
 
I purchased a Laptop of Acer Aspiron Model no.5052. I had not used the Bluetooth on that for last 4 months since i purchased. One day I needed it. It did not work. I uninstall & reinstall the OS that there may be a skip of OS. When I complaint this issue to Acer. They said that this product does not have the Bluetooh where at Nehru Place Acer showroom salesman told it has it just to sell it out. Even button of bluetooth is there on the Laptop. They are saying "It may be the button but bluetooh is not there". It is an open cheat to customer. I am feeling cut off my hands. What should I do?

Can one help me?
 
Hathway's STB is not updating the channels they provide thru direct cable.
All employees are sleeping, they dont even have a customer care number . Stupid and careless service in Hyderabad.
They should be moved to trial.
 
Although i took service of 1GB they promised me that i will be going to get around 40-60 kpbs per second. But , it is not happening.They told me night download is free, But it is not at all coming to download the softwares , min speed is 0.1 kbsp and maximum is 17kpbs ,in this way fluctuates
 
Please some take action on this and provide the exact valuable service that we are expecting from you. why don't you think that we are dissapointed from this cheating, all of you are white collar cheaters ....if you have any doubt please contact memy mail id is srikanthskills@gmail.com
 

cheque encashed without providing broadband services - Hathway

Hello,
I had got in touch with a Mr.Prashant Sorte from Hathway in Andheri (west) area to install broadband services at my place in 4 Bungalows,Andheri (west).
There was a lot of delay in installation so I cancelled my requirement for connection and demanded return of my cheque.
Prashant Sorte promised to return the cheques (two cheques worth Rs.618 each) within two working days.
In the meantime the cheques had been encashed about which Prashant Sorte had no idea at all.
On enquiry,Prashant was bold enough to putthe whole blame on me,speaking in very abusive language.
Prashant has become totally untraceable,he does not receive my calls and there is absolutely no intimation from their side on return of my money.
The amout owed to me might not be a huge figure but still nobody has ant right to cheat a person of his/her hard-earned money.
I am clueless as to whether I will get my money back or not....
N
User
theja  
 
Hathway, Really Sucks....
N
User
theja  
 
I thought to create a forum like this, just because for the worst service providers like Hathway.... I am really tired with Hathway..... I rarely able to connect their call center... past 15 days I have no internet. I am sending this post from my Office. I suggest all not to take Hathway innet connection........

When I called head office for their land branch office address they were not certain and confirmed the same. with a great difficuilty I found the branch office address.
A
User
Roshan  
 
I totally agree with Teja, the same thing is happening to me for last 12 days, I am calling their customer support everyday. I paid for 3 months (Rs 1685/- ) and within 3 weeks account got deactivated... I am asking the reason for the deactivation, they are not able to answer saying they will arrange a call from technical department!. In these 12 days at least 30 calls I made, they never called me back!!! Really pathetic service! Now they started giving some other numbers, saying I directly call those guys and ask!, I did that also but no result, tomorrow I am going to their office, I am fed-up with their pathetic service! customer service at their heights!
 

Non refund of Bill Payment Amount - Hathway Braodband Connection, Chennai, Alwarpet

I have applied for HathWay Braod Band COnnection.One of the Team Lead came from HathWay and I gave him a cheque dated 20/1/08 since i Have insufficient amounts i said the hath way representative, he told to write at the back of cheque "Plz deposit on 2/2/08" and i did it.But those people deposited my cheque on " 24/2/08"So i got fine of 400rs ...wen i went to ask them dey dint respond anything...and dey told my money ll be refunded ..but not yet........
so plz dont go for hathway..............
 
I have taken hathway broadband and tv connection and every sunday they remove the services I am also thinking of changing and want everyone to be beware of hathway
 
i am from chandigarh. Hathway really sucks. Lot of customers from this city are harassed by the company. they have sucked my money, my time, my head. we are gonna file a complaint against this company. we have all proof. speed we are getting is 7Kbps instead of 60-70 on 512 kbps regular plan.
 

service - Hathway

from past 3 to 4 months i am complanting regarding reconnection to mysore office but there is no responce from office. my user ir is kiran kumar
N
User
Praveen  
 

Poor download speed - Hathway

Dear Sir,

It is very nice that you are giving reminders for the renewal, it would be further nice if that punctuality comes in attending the coustmer complaints.

I had registered a complain to your customer care with complaint no: 1442957 and workorder no: 665711 on sunday 18-05-2008 regarding the below said problem

I live in kothrud pune and i have 512 kbps boardband connection and my download speed is between 5 kbps to max 14.6 kbps which is quite good for a dail up connection and not for the boardband connection.

from last two days i had phoned to your customer care, and the same reply i got is they are going to send an engineer tommorow.

iam really thinking of not renewing, if this type of the download speed with 512kbps .

I hope you will understand my problem and get it resolved at the earliest.

If you give the benefit of the three days of slow download with extension of the service it would be nice.

looking for a response
N
User
Mustafa  
 
I have a similar complaint against Hathway Kandivli office. My cheque of 618 was encashed whereas it is 50 days passed but I haven't got the connection yet. I known such comments will not resolve my problem but just ensuring one more search result for "HATHWAY SUCKS"
N
User
hucch  
 
Sucks?... What to say?

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good) No Rating
    code
    Hathway - Set Top Box not working. No response from HATHWAY