[Resolved]  Indian Railway — Fine and Misbehavior of TC

Address:Pune, Maharashtra

I was travelling from Dadar ( mumbai ) to Pune, and got ticket for 2nd Class.
However train scheduled was Pragati Express. So before entering into train I asked on of the officer from Railway dept only if this ticket is valid to travel for Pragati Express. He said yes, only travel in General bogie.

But when TC caught me and 3 more boys for the reason, this ticket is invalid and you need to have one more ticket for express.

I was ready to pay fine but I wanted to know the rule where it is mentioned that ticket is invalid. TC refused to show it to me.
I was charged for Rs. 259 which is more than 5 times of actual ticket cost.

More over TC was with one guy who was holding me and treating like he is Police officer and Im his prisoner. More like local gunda's hired. He didnt have any Identity railway service nor he was in any uniform. He was consistently pulling me and asking to pay fine. He was also ready to settle with me for less money but I refused.

Then I was put into a room for 30 mins like it is jail for me. I paid the fine coz I had no option left.
But still some questions are unanswered.
1. Why such big fine in spite of having ticket ?
2. Where I can find the correct rule for fine for traveling from express with normal ticket ?
3. Why Officer at Dadar station is not aware of this rule ?
4. Who was that guy with TC and how does is have authority to misbehave with passengers ?
Yes (4)

I am agree with some of the complains made. ac operator, TT / Tc is behaving very badly with the passengers even with the passengers having confirm tickets.They never give money reciet to the passenger for the extra amount paid for the ticket. It goes to their pocket. from the ticket counter they issue normal ticket for the AC chair car and suggest the passengers to give the remainig amount to the TT. But TT do not give money reciet for that extra money. they collect the extra money and put it in their pocket. This way Railway department is loosing crores of money everyday.TRhis Rly. employees should be punished immediately.Also see the TELEGRAPH paper Dt 21 april, 2011.Railway staff pushes out a passenger from a running train.every incidents are rising in Lumding - Agartala express train, Dharmanagar - agartala train. We have full faith on our Hon"ble Railway Minister Mamta ji. Only such honest dynamic leader can stop the corruptions in railway. we love her.We indians are proud to get such a honest minister in our country.
Jasidih magistrate TCs are misbehaving with passengers and also using abusive slangs words in name of magistrate checking at Jasidih( Deoghar) railway station. Everyday they are harassing many students already having tickets and many people's by not telling them the actual rule of tickets. Everyday I can see they are misusing there powers. Plz atleast they some relief must be Provided to passenger with less amount fine and also they sud be warned by rail for not abusing any passenger.

Indian Railways
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    25%
    Indian Railways Phone
    +91 11 2338 1213
    Indian Railways Address
    Rail Bhawan, Raisina Road, DL, India, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110001
    View all Indian Railways contact information