Follow us
Log in        Register
     
 

IRCTC - Pathetic website & customer support system

 
88 Reviews
User
  Chetan Thapliyal
Dear Sir,

I tried to book a ticket for two on 5th November, 2007 using the online ticket booking system of Indian Railways. Before I could get the confirmation of the booking the session expired. I checked the booking status in my IRCTC account but there was no update there. On checking the transaction's status in my credit card's account I found that payment had been done. I called to IRCTC help desk on 6 November, 2007 where I was told that the transaction would be reverted back within 2-3 days. After waiting for more than 10 days my bank (HDFC) still claims that the transaction has not been reverted back from Indian Railway's side. The details of the ticket, transactions, and my IRCTC account are as such:

username: jalche
Transaction-ID: 0030303955

I have lost my patience after calling again and again on the IRCTC customer care numbers (011-23345500, 011-23344787, 011-23344773, 011-23345800, 011-23340000). First of all no one dares to answer the phone, and on that the system is so bad that it automatically disconnects you after a certain interval of time. This means just keep calling and praying that someone will answer the call. I also tried to send emails to both `care@irctc.co.in` as well as `etickets@irctc.co.in` but all in vain.

This is when I just want to know the status of transaction for the tickets that couldn't book. I don't know what would happen to others. The IRCTC website has no instruction about where to go and what to do in case customer care and emails fail. I am in an absolute chaos now and have almost left the hope for refund. It would a real miracle if something comes out of this post.

Regards,
Chetan
Complaint comments 87 Comments     Updated:
Resolve this Complaint  

Comments

 
Dear chetan,
I am fully agree with you, the IRCTC customer care is very very poor. No one can tell you about whereabout your money except IRCTC customer care executives. try to send one more e-mail in the name of "Rajmani pathak", perhaps he will listen you, but I am not sure. Also keep in mind that whenever you write to any customer care exe, you must brief him full transaction details such as user name, date of booking and Name of credit card only. this will help exe's to help you fast and better way.

And last line, don't trust blind eyes on these "SUCKERS", they are fully senseless and heartless, Just google more complaint websites including blogs and spread your experience more and more people to beware from using this site i.e. www.irctc.co.in.
bye, god bless you.
 
Dear Pradeep,

I already sent all the necessary details like date of transaction, train no., beginning and destination, transaction-id, credit card gateway etc. to customer support emails. Even then I didn't get any reply. Not only so, I sent the mails multiple times, but still no response.

By the way, can you tell me about the designation of Mr. Rajmani Pathak so that I could send a proper email as one more last attempt.

Regards,
Chetan
 
I tried to book a ticket for two on 27th May, 2008 using the online ticket booking system of Indian Railways. Before I could get the confirmation of the booking the session expired. I checked the booking status in my IRCTC account but there was no update there. On checking the transaction's status in my Bank account I found that payment had been done. I called to IRCTC help desk on 27th May, 2008, where there was no response

username: vellanki28
Transaction-ID: 0049993393
 
DEAR, sir due to the train cancel, 2801, the ticket not cancelled pnr no;6413991156 and transaction id, 0052175611 was canceled by you, ok, please cancelled the ticket,
 
Dear sir,
Kindly confirm Satus of PNR No: 832-4281569 Ticket No: 93642337 with immediate Effect with revert mail

Thanks & Regards

Jaswant S. Dadiala
 
I tried to book a ticket for two on 6th November, 2008 using the online ticket booking system of Indian Railways. Before I could get the confirmation of the booking the session expired. I checked the booking status in my IRCTC account but there was no update there. On checking the transaction's status in my credit card's account I found that payment had been done. I called to IRCTC help desk on 6 November, 2008 there is no response.
username: sudhansu24
Transaction-ID:0074857264
 
Respected Sir/Madam

I have booked ticket from Chennai central(MAS) to Thane(TNA) on 13-Nov-2008, by giving my ICICI credit card number and CVV number. I am very much sure that I have approved payment only once by giving my CVV number. I also received the confirmation with the PNR-Number 420-2430523. Journey date is 10-01-2009 11:45 AM, MUMBAI EXPRESS. Rs. 762.00-/-

Then later I checked my Booked ticket option to take printout and found it shows 2 extra tickets booked with some other different PNR numbers, with 2 different coaches and my credit card was charged 3 times totally. Rs. 762.00 * 3 = 2286-/-

Transaction ID PNR Number
0076351064 4202430523 -This is the ticket generated first time and I received the successful transaction confirmation.

Let me know how it is possible for IRCTC to book tickets for the same train and same passengers three times. I filled only one form and got the confirmation only once. Credit card and CVV number is confidential and how they can use it 2 times extra without my knowledge. How they get information for next two times to book tickets for the same train and same passenger details. According to me all the information given first time should be deleted from their cache memory once the first ticket is alloted. But when I called Customer support of Chennai IRCTC they told its your banks mistake they have released the fund 3 times for the same train and IRCTC will book the train tickets how many times they are releasing the fund (This concept is wrong, My ticket information should be deleted once from their temporary memory once the first ticket is alloted and it should not allow to request for the second time). Also they told if I want I can cancel the other two ticket where I have to bare Rs. 40 per ticket. Come on guys First my credit card was charged thrice without my knowledge and I have to loose my money by canceling my tickets? We called ICICI customer care they told that they received the request for 3 times for the fund so it was released thrice and we requested our bank to escalate this case and they have done it. I have already send an email to IRCTC regarding this and not yet received any reply.

The below tickets are generated automatically which I have not approved.
So kindly check this issue which is very serious and return my money back 762 * 2 = Rs. 1524, back for the below tickets without deducting any charges. Looking forward for quick reply.

Transaction ID PNR Number
0076351563 4514871166
0076352090 4402430637

Vijayalakshmi Satishkumar
IRCTC User id :- ajitha100
Mobile:- 9790967737
 
My friend(Prabhu) tried to book ticket yesterday. In the middle of process, it showed some server error and tickets were not booked but the amount is gone,

He mailed immediately with snapshots of the error to the mailid they mentioned

He tried more to reach customer care but all went in vain.
 
My Userid: sati1232



I have booked a ticket on 12012009 at 5:10pm from Hyderabad to Mumbai traveling date 04/02/2008. The payment has made from axis bank payment ID: 7391701 after that when it is returning to irctc site it is in idle than it said session expired . in my account in booked tickets it is saying no records available.
so how to get my ticket.
 

ALLOTMENT OF BERTH - PEARL CITY EXPRESS

I TRAVELLED IN 2694 PEARL CITY EXPRESS ON BY 3A CLASSWITH TICKET PNR NO.4104343304.THE TTE AS PER CHART ALLOTTED BERTH NO.8 IN COACH THAT HAPPENED TO BE SIDE MIDDLE BERTH .HON. MINISTER FOR RAILWAYS HAS DIRECTED LONG BACK THAT THE SIDE MIDDLE BERTH WOULD BE DISPENSED WITH IMMEDIATELY. THOUGH IN MAY OFTHE TRAINS SUCH BERTHSHAD BEEN ABOLISHED I WODERED WHY THIS SYSTEM IS STILL OPERATIVE IN PEARL CITY EXPRESS.MOREOVER THE ATTENDANT TREATED THE SIDE MIDDLE BERTH PASSENGERS BADLY AND REFUSED TO SUPPLY PILLOWS/BED SHEETS.KINDLY ENLIGHTEN ME WHY THIS HAPPENNED AND WHY THE SIDE MIDDLE BERTH SYSTEM IS BEING CONTINUED IN SPITE OF THE PUBLIC STATEMENT BY MINISTER. PLEASE CLARIFY.
 
Hi Team,

I booked some ticket but some process is not complited but amount is detected.Please find the faild transistation details as given below and same to wayoff ASAP.


Transaction ID Pay Status Reservation Status Total Amount Bank

1 0086908837 Payment Settled Not Booked Rs 353 hdfcpg
2 0085919776 Settlement Failed Not Booked Rs 733 HDFC
3 0085921337 Payment Settled Not Booked Rs 733 hdfcpg
4 0055297484 Settlement Failed Not Booked Rs 403 HDFC

Regards,
Manoj Kr Sinha
9818376746
D
User
Murty  
 
I know its a waste of time for me to enter in this complaint log.If Railway doesnt have have revenue for maintenance of irctc.co.in website then just beg for the revenue i will invest for the site.And if the Railway and Indian government doesnt have a responsble person to maintain the site i will develop a website for you.Its better close your site or change your all indian mentaltities.
 
Dear Friends,
I know services are bad by irctc.co.in but let me tell you one thing if one is having a good net connection and reading the full instructions given by the site, i don't think we will face much of problem.

Think of that time when we use to leave all our jobs and important work or pay a huge amount to the broker or a ticket booking . irctc had made it much transparent and minimised the black martketing of tickets with a time saving.

Lets join hands, read properly, and fully support the site. My comments straightly don't mean to have blind faith on the site, it simply reflects the proverb that "taali ek haat se nahin bajti..meaning there is never always a fault of the sites it altogether depends on various things like
1. Your net connection which you are using,
2. The time of visit(prime time n all),
3. Speed of the network,
4. Payment procedure,
5. Link of your banker,
6. Full knowledge (for mailing through correct id for cancellation and etc.)

Hoping i havn't said anything which hurted anyone, i said truly which i felt.

Enjoy!!
 
Dear Friends,

I know services are very bad by irctc.co.in but let me tell you one thing if one is having a good net connection and reading the full instructions given by the site, i don't think we will face much of problem.

Think of those days when we use to leave all our jobs and important work for along line in front of ticket counter (shouting on each others, bosses calling from office for an urgent meeting in branch but we can't leave our line as we had already spend hours to reach that place, waking in morning to book a tatkal ticet and to reach the nearest reservation counter) or pay a huge amount to the broker for a ticket booking . irctc had made it much transparent and minimised the black martketing of tickets with a time saving.

Lets join hands, read properly, and fully support the site. My comments in straight forward don't mean to have blind faith on the site, it simply reflects the proverb that "Taali ek haat se nahin bajti..meaning there is never always a fault of the irctc it altogether depends on various things" like:

1. Your net connection which you are using,
2. The time of visit the site (prime time n all),
3. Speed of the network,
4. Payment procedure,
5. Link of your banker,
6. Full knowledge (for mailing through correct id for cancellation and etc.)

Hoping i havn't said anything which hurted anyone, i said truly which i felt.

Enjoy!!
 
sir! i freqently travel to delhi. i have had a bitter experience at upper class waiting room at new delhi railway station. when somebody enters there or have exit, the caretaker (woman) always demands some money. the question is, whether she is not paid for the services being rendered by her. by doing so, she must be spinning thousands of rupeees from the passengers daily. she very shamelessly does so.
 
FRIST I HAD GIVEN BOOKING TO TRAVEL AGENT HE HAS TAKEN SOME OF 4000/-RS AS ADVANCE FOR TATKAL BOOKING, WHEN TATKAL WAS OPENED AGENT WAS ANABEL TO ISSUE CONFORMED TICKET SO I REQUEST HIM TO CANCALLD MY TICKET, AGENT HAS CHARGED 400/-RS PER PASSENGER (X) 3 =1200/-FOR BOOKING & 400 RS (X) 3= 1200/-RS FOR CANCALLESION TOTAL 2400/- SERVICE CHARGE AGENT HAS DIDECTED FROM MY ADVANCE HAVE BOOKED MY E-TICKET TATKAL FROM
SHRIJI TRAVELS GF/3, SHRIJI COMPLEX, DOBHAI ROAD, 2583338, 9825543408
 
Dera sir,

I tried to book ticket from Bangalore to Kachiguda( Hyderabad) for samparka Kranthi express for 29th of March on 9-3-09 on that day due to system problem I have failed to get ticket. But amount Rs. 571 was deducted from my account towards tickets. Next day ie. on 10-3-09 I have booked the same again I got the tickets and the amount was deducted again for the tickets Rs 571. Therefore the amount was deducted 2 times. Hence I here by requesting you to credit the amonut back to my account at the earliest.

Name of the passengers : GovindaRaj Bhat ( 32 M) ;; Manjula (26 F)

Regards
 
Dear Sir,

I tried to book ticket for two on 1th April, 2009 using the online ticket booking system of Indian Railways. Before I could get the confirmation of the booking the session expired. I checked the booking status in my IRCTC account but there was no update there. On checking the transaction's status in my credit card's account I found that payment had been done. So please can you arrange to cancel the ticket and revert back the amount to the account. The details of the ticket, transactions, and my IRCTC account are as such:

username: kichugreat
Transaction-ID: 0105151798

I want to travel from Ernakulam Junction (Station Code:ERS) to Trivandrum Central (Station Code:TVC).

The IRCTC website has no instruction about where to go and what to do in case customer care and emails fail.

Regards,
KISHOR.K.K
 
I booked ticket from chennai to tirchy and tirchy to chennai but some process is not completed but amount is detected.so after sometime again i reserved these tickets.but In my account the amount is detected thrice.first time the process was uncompleted.but amount is detected.so please can you return back the amount to my account.
D
User
Sunil  
 
Today i.e. 22/4/2009 i have booked a TATKAL Ticket, but got cheated by IRCTC. the status while booking the ticket was available but when the ticket was appeared on the screen it was in WL. I got shocked after viewing the Ticket.Tried lots of time calling the helpline no. but no go.Request and will appreciate if such type of issue will not occure in future with any one.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good) No Rating
    code
    IRCTC - Pathetic website & customer support system