Follow us
Log in        Register
     
 

Kolkata Police - Sound Pollution

 
19 Reviews
User
  Sunny Kumar
There is a Sri Hanuman Temple at Narkeldanga main Road (opposite Lake District Apartment). The area is called Kadapara. Every evening, particularly, Monday, Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday, full blast loud spaeker si switched on at this temple and it continues till midnight. Various complaints have been made at Phoolbagan Police Station over phone but no action as yet. Even e mails sent to the Police Commissioner did not result in any action. It looks like that e mails sent to such senior officers go to junk mails.
I request the State Govt to take immediate action.
Complaint comments 18 Comments     Updated:
Resolve this Complaint  

Comments

 
The complaint made is correct a temple should also have a desiplain it should not product sound so as to disturb others nearby. Learn from buddhas teaching. "We should live n peace and Let other creaters to live in peace" Please remember no religion or God did say that do lots of noise and showoff to remember me" this is enough.

Thanks.
Shrikanth M.Itagi.
Mobile:09341055042

01/08/2009.
N
User
Radha R  
 

Noise in the street due to loud music - Noise in The Street

4th T block -East end Road - near Food Corporation of India - they have put a stage and the music is screaming in uncontrollable volume -- too high for elders to stay at home too. pls ask them to reduce volume
A
User
RAKESH  
 
The kolkata police totally ignoring all complaints regarding sound polloution. They simply dont care and they actually victimize people who make complains. I live near kidderpore. MUsics are played til 1 am in the morning. Even thogh the police station is on the same place from where loud music comes. The police seem to ignore it and refuses to accept complain. The law and order in the state seems to have totally collapsed. No government no police.
A
User
Dev Das  
 
I need to complain in Police station by online, to the kolkata police center, and please let me know do i can complain it, from the website

Regards Tinku Das
 
Also I like to know is there any online complain box for sound pollution for West Bengal people, I don't have any objection that some one pray God, But I can't support any loudspeaker or Mic in name of "KIRTAN". God came and told us that we have to do these with loud speaker Morning to Night continues ?

As the citizen if any one want to complain online in 100% secure then what he do ? I did not found any email address or emergency website, from where we can submit our problem quickly and secretly. Should we behind in every matter?
A
User
sunny  
 
Since past 10 days the level of noise pollution has broken all records at Shew Krishna Daw Lane (off Narkel Danga Main Road).Loudspeakers are on whole of night. There are multiple offenders and it looks like that a competition is going on as to which organisation can blow loudspeakers at the highest noise level. Two such organisations are : The Hanuman Temple at 93/94 Narkel Danga main Road(opposite lake District Apartment) and Kadapara Vyayam Samity on Shew Krishna Daw lane. Complaints to Phoolbagan PS are of no use as they do not take any action except politely saying that they will look into. Of late, complaints to Lalbazar Police Headquarter are also going in vain. We the residents are at the mercy of these so called God lovers who are creating our life hell and the worst affected are the students.
NOW AT THIS HOUR, WE PRAY GOD TO PUNISH THESE PEOPLE AS POLICE IS SLEEPING AND TURNING BLIND EYE.
 
On Behalf of the residency of Orderly Bazar Road, as well as Pipe Road, Barrackpore, Kolkata - 700 120, we beg to draw your kind attention that we are sufferring from huge noise pollution for near about 3(three) years caused by the generator set planted by the authority of the commericial Market complex situated beside Champa Cinema Hall and opposite of S.D.P.O. Office, Barrackpore. The said Generator Set is planted behind the Main Complex as a result all the house situated behind the same Commercial Complex is sufferring from noise pollution. Even after several time verbal request to the authority of the said complex to take necessary action against this sort of noise pollution they just ignored the request and carried on the same noise pollution. It is need not to explain that the peak of the noise is above 65 db as a result we are helpless in this matter and bound to lodge the complain in front of you all in order to resque us from this sort of noise pollution.
Hope you'll take necessary steps against this sort of noise pollution and resque us from this problem.

Yours' faithfully,


On behalf of Local Resident

Arindam Ray Chowdhury
Mob : 9432894366
 
I agree, not all the higher authorities are useless, atleast to my knowledge, there are some real genuine & devoted senior officer, whom I have known personally, have satisfied & brought solution to my problems. But to my surprise, the locals have failed or succumbed to the slummers. I/We appriciate the committee members & organizers of the puja pandals, who have successfully followed the legal norms of decibal rules, of political issues, & of course of para issues. I have witnessed myself, that the local authorities are sitting at their respected station to just take their salaries, when it comes to work, the answer from their end is, " this does not fall under our area, because it is festival of muslims we cannot say anything ".This is nothing but mare excuses, the senior officials come during a jhamela in the locality & just stand or sit in their vehicles & watch the game & go back. May I ask Y ? Is the law today les powerful than crime ? or Is is the politics that is above the law ? Illegal activity going around the locality 24x7. Cops & their vehicles patroling 24x7. result zero. Y waste the govt.s money & pertol which is actually of the public. We do & would keep on abiding by the law faithfully. But not a lawless law. A hoodlum or a couple of locals stand together, they are given ear & support, but in the same place if an individual walks up to lodge a complaint, he/she is just given a gd number and then, nothing. Please be very kind enough to answer a few of Y's, & trust me there are number of valid y's to be answered.
With due respect to our highly respected & reputed west bengal police force.
Regards.
N Nov 11, 2011 by
User
sunilmall  
 
I refer to the recent article in The Telegraph regarding increased numbers of Kali Puja and Jagadhatri Puja in Kankurgachi Phoolbagan area. Similarly, the noise pollution level in this part of city has gone up to alarming level. At Narkeldanga Main Road, between Phoolbagan crossing and Kadapara, various late night musical soirees are held and dance with music activity goes on till early hours of morning. This area is hardly 500 meters from the Phoolbagan Police Station. Various complaints have been made by residents to Phoolbagan Police Station but no action has been taken till date. Even calls made to the Police Headquarters are futile.There is a temple in Kadapara where loudspeakers have been fitted permanently and relay of both devotional and non devotional songs has been a ritual at this temple every evening till late night.Recently, on the late night of 6th Nov, a musical programme was on till early hours of 7th Nov 2011 in the name of celebrations post Jadhhatri Puja. Various calls were made to Kolkata Police HQ, Phoolbagan PS, no respite, no action. Various mails have been sent to the Commissioner of Kolkata Police, Chief Secretary, Head of Pollution Control Board, and even to the mail box of our so called action oriented Chioef Minister. Seems everything goes to junk box. These people want to make Kolkata like London. Can they make this city like any city of south India ? They only cite funds problem and blame everything on the Left government. How long would this blame game continue ? I request the press to follow its role religiously and start exposing what is not done.
A Jun 25, 2012 by
User
random1  
 
at ek no. airport gate no. one the club members play loud music and function all night...which is very disturbing and moreover my mother is a heart patient. please do something about it kolkata local police. they are having a campaign of blood donation. and the loudspeakers are all over the place. its been 3 days...in the morning its ok...but it keeps on going till 2 am. please do something
N Aug 10, 2012 by
User
Indian82  
 
Dear Sir,

During Ramadan time the Muslim Community when start praying at mid Night 2:30 AM - 3:45 AM that time the full blast loud spaeker si switched on . I live 500M far from Musjid but its took me out from the sleep. I don't want to talk directly to those people because i know they don't hear me and i face problem by them. The area Maheshtala polica station and the Musjid location is Word No 34 Voting school. This Musjid recently opened just 2 -3 years old and they use 4 Loud speakers in East, West, South & North side. So Each and every people disturbed but no 1 want to make complain directly. Hope you understand the reason. My request if you please make a call to the Maheshtala Police Station and tell them to inform about it to the Musjid people then its really big thanks for US. I weak up by the shoughting of them and type the mail. This is 3:45 AM here.
D Oct 15, 2012 by
User
Abhijit Gupta  
 
"The use of loudspeakers is regulated under rule 5 of The Noise Pollution (Regulation and Control) Rules 2000, issued under the Environment Protection Act, 1986. Prior to these rules, the West Bengal Pollution Control Board issued direction in conformity with the order of Hon’ble Calcutta High Court for mandatory use of Sound Limiter whenever the loudspeakers/public address system is being used in open air. The Hon’ble Supreme Court of India further issued direction dated 18.07.07 in restriction of use of loudspeakers and firecrackers."

Despite the ruling, the law is being flouted with impunity. I have complained many a time to the concerned police station about the blaring of loud speakers at all times of the day and night above the permissible decibel limit and also before 8 am and after 10 pm. Today (Mahalaya) the loudspeakers started blasting away at around 4:30 am. I have nothing against people enjoying themselves...but, it cannot be at the expense of the peace and tranquility of others (I am an anichhuk srota). The volume of the loud speakers is so high that even after closing my windows I cannot speak to my family members without shouting. I cannot hear myself think!
I tried to email a complaint but the Police website is blocking me says, "Message contains malicious characters"...
D Oct 27, 2012 by
User
mirza afaq hussain  
 
dear one of my small sister.

dear all mujhay app sab ki help ki zarorat hay. meri sister ki shadi hoi thi kolkata khidirpur k ek larke k sath. 2years pahle per kuch din baad he who meri sister ko be wajha murne laga. tang karne laga shadi k baad ghar bhi nahi lake gaya. bohat jhoot kaha k main ghar dekh raha ho. aur humaray ghar pe rehne laga. aur roz meri sister ko marta mummy daddy k samne. akhir humlog nay khud k payso se ghar dila diya.. aur meray ghar pe mummy papa hay. uske ek beta bhi hoya 9 month k. 6 month pahle meri siter ne complient ki hoi hy matiabruz thane mai koi action nhi hoya..

mery mummy daddy ne sis ko apne ghar le aya hy aur divorse chaty hy. per who roz meri sister ko tang karta aur tezaan murne ki dhami deta hy.. aur 10 dayz pahle usne attacked kiya jis mai mera papa ki syes damage ho gayi aur who zindagi mout se lar rahy hy.. meri sister aur papa police staion gaya papa k ankhon se blod nikal raha tha sunday k din tha. police ne complint nhi likhi aur koi action nhi liya.. aur kaha k privete houspitel mai admit krdo. aur waha se chala gaya.. poori night kisi houspitel ne admit nhi kiya.. subha medical mai admit hoya. aur dady k eyes totaly damage ho gayi.. main saudi arab main ho. manay matiabruz k officer se baat ki usne kaha k eid aur pooja k wajha se main kuch nahi kar raha ho... aur jisko jail main hona tha who aaram se ghum raha hay.. aur 2 dayz pahle usne mera small brother ko dhamki di hay. plz plz kuch karay. yeh meri sister ka number hy.919339733012...aur yeh police ka number hay jo case dekh raaha hy.919051575656
D Oct 27, 2012 by
User
mirza afaq hussain  
 
main mail mamata banarjee ko bhi karna chahta hoo.. kuy k who bhi goverment servent hay.. unko humari maddad karni paraygi..
D Nov 12, 2012 by
User
sarkarsubroto  
 
At Bokulbagan road and Ramesh Mitra road, bhowanipore, South Kolkata mike is running at full blast even after 11 PM. Will kolkata police come forward and save us from this sound blast.
D Dec 6, 2012 by
User
ARRK  
 
Sound pollution controls requires or recomments schools, hospitals etc to be a "silence zone' and hence no unduly high sound disturbing the school, the students, the patients etc to be made by the public...

BUT

what if the schools creating a great sound pollution with loudspeakers on from 8A.M to 2P.M continously in the name of giving practice to the students for various events like School Annual Day, Sports day or many other events. This disturbs the neighbouring residential builidngs in which live a number of people, including other students who may be preparing for their important exams, patients, old age and sick people, infants and so on...

What is the remedy? can a complaint be lodged against the school? what is the procedure? will the complaint be tenable?

I AM TALKING ABOUT A PROMINENT SCHOOL IN THE HEART OF PARK STREET, SURROUNDED BY ATLEAST 4-5 RESIDENTIAL APARTMENTS, OFFICES ETC...
N Oct 19, 2013 by
User
frustrated citizen  
 
Same is happening at sreebhumi
Sporting club
Its a joke
They keep playing loud speakers till 12am
On top of there voiced
There is no law nd order in place
It seems we live in barbaric society
Best part it is being going on for 2-3 years
Nd the adminstraton organises these shows in residential area
A shame
N Nov 7, 2013 by
User
s karmarkar  
 
I live in New Barrackpore, 24 Parganas(North), Kolkata 700131. This place was once called as MIKE COLONY. Now a new thing has been added. A Music system called DJ ( with a sound which may attack Heart patient, even can do bad to normal people) is renting the air in almost through out the year, in every occasions - marriage, club functions, pujas etc. etc.with full volume.Complain to the local Police station hardly give any solution.

It seems we live in a society where no Civic sense applies.

MAY GOD GIVE GOOD SENSE TO THE ADMINISTRATORS AND OTHERS TO BRING PEACE OF MIND TO THE MAJORITY CITIZEN.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good) No Rating
    code
    Kolkata Police - Sound Pollution