Follow us
Log in        Register
     
 

Kolkata Taxi Service - Complaint against wrong meter in a taxi

 
31 Reviews
User
  Sumanto Roy
I have traveled by a TAXI (Cab No - WB04A-5947) [Kolkata yellow public taxi transport service] on dated 18th April, 2010 around 10.45 am from Howrah Railway Stantion to Golfgreen area (Kolkata). The meter reading after the journey was horrible and it read around 25KM which is almost 10 Km extra distance and whereas the taxi had followed the normal regular route which normally covers around a maximum of 15-17km. Certainly the bill was around 40% extra. Once i alerted the driver about the thing, he just refused about the abnormality of his taxi meter. There are such taxis roaming within the Kolkata city with manipulated their meter and cheat the public. Its very much required to take action against them.

Thanks & Regards,
Sumanto


Complaint comments 30 Comments     Updated:
Resolve this Complaint  

Comments

N
User
Suresh Khaitan Kolkata Taxi Service  - India
 

Incorrect billing - Salt Lake, kolkata

Greetings DE Intl,
I am an existing customer of BSNL with Telephone number : 033-2334 1362, with Broad Band line and have been paying rent of BB in spite of not using it.

In this landline, the broad band doesn’t work and is neither taken into use because there is another line for BB, but my concern is the bills that I have been receiving from past 1 year,

a. BB usage charge : 0
b. BB fixed monthly charge : 250
c. BB Modem Fixed Monthly charge : 80

So, on whole this 330 (b+c) is something extra BSNL is charging me and that is incorrect even.

So I need the refund of all these charges for all the months wherever applicable.
N
User
sailesh behera Kolkata Taxi Service  - Salt Lake area, North 24 Parganas, West Bengal, India
 

Wrong meter reading and rude behaviour - wrong Yellow public taxi

I was travelling from Ruby Hospital Crossing to Nalban Boating Cpmplex on a Yellow Public Taxi on 27th July 2010 around 1645 hrs Local time bearing number plate WB 04 5092,from the taxi stand ( which i belive was made by mutually few taxi drivers) which showed 17 kms along the EM Bypass and on confirming with the cabbie if his meter is showing proper reading he reacted in a rude manner and almost charged me INR 154.00. On asking a electronic print out of the bill i was told that the meter is not working and this is the normal fair and i have to pay him.

P.S. I have traveled from Gariahat Crossing to same Nalban Boating Complex on 24th July 2010 around 1700 hrs Local Time on Yellow public Taxi and have paid INR 124.00.
 
I have traveled by a TAXI (Cab No - WB04b-5962) [Kolkata yellow public taxi transport service] on dated 7th oct., 2010 around 10.45 am from Howrah Railway Stantion to saltlake area (Kolkata). The meter reading after the journey was horrible and it read around 25KM which is almost 10 Km extra distance and whereas the taxi had followed the normal regular route which normally covers around a maximum of 10-12km. Certainly the bill was around 25% extra. Once i alerted the driver about the thing, he just refused about the abnormality of his taxi meter. There are such taxis roaming within the Kolkata city with manipulated their meter and cheat the public. Its very much required to take action against them.

Thanks & Regards,
Dharmendra Mahato
 
I have travelled a fast(defected) meter taxi(no.WB 04B 6990) at Salt Lake area, Kolkata and have to pay unnessary extra on 02.11.2010. Once I alerted the driver about the thing, he just refused about the abnormality of his taxi meter. There are such taxis roaming within the Kolkata city with manipulated their meter and cheat the public. Its very much required to take action against them.

Thanks & Regards,
Dr.Anirban Bhattacharya
D
User
sanjibk  
 
I have travelled by taxi number WB-04D 4639 from howrah station to Salt lake, near Hyatt hotel, he took 180 rupees thats what the meter was showing but i travelled 100 times to & from my place to salt lake & the meter never showed such a high amount, it needs to be investigated because i think his meter is tampered./
N Feb 9, 2011 by
User
rima9  
 
We have travelled by taxi number WB-04-B0557 from Kalikapur, E.M Bypass to salt lake sector 5 . We are daily passenger of taxi in this route. Usually meter reading used to be 55-62 i.e Rs. 110-122 . Today we took this taxi which was showing reading 90. which is Rs182. After telling the fact the driver was arguing with us rudely and this is not the first time this taxi driver behaved badly once before. Please investigate about his meter and the driver.
N Mar 3, 2011 by
User
pritipreeti  
 
I travelled by Taxi cab no. (WB -04E 9536), from science city. That is a regular route I take and the taxi meter I could see from Nicco park flyover that it was having extra readings. He pointed him out but he refused to agree. When I took, him to a taxi stand, they agreed that his meter was showing extra, he took less amount but the driver tried to threaten me. that i was trying to show him stand and i would face problem next time.
Action needs to be taken against such rowdy drivers who have their meter tempered and act so rudely.
Regards,
Priti
04.03.2011
N Apr 5, 2011 by
User
ipshita  
 
Hi

Today 5.4.2011 I taken a taxi from Science City to Airport, Then once I reach Airport he was demanding Rs 500 which i denied so he was trying to snatch my purse .

Please note taxi number WB 04E 7177 (Thoughi have doubt, this bill is original or not)
N Apr 6, 2011 by
User
Anand Biyani  
 
On 6th April i boarded a taxi from Ultadanga crossing to Rajarhat DLF
Faulty meter shows Rs 74 which i have to pay as Rs 150 Vehicle Number (WB04C0320)
When i complaint the driver about his meter being faulty and showing wrong reading
His excuse was how come i know and when i counter question his stating that same distance, same route same time when i travelled in a Taxi It cost Me Rs 80/-

Please help us make Kolkata and Bengal a better place by punishing culprit like these

Lets not forget that TAXI can have KM wise fare as like Rs 10/ KM and simple calculation rather this complex structure which is confusing and misleading

Hoping for my pleas to get heard
N Apr 14, 2011 by
User
anand tulsyan  
 
I travelled from Genexx valley, near joka tram depot to MG Metro station. The Taxi (taxi no WB 04B 8716) reading was 174, which i knew was wrong, so i argues with the driver and he brought some other taxi driver. All the other taxi drivers were supporting him, so at last i have to pay Rs 300. When i came back from the same place to Genexx Valley through same route and traffic being the same, the meter reading came to be 98, so i paid 200 Rs.
Taxi drivers cheating with wrong meter reading has become very common incident these days in kolkata. I myself have faced it so many times. I can only fight with these taxi driver to a limit, but administration has to take some step on this matter. Most of the taxis you find in front of Tollygunge tram depot have wrong meters.
N Apr 26, 2011 by
User
mouprita TAXI  - West Bengal, India
 

Complaint against wrong meter in a taxi - TAXI

I have traveled by a TAXI (Cab No - WB-19 A-7693) [Kolkata yellow public taxi transport service] on dated 25th April, 2011 around 7.00 pm from Minto Park to Taratala. I am a daily passenger of taxi in this route. So I have a proper idea of the meter reading. It mainly varies from Rs60 to Rs70. But that day it went more than 90 without any traffic jam or signal. Its very much required to take action against them.

Priyanka Saha
Kolkata
N Apr 26, 2011 by
User
mouprita TAXI  - West Bengal, India
 
One of my friend faced the same situation with the Taxi No WB 04 D-2527
A May 23, 2011 by
User
Navsamol  
 
I travelled by Yellow Pre Paid Taxi Number 1731 on 23rd May 2011. The driver's name was Raju Gupta as told by him (I don't know if he told correct). The pre paid slip was from Howrah to Salt Lake Sector V. The driver stopped near WIPRO and told that I have to get down there only. From there I have to go on meter be it even one step ahead which is ridiculous. I had to go to Millenium City building which is just a few steps from Wipro and he did not go ahead on that slip. I could not do anything as he already had taken the slip at the starting point that is on Howrah station. I relly feel cheated and suggest all to not give the slip to the driver until you reach your destination. And if possible please do something against this practice.
N Jun 7, 2011 by
User
AmitabhaRay  
 
I had travelled by a taxi( no. WB-04-C-0832) on 07.06.11 at about 12-15pm from Jessore Road -Kalindi crossing to Phoolbagan-CIT Road crossing. While at Ultadanga-HUDCO crossing I could see that the meter was showing excess reading.When I pointed this out to the Driver he started arguing, telling me that the reading was right. I often travel the same way in taxi and usually have to pay Rs, 64-68 as per the reading. Today for the same distance I had to pay Rs.100.00. Is there any solution to this problem?

Regards
Amitabha Ray
N Jun 27, 2011 by
User
minsucool Kolkata Taxi Service  - Kolkata, Howrah, West Bengal, India
 

Meter tampered for taxi in west bengal - Bengal Taxi Association

Dear Sir,

I would like to place a complaint against of the taxi dirver. I was travelling from Park Street - Rafi ahmed kidwai road to Ballygunge Ice skating rink and i was baffeled to see the meter reading 45 which was Rs. 92/- .. When i complained to the taxi driver about the incorrect meter, i behaved rudely and mis-behaved. Being a lady passenger this was least expected out of him. Please note his taxi number WB 19 C3673. Please do something about it as he might cause problem for other passengers as well. Also note that I had to leave this taxi and catch another one only to increase harrassment.
N Aug 11, 2011 by
User
papiya gupta  
 
Today I came by a taxi (WB04 E 8397) [Kolkata yellow public taxi transport service] from New Alipore Hindusthan Sweets to Esplanade near KC Das via Bhabani Bhavan, Race Course. I needed to reach Taal Tala but had to get down near KC Das as the meter was faulty, i believe. It showed 45, i.e. Rs. 92.00 much before KCDas whereas more than often I have reached Taal tala Stopage in Lenin Sarani by Rs.90.00 even after negotiating huge traffic. Also the drive behaved atrociously. I take cab regularly for this particular stretch and most of the meter shows high fare. Only few days when the cab is not from New Alipore, I pay the fair fare which ranges between Rs. 85.00- Rs.90.00. Otherwise most of the cabs, mainly from New Alipore Taxi Stand have faulty meters and charge arond Rs. 120.00 to Rs. 140.00 for the same above said stretch till Taal Tala in Lenin Sarani.
I do not get time from my busy schedule to lodge a complain everyday. Hence, even though the wrong fare that i paid today is not as high as other days, I am writing here only to bring it into the notice of the Administration that faulty meters have become a regular affair in Kolkata that should be taken care of. Moreover dialling 100 is of no use. Immidiate action needs to be taken.
N Aug 11, 2011 by
User
papiya gupta Kolkata Taxi Service  - West Bengal, India
 

Tampered Taxi meters - Kolkata yellow Public Taxi

Today I came by a taxi (WB04 E 8397) [Kolkata yellow public taxi transport service] from New Alipore Hindusthan Sweets to Esplanade near KC Das via Bhabani Bhavan, Race Course. I needed to reach Taal Tala but had to get down near KC Das as the meter was faulty, i believe. It showed 45,i.e. Rs. 92.00 much before KCDas whereas more than often I have reached Taal tala Stopage in Lenin Sarani by Rs.90.00 even after negotiating huge traffic. Also the drive behaved atrociously. I take cab regularly for this particular stretch and most of the meter shows high fare. Only few days when the cab is not from New Alipore, I pay the fair fare which ranges between Rs. 85.00- Rs.90.00. Otherwise most of the cabs, mainly from New Alipore Taxi Stand have faulty meters and charge arond Rs. 120.00 to Rs. 140.00 for the same above said stretch till Taal Tala in Lenin Sarani.
I do not get time from my busy schedule to lodge a complain everyday. Hence,even though the wrong fare that i paid today is not as high as other days, I am writing here only to bring it into the notice of the Administration that faulty meters have become a regular affair in Kolkata that should be taken care of. Moreover dialling 100 is of no use. Immidiate action needs to be taken.
A Sep 10, 2011 by
User
hidips  
 
Today (10th Sep'11), I've travelled from Ruby Hospital to Saltlake City Centre, which is approximately 10km distance and usually costs approx. 100 rupees in taxi. However the meter reading has shown 190 rupees when I travelled in taxi number "WB 04B 6826". The taxi drivers in Kolkata are simply looting people and surprisingly Government and all taxi associations are backing them. When shall we have justice and how?
I can see many similar posts in this site, I don't think anyone in authority really reading these and helping people. I would suggest everyone to be on high alert and continuously monitor taxi meter while travelling. Should there be any doubt, get down of that taxi and catch another.

My observation is that taxis with lot of pictures, garlands (to cover meter!), and resin, smoke generally cheats. And always avail taxis of D or E or F series.

All taxis of A, B and C series are old ones, with very old engines, but with new color outside. Most of them are already banned. They cannot run on roads these without direct/indirect support from police and the government.
Its looks like all these people with help from police and government are making us fool. Until an order is passed to give bills against every payment, this will continue. So the taxi associations are opposing the bill.
A Oct 30, 2011 by
User
Santanu Das  
 
I was charged approximately Rs.100 extra by a kolkata Taxi yesterday, on my journey from Nalban (nicco-park) to Behala Silpara, at 8:30PM on 29/10/11. I believe the taxi-meter is faulty or tampered with. The reading on the meter was 'Rs.161' with me having to pay Rs.330 including tips. My journey was through Chingrighata-Science City-AJC Bose Road Flyover-Bhavani Bhavan-Taratala route, which never crosses Rs.220
Kindly look into the issue, and prevent such occurences of duping the Kolkata citizen by such taxi-drivers/owners.
A Dec 4, 2011 by
User
prasun073  
 
taxi no. wb-04 d-9230, had taken 450 rs. from me instead of 100rs...wen i was on the way to airport on 28th nov morning...

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good) No Rating
    code
    Kolkata Taxi Service - Complaint against wrong meter in a taxi