[Resolved]  Royal Enfield — Problem with machismo 500

This is Raja Rengasamy, I bought a Royal Enfield Machismo 500 on 06/06/2008.
Registration number : MH02 BF 9788
Engine number : 03379B
Chassis Number : 03379B
It has been a pleasure riding the vehicle at most for only 400 kms.

After that I found that there is some problem with the front disk.
The bike skids whenever I touch the Front Disk. I reported the problem to RE service centre in Andheri.
Every time they tell that the problem is corrected and before I reach home I found that the problem is still there.
I call them again and wasted so many weekends with them. I never did any ride more than 200kms for at least 3 months,
because I am afraid to go for a long ride because of the problem. Every time I leave my bike for 3-4 days in service station.

Then nearly after every week in the service centre for 2 months, I changed to Shrada motors Goregaon West service centre as suggested by the people in Bandra showroom.
There also they try to fix the problem. They took nearly 10 days and gave the bike. It was working for nearly a month.
Again I found the same problem and another problem of the bike wobbling.
This time again I started going every week to the service centre and got frustrated up to the limits.
Then I called "Royal Enfield Company Show Room" in Neerul and I told I am frustrated of this problem.
I keep falling every 10-15 days. I told them I cannot ride the bike with this problem knowing I can fall any time.
I stopped taking pillions and still never went for a long drive till that time.
The service centre in nerul took 4 days and told that the problem is solved but again the problem came before I reach home.
Again I gave my bike next day and again they took 5 days to solve the problem. At least I was happy that the problem is solved this time.

Then I planned for a long trip to my place. Just before 10 days of my trip the one way clutch was jammed and broken. They have replaced it taking a week time.
This trip is the only time I enjoyed riding the machine. But during the trip also the machine broke down in the destination.
Again with the service centre guys for a week when I was in home.
New problem started again after coming back.
Now I am seeing white smoke coming out of my machine.
Initially the problem was small. Only during the start of the machine Smoke was coming.
I asked about that to the service centre in Goregaon West. They told because of the fuel overflow the smoke is coming.
Then after some days The smoke started coming while riding also. The oil was reducing fast and I have changed oil 3 times in 2 months.
Then they told there may be a leak in the combustion and they will fix it. Now white smoke is coming like it comes from the vehicle that is used for killing Mosquito in streets.
They told that the Piston rings must be gone. You have to replace the Piston (which will cost a lot).
Again I have given my vehicle to the service centre and waiting for last 4 days.
Now the vehicle is in warranty so may be they replace now for free. But what will I do if the problem continues. Because I think the problem is with the entire machine and comes periodically.
Because this seems to be problem, problem and problem only motorcycle.

I have spent 1.15 lakhs for one trip till now and loads of time in the service station and in the hospital because of the defects.
Nearly for every week I have spent 2-3 days in service centre maintaining the bike. I am in height of frustration.
As a normal Mumbaikar I need two wheeler to commute. Without it I have to spend at least 200 rupees every day for daily transport.
Every time I go to service centre again I have to spend 200 rupees for commuting.
If you calculate all these things I have spent nearly 15, 000 rupees for travelling unnecessarily, even after buying the most trustable, expensive, powerful motorcycle in india.
I am just frustrated of this bike with problem always. It was my dream buying RE machine, now it has become a nightmare for me.
I am not able to concentrate in my work because my hard earned money is wasted and this machine spoiled my dreams.
I have to follow-up with them. Whether I do my job or run behind the service guys to get the problem fixed.

Can you please act on this because the problem seems to have coming again and again in regular intervals. I was never even happy riding this continuously for 500 kms.
I sometimes even regret buying this. But as a fan of RE from my childhood, I still stick with the machine full of problems.
I have done servicing as and when required may a bit more. More than a service per month. I treat my bike like a child but still not able to afford it because of the problems.

Can you please check the root cause of the problem and fix it so that I don’t have to face problems again and again.
I am afraid of taking this machine out because of the problems and the time the service guys have taken to fix the problem.

Hi all,

I am very very disappointed by the way the Royal Enfield show room team
(Door No: 2067/1, 2068/2
East End 'A' Main
9th Block, Jayanagar
Bangalore - 560 069 ) behaved with me and my friend, we planned to buy 2 vehicles for us, but they were too neglecting us, they were treated us like a tea boys, is it a way to behave with the customer, please take a serious action with them, It is a time that you have to be very careful, you know the condition of recession, I don't want to write too much, If you have concern take it seriously, If you have any clarification you can reach me through mail

Kishore
hi
all the bullet people to day after getting my appoiment for macismo 500 i reached late at 1.30pm afternoon insted of 11 am mr PRASANA OF NERUL BRANCH SERVIC CENTER.wellcome me with bad words b*en cho*d why did u come late today at 1.30 (27/5/2009) day for my bike servic for pre monsoon.i was stunned, some one told me it is because he was not in the good mood .i sad ok. i was sitting their for 5 hr and they did good job of chainging my bike spark plug insted of bike service wich need more attenction.
i wanted to complain but rude reaction even from in charge manneger of the royalenfild company service station i spoke to gisad who sounded goood but after that i waited for 2hr and then as the coustemer of royal enfild i folded my hands saying namesta and return back home.what can anyone do when u can not even complain because nerul company servise station dose not have a complain book.i know why all company doing more sales then this wounderfull bike knows as royal bullet

happy thumping
vickram
Mehmood P Jamadar,
C/o Jamadar Travels,
Dandiya bazaar,
Bharuch.393001.
22th Sept. 2009.

The National Service Manager, Enfield INDIA LTD.

SUBJECT:- Vehicle Jerking( Royal Enfield Thunderbird TS)

My vehicle Royal Enfield –Thunder Bird TS which was purchased from VRAJ AUTO Maktampur Road, Bharuch. Dealer Code:4058 on date 02/03/09. INVOICE No.32.

So many times we complaint the dealer that my vehicle at night when all lights are on the vehicle starts jerking and stops, but no action has been taken. This problem is since the time of purchase and its been 5 months. Even no proper answer is given neither they bother.

So, kindly see to the problem and rectify the error as soon as possible. I am physically and mentally harassed by this problem . I am scared when I even drive and it can even lead to a big accident. Hope for your quick positive response.

I again repeat you to kindly see to it or I will have go for CONSUMER FORUM FOR MY Rights and also in RTI office.

Your’s Faithfully,
Mehmood P Jamadar.

royal enfeild standard — starting problem

i purchased enfeild bike from kollam marikar show room.Now Second service is over.my problem is related to starting .I have to kick several time especially in the morning.i complained this in the showroom,they changed the headlight and tail lamp bulb.it considerably reduced the power of light.still the starting problem existing.because of this problem i am using 100 cc bike often.
i hope the problem is related to the electrical session thats why the company changed the bulbs.it is a greater responsibility of the company to rectify the problem .
Dear friend,

I must first of all appreciate your patience and the gentlemanly way that you have endured the ordeal. After reading your problems, I am actually pondering if buying a bullet will be a sensible choice. I can understand your frustration and agony as another avid bike fan and a normal middleclass guy. I hope the company has rectified the problems and you have peace of mind.

Best regards,

Srikanth Y
If you still have the problems and are looking forward to sell it, let me know... am interested in buying it.
Dear all,
This is v.praveen raj from Chennai, I bought a Royal Enfield Machismo 350 cc in the month of Oct 2009.
Registration number : TN18 A 5400
Place of Registration : Chennai
Engine number : L35C09K029793

i am writing this complaint on Feb 2010, Its a new bike i have purchased, but from the date of purchase i am facing lots of problem with the bike as below :
1- Fork right side oil leaks
2- Engine Noise
3- Bad form in the seats, which increase my spinal paid
4- Offen getting punched
5- Oil leaks in the engine casing
6- Bad sticker alignment in the tank.
7- Head Light offen getting fused.
8- Chain Loose is happening offen
9- While raising the bike, there is a huge vibration in the tank and the shock-observer.
10. Noise while shifting the gears.

So, all together i am giving up my hope in the Bullet segment.

So, please help me to solve this problem, kindly take up this issue to your management urgent, so that no other customer will suffer due to this problem

For any clarifications, please call me on [protected].

Rgds
Praveen Raj.V
I totally agree with all of you. Plss write mail to Mr R L Ravi chandran CEO of royal enfield. There is a serious problem with attitude of RE Mechanics and the Bike itself.

P Shaktivel (Regional Service Manager, South), [protected]
[protected]@royalenfield.com

CEO's E-Mail id : [protected]@royalenfield.com ( RL Ravi chandran)

[protected]@royalenfie...ld.com

I've marked mails and i got very good response...
Well, I am using a Machismo 500cc since Aug 2007 ( I had a 1967 bullet before that). I have done 37000+ kms in it. the only problem I have faced is with Spag Clutch(self start) which I have removed permanently. Since then she is awesome.

>>Guys, bullets are NOT MEANT FOR DAILY COMMUTING in busy streets. IF YOU ARE NOT PASSIONATE ABOUT YOUR BIKE, Bullet is NOT THE BRAND FOR YOU.

>> People who know their Bullets dont take it to RE showrooms, they are scoundrels where ever it may be.

>> Please try and spend some time understanding the bike first. Its NOT A 100CC AUTOMATIC PLASTIC BIKE. It needs a owner who knows her well and the owner should be the first person to understand what is going wrong with the bike.

So dont keep complaining like sissy girls and write emails which will be of no good. Evolve, understand and Ride on..

Roy
Bangalore
Hi.. even i had same problem.. don't give it to showroom service.. find a good local mechanic... enjoy your ride.. :) cheers
Nobody manufacturing trouble free vehicle in the world. Keep maintain your machine like your baby

Govindaraj

Royal Enfield — issue of part

my name is Anil KUMar Prajapati,my motorcycles bullet classic-500 disc bs-11 there one part spark clutch is create a problem during my warrenty, i complain to compny during warrenty for change this before 15 days but they were not issue this part, my warrenty is over, please take action immediatly and solve my problem early and issue my part........
thanks...
Dear RE Fans and Followers, I have my own dirtiest experience with RE. Every RE owner and prospect, please go thru this. When i was 14 yrs i rode my uncle's Bullet STD, from that day i dreamt of owning one RE for me. In my college day i almost bought an used RE but some how bought a splendor as my first bike. After education started working for a sofware firm, decided to buy an RE. But some way or the other due to finance probs, personal probs and other commitment, owning an RE was left a dream for 5 more years. I got married, got a flat, got car too. When my wife learnt about my passion towards RE she persuaded me to book a RE and we both went to RE showroom in Bangalore and paid 10K as advance for TB twinspark on May 2010, i have been said the waiting time is 45-60 days.
As usual i faced with the delays and postponing of the delivery date and letters from RE explaining the delay etc etc...
One fine morning on October 22nd i completely lost my patinence and went to RE and wanted a final say about the delivery they said they cannot promise the D date and if i wish they will give back my advance money. They also said that there were customers who have paid full payment and waiting for the bike for months. God save those guys!!! Atlast i opted for taking back my advance. i got the cheque next week to my home.

Some how i cant able to digest or forget this experience. When ever i and my wife go out, i used to talk about RE when ever we see some one riding a TBird.

one fine morning on my Birthday on December 15th my wife gave me the surprise for a life time to cherish.
she gave the key of a brand new silver color TBird.

I was shocked how she managed and what i got to know was the horrific stab for every prospective customer waiting anxiously for their REs to get delivered.

My wife got the Thunderbird by paying the full amount + **********(12K extra as commision)********

Is not it cruel enough... i got a TB which is scheduled to be delivered to some one...

I thought of disowning the Tb gifted to me but i dont want my wife to get hurt and kept the TB with me.

Now all the people please know there is a nexus operating and cashing in the passion of the Customers'...
Dont know how will it be tackled...Just wanted to share my experience...

More importantly...every customer, whose delivery date is skipped or postponed...the fact is your bike is getting delivered to some other who is paying an extra premium...
Hallo Mr roy and govindarj, try to understand others frustration they are not sitting ideal like you to keep looking after baby bike. They have better work to do. Being passionate is just a part of life. we all can streach our hands only to which we can reach. After all it just a machine. u cant speak to ur bullet and mend things. Do it an show then we all sufferers will accept. Please dont degrade others and you talk bull . RE is no ones property not its Indian brand. Its a gift given by british to survive so dont be so proud. good luck with your bike and remember you bike will also make you wet one day.

Royal Enfield — engine & chassis problems

rear wheel is getting rubbed with mudguard,engine is not working properly, & many other problems that we are facing day by day and the dealer of royal enfield of Jabalpur is not giving us solution properly

I m Navjot Singh from Duliajan Dist: Dibrugarh(Assam). recently i purchased Classic 350 from SAHILA EXPOSITION Guwahati. which is 500km away from my residence,

at the time of purchasing i saw the bike rare mudguard is little capsideBend so told the manager, he said its normal and told his Tea boy to pull it another side and said its ok now.. so i took the bike headed over my residence, that time i was alone so I fell nothing abnormal. after reaching home my friend sited with my and when i started moving an abnormal sound was comming from rare tyre so i stopped imminently to check what happened; then i observe that the rare tyre is touching rare mudguard on right side so again i pulled mudguard right side to put in it position but after some time it again come to its original position ...
so i thought when i will go for servicing they will make it ...but after one day my friend was riding my Bullet and i was behind him in his bike i saw from behind that the front tyre and rare tyre is not in alignment rare tyre is totally bend so i told him to stop and i inspected that the rare swing arm is totally bend and tyre is touching mudguard, , the mudguard is in its right position the swing arm is bend for that reasion the chain cover is also touching rare RHS shockabsorver..

so imminently i call SAHILA EXPOSITION and place my complain. the Workshop manager listen my com[plain and said (ok ok so this is the problem .ok i will call you after 10 mins. ) but till now its almost two days he never call back so now u say what to do..

as i already mentioned that its 500 km away from my home its not possible to run daily to RE workshop..and plz. reply

I am a bike rider since 1998, I own 3 bikes - Hero Honda Splendor, Hero Honda Karizma and Royal Enfield - 350 CC Classic.

I am fairly disappointed with my classic 350 bike. Few Issues that i would like to highlight

1. When I got this bike with parts already rusted
2. The Ignition lock gave me trouble and had to get it replaced,
3. Engine Oil leakage issue was to be sorted / rectified by myself
4. Chain gets loose within a month of service
5. Rear shock absorb-er is not very effective causing backache to the pillion rider
6. The rear view mirrors - both left and right shiver while riding the bike making it difficult to view the vehicles.
7. Teeth of the metal on the rear wheel where the chain fits, broke while riding without a pillion rider, up hill of national park in Borivali.

I have not faced a single issue listed above in my other bikes. Making me feel that I have spent a lot of money on a product that is of inferior quality.

On 26th/27th of November 2012, I met with an accident where a taxi was reversing in full speed from a building. I was travelling on my bullet at a speed of 40kms, looking at the speeding taxi I applied sudden breaks. I did not bang with the taxi nor did the bike fall on any sharp object, but application of breaks alone made the chassis of my bike bend. Making it clear that the parts used in the bike are of poor quality.

Adding to my miseries is your dirty servicing team. Its been over a month and your company has not yet shipped the chassis. My bike is still not made and is with the service center for over a month. This kind of service is unacceptable from a company that has a name like yours.

Request you to expedite the process so I get my bike back soon.

I am a very unsatisfied customer and I promise that I will never suggest my friends to buy your product.

I believe that if one can not provide a quality product or standard service, one should stop manufacturing that product. Please better your product quality to avoid adding shame to your company name.

My Bike is at your authorized service center, Sharda Motors in Goregaon ([protected]) since the 27th of November. I am informed that your dealer is not supplying them with the chassis resulting in delay in repair work on it.

Details of my bike as follows:
Registration no: MH02 CJ 3266
Make and Model: Royal Enfield, Classic 350
Body Type: Motor Cycle
Mfg Year: 2011
CC: 346
Seating Capacity: 2
Engine No: U3S5C0BF076398
Chassis No: ME3U3S5C0BF076398

Do reply with an expected turn around time on my issue. Also notify me with an escalation process if my issue is not under your control.

Sumeet Verma
Email: sumeet.[protected]@hotmail.co.in

Problem with Electra -350cc

This is Avtar Singh, I bought a Royal Enfield Electra 350cc on 07/09/2012.

Registration number : DL3S CF 6829

It has been a pleasure riding the vehicle at most for only 6000 kms.

After that I found that there is some problem with the Engine.

Whenever I Ride the bike the sound automatically increases . I reported the problem to RE service centre in Delhi ( DDA Flats).

Every time they tell that the problem is rectified and before I reach home I found that the problem is still there.

I call them again and wasted so much time with them. Every time I left my bike for 1-2 days in service station.

The service centre in Delhi ( DDA Flats Kalka ji) took 1 day and told that the problem is solved but again the problem came before I reach home.

Second Time on Fourth Service I gave my bike again & they took 3 days to solve the problem. At least I was happy that the problem is solved this time.

Now again problem comes in same day & even the SILENCER of my bike fell down while riding because all the nuts/bolts are not properly Tightened, By Luck I survived from falling.

Now the vehicle is in warranty so may be they replace now for free. But what will I do if the problem continues. Because I think the problem is with the entire machine and comes periodically.

I have spent 1.20 lakhs for riding its worth less and m wasting loads of time in the service station & without bike my work is also effecting.

& after buying the most trust able, expensive, powerful motorcycle in India, I am just frustrated of this bike with problem always.

It was my dream buying RE machine, now it has become a nightmare for me.

I have to follow-up with them. Whether I do my job or run behind the service guys to get the problem fixed.

Can you please take a action on this because the problem seems to have coming again and again in regular intervals.

I sometimes even regret buying this. But as a fan of RE from my childhood, I still stick with the machine full of problems.

Please take a Suitable Action on the same.

Problem with Electra -350cc

This is Avtar Singh, I bought a Royal Enfield Electra 350cc on 07/09/2012.

Registration number : DL3S CF 6829

It has been a pleasure riding the vehicle at most for only 6000 kms.

After that I found that there is some problem with the Engine.

Whenever I Ride the bike the sound automatically increases . I reported the problem to RE service centre in Delhi ( DDA Flats).

Every time they tell that the problem is rectified and before I reach home I found that the problem is still there.

I call them again and wasted so much time with them. Every time I left my bike for 1-2 days in service station.

The service centre in Delhi ( DDA Flats Kalka ji) took 1 day and told that the problem is solved but again the problem came before I reach home.

Second Time on Fourth Service I gave my bike again & they took 3 days to solve the problem. At least I was happy that the problem is solved this time.

Now again problem comes in same day & even the SILENCER of my bike fell down while riding because all the nuts/bolts are not properly Tightened, By Luck I survived from falling.

I have spent 1.20 lakhs for riding its worth less and m wasting loads of time in the service station & without bike my work is also effecting.

& after buying the most trust able, expensive, powerful motorcycle in India, I am just frustrated of this bike with problem always.

It was my dream buying RE machine, now it has become a nightmare for me.

Can you please take a action on this because the problem seems to have coming again and again in regular intervals.

Please take a Suitable Action on the same.

I am from Nepal, here a dealer had already sold almost 7, 00, 000 Royal Enfield 2010 onward models. I was also a good fan of bullet always thinking I would buy one since my childhood. I bought two Enfield bikes but I already have innumerable problems I have been tolerating with my Royal Enfield Classic[protected] & also Classic[protected].
Classsic 350: main issue, chassis cracked. Service center did not bother, just made me wait & wasted my time but did nothing.
Classic 500: White Smoke came out of exhaust and too jerky, blown about 10 plugs in 100 Kms after 2nd service although ridden not exceeding 60 Kmph with frequent breaks. Took bike to main service centre, took 10 days to return the bike saying it's sorted but it was not. Again took it back to service centre, Took 5 days to repair and gave back to me saying ok. I brought my bike to home start next morning still seen smoke. They said smoke in the initial start is common in the morning. I trusted them. I rode bike for a week about 200 Kms, there was only half oil in the engine. I called the service station and mention this issue again they said Classic 500 consume little oil. 1.5 Litres in 200 Kms is normal. I took the bike to service centre and ask them to change piston cylinder set. Waiting and quarrelling for 5 hrs for the bike under warranty they finally decided to change but I needed to leave my 500 there and don't know how many days. I left the bike and after more than a week waiting I called and find out. They said bike is ready and I went to service centre the bike was just repairing. I waited another 4 hrs till repair. I got my bike and just left the service station thinking I will not come back and buy another Royal Enfield as these poor quality troublesome Bikes are not worth my hard earned Rs 5.35 Laks. I will not do mistake again buying Enfield. Almost all riders know quality of Enfield now so I hope they know what to do next. My 500 CC classic that needed engine cylinder replacement was never repaired by Service station. They only changed the ring and sent to me, so it only lasted for 5 months. I needed to spent Rs 20, 500 to buy a new cylinder set. Now I am really afraid to ride this bike thinking what will happen again? So I just use it for a weekend ride. This bikes are not for commuter. I now proudly own my Kawasaki Ninja 250r and Pulsar 220F for hard riding and commuting. I had to share my experience about Enfield as these nightmares experience with Enfield and their service team were haunting my brain and now I feel little bit lighter. Royal Enfield! Wake up otherwise do not open another plant!

Royal Enfield
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    11%
    Royal Enfield Phone
    +91 44 4223 0400
    Royal Enfield Address
    Tiruvottiyur High Road, Tiruvottiyur, Tamil Nadu, India - 600 019
    View all Royal Enfield contact information