[Resolved]  Royal Goan Beach Club — False promises & refusal to refund amount

This is to bring to your notice the way some Timeshare holiday companies (ROYAL GOAN BEACH CLUB)are making fool of customers and not providing them with the facilities promised earlier.

I had gone to goa for a scientific conference with a friend. i stayed with him at THE HAATHI MAHAL RESORT owned by the ROYAL GOAN BEACH CLUB. i was impressed with the resort and thought that i could also be a member.
during their presentation i was told that they would provide me & my family a 7days and 6 nights stay every year for 25 years. if i took their platinum membership i would be given their Imperial apartments which are really worth the money.
as an ongoing offer i was told that i would also get the Membership of DAE (Dial and Exchange) holidays which would enable me to enjoy holidays anywhere in the world. i was told by royal resort manager that this membership is only for royal resort platinum members and that its cost is Rs.40, 000/-. but as a platinum member it would be included in my membership package.

beside i was also told that only royal resort had a tie up with ICE CRUISE HOLIDAYS, AUSTRALIA which would give me and my family to enjoy cruise vacations every year for 25 years and that the membership fee for this is Rs.75, 000/-. again i was told by their executive that Royal resort was the only company with which ICE Cruise has a tie up.

i was given a total package of Rs.4, 15, 000/- which included the platinum membership of royal resorts, their affiliate resorts, DAE membership and ICE CRUISE membership for 25 years. as an ongoing offer if i paid this entire amount in 90 days i would need to pay only Rs.3, 00, 000/- .
now a discount of Rs. 1, 15000/- was too good to resist and i took their membership and paid Rs.30000/- as advance and came back from goa to my home in bhopal.

when i checked the website of DAE www.daelive.com i was astonished to find that the DAE membership was absolutely FREE and that any one who is a member of any timeshare holiday package could become a free member!! and i was told and presumably charged Rs.40000/- for it.

Now i checked the ICE website www.icevacations.com.au and sent an email to them to know the details of membership. again i got a reply that the membership fee is only Aus $ 250/-( Rs. 8000/-) and not Rs. 75000/- as told to me by royal resorts!!

this is not all, when i called up to know the status of my platinum membership i was told that it did not include Imperial Apartments and that i was supposed to pay another Rs.65000/- to avail of the imperial apartments!!

i feel grossly cheated and do not wish to continue my terms with this company which has started a 25 year customer relationship with a bundle of lies!!!

even my friend with whom i stayed was shown an IMPERIAL APARTMENT at the time of becoming member and was made to stay in an ordinary apartment!! now he is being told he has to pay 65000/- extra if he wants to stay in IMPERIAL APARTMENT!

the sales executive of the company will take you to their presentation hall and "explain" the package to you. he will lure you by giving false promises like free membership of cruise and give you a very high figure. he will also tell you that this amount is valid only for today. he will then call his manager who will come and as a "Special Offer" will reduce the price to almost 50% and again tell you that this offer is valid only for today.he will take you and show the Imperial Apartment & tell you that you will get the same apartment when you go on a holiday. actually when you arrive the first time for a holiday you are given an ordinary apartment and on asking are told that you need to pay Rs.65000/- to get Imperial apartment!!!

i am not the only person being cheated by these companies they have been cheating thousands of consumers!!

a similar scam was brought to light by the sting operation carried out by ABC News in USA last year.
please check this link for the sting carried out by ABC News
http://www.thetimeshareauthority.com/2008/04/29/royal-holiday-timeshare-making-t...

it's not just the question of money but of trust on a company for the next 25 years.
i need your help in this regards.

the company executive is now denying that he ever told me this and is refusing a refund.
i feel your organisation could also bring this to the notice of general public who are constantly being fooled by such companies promising them wonderful holidays and taking them for a ride!

kindly reply to my mail and guide me how to approach this problem

Dr Pramod Sharma

“I wish to retract my statement above made on 16th Jan 2013 saying that Royal Goan Beach Club was cheating me. Having made contact with the management and customer service department of the Karma Royal Group, the matter was settled to my family’s complete satisfaction.”

Pls remove my complaint from the website.

India Today Book Club — Holiday package booked on false promise & amount not refunded

I had booked up for this offer around 23rd April on the promise that i would get a hotel booking during my vacation from May 28th to 3rd June 2009.

I had received the packet from India Today Book club & was asked to send the form duly filled to Big City with an assurance that i would get the Promo Code Confirmation letter within 10 days from the receipt of the form.

I sent the form on the 28th (Proof from Postal Department Attached), but was shocked to learn from Big City that they received it only on 11th (which i still dont believe). I had been following up with both India Today Book Club and Big City since then.

In the meanwhile i have even completed my vacation and even today I have not received the Promo Code Confirmation letter from Big City. I had made it very clear right at the beginning that i do not have any plans for vacation for the next one year and that i would be interested only if i can get the booking for my current vacation. The promises made by India Today BookClub was false & i have been cheated.

I have made more than 30 calls in the last 1 month desperately seeking my refund. For the last 15 days, i have been given different answers everytime. Everytime i am asked to send mails to different people saying i would get a refund from Big City. I objected to this as I had made my payment to Living Media and they are solely responsible for ensuring that their promises are kept up & the consumer is satisfied. Today again when i called and protested, they have categorically mentioned that they wont be able to give a refund. This is indeed shocking.

I am once again approaching this route with a hope that justice would be done in my case & the amounts refunded appropriately. I am certainly not interested in the holiday package offer anymore as the chances of going on a vacation for the next one year is Nil. The two options that i propose is

1. Refund back my full money
2. Adjust the money against other offers which i would want to take from India Today (though i have totally lost the confidence - The company seems fraudulent

Looking forward to getting justice .
You are right.I am also one of the victim .They are befooling and cheating innocent visitors coming to Goa. One can not rely on their words.
I had also purchased a package from them and the website seems invalid

India Today Book Club — FALSE BOOKING DONE

The Manager
LIVING MEDIA INDIA Limited
India Today Book Club
NEW-DELHI

This is to inform you firstly that inspite of holding the phone-line for more than 20 minutes, no one turned up to answer the call [[protected] ] Lastly we had to send you this Email.
My Membership ID No: ITBC09129545 in the Name of Mr Arnab Kumar Chaki. Out of the blue today we had recieved an Courier against the Order No: OGA[protected] Dated[protected] & Invoice No: ORA[protected]TS despatched vide Blue Dart Courier on[protected] vide thier Docket No: [protected]. PLEASE NOTE : We would like to have clarification from your end regarding about this Order, who has placed this Order on us ?
This is to inform you that this amount of Rs. 3198=00 was given against verification no./Booking ID recieved from your end[protected] dated 19.10.2009, [ Package of 3 days & 2 nights to any destination in India with free stay in a 3 or 5 star rated hotel + Air tickets for the whole family ] We did not go to the second package which was been offered to us which was minus the Air-fare but included 5.1 Philips DVD Player + Reebok sungalsses.
The Packet recieved from your Club was never been told to us. Please calrify so that we can return this parcel which was never been ordered by us. Your personal assistance on the Phone-line is of no use for any assistance, where no one attends to the call.
KINDLY REPLY per return Email ASAP.

Arnab Kumar Chaki
402/Bhagyodaya Towers-II
Pashabhai Patel Park
Race Course Circle
VADODARA
GUJARAT
Cell : [protected]
Dear Mr.ARNAB KUMAR CHAKI Your complaint has been resolved on 27/10/2009.
Please refer to the email sent to you on your id. If you have any further queries, please mail back to us on the given id:

[protected]@indiatodaybookclub.com

Would request you to kindly mention this subject: ONLINE COMPLAINTS
Whenever you mail us for quicker response,

or call us on our customer care No.

Same story with me we want to recover the amount and file a FIR against RGBC..
I deposit the initial amount and they want the remaining balance amount and i received the haresment call daily..

kINDLY contact me immeditely... what we do..
at
[protected](M)
REGARDS,
YASEEN
Dear All

Utilizing the TIMESHARE is not easy, there is a way to do it, which needs to be understood, it has to be managed like a business, its complicated, yes i agree that every individual enrolling under such membership is facing a problem, bcoz the sale team finishes its responsibility once the membership is sold & the payments are received.

Most of such cases are with Club Mahindra as they have seasonal / house wise holidays, it is difficult for a traveler to plan.

RGBC has introduced a new concept of points, which i feel is far more better then any other similar offers. Please connect to the customer care department at Goa, i have been an exceptional & have experienced all Highland, Country Club, Club Mahindra & RGBC too.

Please feel free to write i shall be glad to help or communicate.

PJ
Congratulations for joining ROYAL GOONS BREACH CLUB!!!

Gautam Nadkarni
Congratulations for joining ROYAL GOONS BREACH CLUB!!!

Gautam Nadkarni
I am also a aggrieved member from RGBG & what they say in the presentation & what they actuall do are totally different & I am right now down & feel let down by them. Whenever we ask for dates its not available & even today I keep on getting calls that ur a member in this & that club & pls visit us for free (all marketing calls) just to con us. They are fleecing us by way of annual maintaince charges which was never told while we were conned to buy this resort.
Ravi - [protected]
I agree with the poste. A lot of misrepresentation is done.When we took the membership, the representative who sold us this membership, CATAGORICALLY said that we could break up the week and stay at two places for 3 and 4 days, instead of 7 days at a place.He did not tell us enything about any point system, But once we took the membership, we were told to upgrade our membership by paying some amount of over a lac to get the point system by which we could stay for the number of days we desired rather than from Saturday to saturday.Since we were not told anything about the difference between the point system and week system when we booked we felt they were trying to cheat us by putting in various clauses to extract more money.
We feel totally cheated by this whole scheme and regret having bought this membership. It is by far the most expensive membership as compared to any other such scheme as far as maintainence fee is concerned, yet we never seem to get any resort we want inspite of haveng the red season membership. The RCI offers deals which are less than the exchange fee for resorts in countries where it offers us our exchange apartments. In countries where we would benefit by the membership, we don't get any bookings even if we book 1 year in advance.
Now during my latest talk with the RCI rep, he told me that my membership resort ( Royal Palms) does not have a high exchange value. When we booked we were not told about rating of any resorts and were made to feel that we could just walk into a holiday resort since we had the red season membership.I asked to be a member of Haathi Mahal rather than Royal Palms, but the RGB rep told me that any of the resorts has the same value and it is only on paper that one of them is mentioned. Now it doesn't seem so.
With the rising trend of customer dissatisfaction, it is not going to be easy to add members to their business and misrepresentation at the time of booking may get them one customer but will prevent many others from joining.I have personally dissuaded at least twenty potential customers, so what's the point in spending so much on advertising.One satosfied customer can make twenty more members withou any marketing.
The Goa resort never picks up the telephone. I have been trying to get to reservations for a week now but not once has anybody picked up the phone.
Dear Mr Sharma,

I also fell prey to RGBC Scam and have full and final payment of 1, 91, 000/ in April 2010. But now they are not giving booking for any resort even 6 months in advance. I want refund of all amount, are we going to do something. May we, we unite and follow the legal procedure. Let's discuss.

Capt Shashi Kumar
Navi Mumbai
PH-[protected]
Mr. Sharma,

I am also a new member of this club, I am fed of them and would like to recover my money from them. I would like to express my all possible support to fight them.

Rgds,

Ravi
DEAR CAP SHAHI KUMAR,
I DO LOST A HUGE SUM. I WANT TO CANCEL MY MEMBERSHIP. BUT THEY ARE HARRASSING US FOR REMAINING PAYMENT.
IT'S OUR HARD EARNED MONEY AND CAN NOT WASTE LIKE THIS WITHOUT EVEN GETTING TO STAY EVEN ONCE!
I TOO AGREE THAT WE MUST FORM A GROUP AND SUE THEM. MY MAIL ID IS [protected]@YAHOO.CO.IN
LET'S DO SOMETHING!
Hallo! I recently visited one of the Royal resort Royal Palms through RCI, Now RCI said you can avail this facility to stay one week in this resort by paying Exchange fees of Rs, 8100/- + Guest charge of Rs. 2200/- and resort charge Rs. 2180 + 700 (Luxury Tax) so Total is around 13, 000 which comes to Rs. 1875 per night, but surprisingly when I ask other visitors their who are non members were enjoying same facility in just Rs. 1500/- per night, So I feel cheated because we have to count our membership price also on and above . Even The services were also very cheap

So they are doing cheating only to the members we should spread this message to as many people as we can so no more people can face this problem

Ashish
This is an absolute scam.Is there any forum we can get justice?Has anyone had any success with the consumer court against Royal palm?
arun
@ arun.rajan,
people who have paid good money and got trapped will have to band together, and file a joint complaint perhaps, or everyone can file individual complaints and make their lives miserable. its astonishing how RGBC can go around cheating people for such a long time!

sit on a dharna outside RGBC, set a camp to expose their misdeeds, do anything!
Mr Pramod
please take the trouble of calling dail an exchange and finding out which kind of membership comes free . .. if gold adwantage is free ..
also reverify with
ICE if 280 $ is for 25 years or for one year

also imperial does not come under platinum its titanium ..
get facts right before wrighting and wasting your time and others

RGBC HAPPY MEMBER
IAN D COSTA
i m too duped duped for Rs 15000 Rs as initial membership, now they say that i cannot cancel the membership and i have to the pay the entire amount of 2L in six months or Royal Goan will take legal action against me.pl. advice.
i too am a member of royal goan beach club but am fed up with their false promises as theydo not allot us the rooms at the time we need it instead they give dates that are not suitable to us.initially while giving the membership they told us that all the resorts in the global alliance partners could be used by us without any extra cost, but at the time of booking they never have ever given us any booking, instead they tell is to pay more if we want a holiday in their affilated resorts.so i agree that these people keep fooling everyone at the time of issuing the membership.

Royal Resorts
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    65%
    Royal Resorts Phone
    +91 83 2672 5300
    Royal Resorts Address
    Haathi Mahal, Cavelossim, Mobor, Salcette, Goa Velha, Goa, India - 403731
    View all Royal Resorts contact information