Follow us
Log in        Register
     
 

seagate sata hard disk - replacement problem in warranty period

 
180 Reviews
User
  vaibhav bansal
i have bought a 80 gb hard disk of this company from nehru place( name of the shop is Computer empire) in march 2006 and they told me that it has a warranty period of 4.5 years, recently it stop working properly and i contacted at the service centre of seagate ( which is in ashoka building nehru place) and they told me that it will take around 4-5 days roughly. Along with it they gave me an acknowledgment of receiving the hard disc from me and i also get a sms about the same which has a call id.After 4 days they called me up to say that there is some problem about generating some number from the hart disc and it will take some more days. Finally, after trying thier contact number a lot they picked up the phone and said that my call id has been changed but i can now collect the new hard drive which i later on found defective. My address on the new acknowledgment that i receive has also been changed by them along with the call id. Now they are saying to go through all the replacement procedure again which is very cumbersome and there is no surity that this time it wont happen, as told to me.
I have been facing lots of trouble due to their indiffrent and rude attitude and deeply hurted by the kind of pranks they are playing on me.
I Hope to get the due help from the consumer forum,
Waiting for your reply eagerly,
Vaibhav Bansal
Student 4th year
Indian Institute of Technology Delhi


Complaint comments 179 Comments     Updated:
Resolve this Complaint  

Comments

A
User
shahul  
 
i am shahul from chennai i mis the acknowledgement slip and idont have a mail information what can i do
 
my harddisk without check return. my harddisk in same problem.
N
User
pawan  
 
hi , i am pawan and i presently hold a hard disk which is already replaced on warranty ...!
now even the replaced hard disk is nt working so can i avail warranty on dis hard disk too ...!
 
I have got Seagate SATA 80 GB in replacement warranty from your Seacare Centre Chennai. The HDD is having S.NO. 6PT5VX71 Model No. ST380811AS. I have performed HDD Partitioning by Windows Disk Management Tool, but the partitions were automatically deleted and the HDD was transformed back to 76.5 GB Un-allocated Space.

While Again I performed Partitioning by using Seagate Disc Wizard Tool Downloaded for your website the Operating System (XP) shows "Read Error at Startup". As Seagate Customer Care asked me to downloaded DOS Seagate Testing tool, The testing shows error notified below:

"A failure was detected during short test" same result cam in long tests. I have lost important data because of your product failure and your product has caused me in-convince. I have already installed one Seagate HDD on my system for backup that works wonderful, while the problem is only with your disc. The disc makes ticking noise when shaked with hand.
Configuration of my System: Wipro Made

Mother Board: Intel Original 945GCEP Dual Core
SMPS: Intex 450 Watt;
Already Installed HDD: Seagate Parallel Cable.
UPS: APC 500 Watt

Now I request you to make it sure that I get replacement disc with assured checkups and on time so that my work doesn’t get hampered. If you have any dealer in Srinagar Kashmir then the HDD be given through him.
I am not sure why your product fail to deliver the assured performance, I think only repaired disc are given to me. I request you to send me a new disc for that I will be highly thankful.
Thanks
 
i have bought a 80 gb hard disk of this company from udaipur( name of the shop is Nice Computer) in june 2007and they told me that it has a warranty period of 4.5 years, recently it stop working properly.i want to replace it.
N
User
Kiran  
 
I am also facing the same problem, they took too long for a replacement and again given me a defective drive.
Seagate is not reliable at all. my Hdd got problem within 6 months from the day i bought it and also i was not using it so much. Is there someone who is listening all this.
I m in job cant spent 3-4 hours in queue to submit the product and then 2 more hour to collect it. these people are not available on sat-sun, they have not left people with any other option. can any one from seagate contact me and tell me wht to do.
I ll suggest seagate people to not to do like this, no-one will buy your product. give better service to ur customers.
 
i gave a SATA hard drive of 160 GB for replacement in the SEAGATE service center in ASHOK BHAVAN, NEHRU PLACE. i got an sms regarding registration from ACCEL as well as an acknowledgment slip. its been 1 week since i gave the hard drive and no SMS came. i lost the slip as well. what should i do??
 
My Product No U6 MST340810A
40 GB
 
plz give me replacement centers address in mumbai or tel.no.
 
I have brought new seagate Free Agent 500GB but after installing it is showing only 468GB of space could u please help me what should i do...
 
Dear Sir this is really bad Service for replacement of hard disc,
i purchase sata (seagate) at 18 oct 2005, warranty of that hard disc is 5 years means 18 oct 2008. i send hard disc to company at banglore. from last 45 days i didn't get any reply, i think i lost my hard disc. please check my hard disc details to me at my email address as early as possible. my hard disc details are as follow
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



End User


Serial Number 4MR3KD8Y
Seagate Part Number 9W2932-370
Warranty Status
(*see details below) Options
(*see details below)



In Warranty
Expiration 18-Oct-2010 Exchange
Please return directly to Seagate


SeaTools


Tried SeaTools? If your drive is failing, SeaTools may be able to help you fix it without the time, expense, and risk of data loss associated with returning it.






To return In-warranty drives, click the button below



Please note: The Return Management System operates best with Internet Explorer 5.5 SP2 or Netscape Navigator 7.1 and higher versions (see system requirements)




-->
Data Recovery



Seagate Data Recovery Services
Seagate now offers best-in-class data recovery services for all formats and all brands of storage media from our labs in North America, Europe and Australia.



*Warranty Status & *Options


In Warranty
• This drive is covered by a Seagate warranty.
• It may be returned for exchange. You will not receive your original drive in return.
• Please back up all data before returning the drive.







©2007, Seagate LLC
----------------------------------------------------------
 
Dear Sir this is really bad Service for replacement of hard disc,
i purchase sata (seagate) at 18 oct 2005, warranty of that hard disc is 5 years means 18 oct 2008. i send hard disc to company at banglore. from last 45 days i didn't get any reply, i think i lost my hard disc. please check my hard disc details to me at my email address as early as possible. my hard disc details are as follow
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



End User


Serial Number 4MR3KD8Y
Seagate Part Number 9W2932-370
Warranty Status
(*see details below) Options
(*see details below)



In Warranty
Expiration 18-Oct-2010 Exchange
Please return directly to Seagate


SeaTools


Tried SeaTools? If your drive is failing, SeaTools may be able to help you fix it without the time, expense, and risk of data loss associated with returning it.






To return In-warranty drives, click the button below



Please note: The Return Management System operates best with Internet Explorer 5.5 SP2 or Netscape Navigator 7.1 and higher versions (see system requirements)




-->
Data Recovery



Seagate Data Recovery Services
Seagate now offers best-in-class data recovery services for all formats and all brands of storage media from our labs in North America, Europe and Australia.



*Warranty Status & *Options


In Warranty
• This drive is covered by a Seagate warranty.
• It may be returned for exchange. You will not receive your original drive in return.
• Please back up all data before returning the drive.







©2007, Seagate LLC
----------------------------------------------------------
 
Dear Sir this is really bad Service for replacement of hard disc,
i purchase sata (seagate) at 18 oct 2005, warranty of that hard disc is 5 years means 18 oct 2010. i send hard disc to company at banglore. from last 45 days i didn't get any reply, i think i lost my hard disc. please check my hard disc details to me at my email address as early as possible. my hard disc details are as follow
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



End User


Serial Number 4MR3KD8Y
Seagate Part Number 9W2932-370
Warranty Status
(*see details below) Options
(*see details below)



In Warranty
Expiration 18-Oct-2010 Exchange
Please return directly to Seagate


SeaTools


Tried SeaTools? If your drive is failing, SeaTools may be able to help you fix it without the time, expense, and risk of data loss associated with returning it.






To return In-warranty drives, click the button below



Please note: The Return Management System operates best with Internet Explorer 5.5 SP2 or Netscape Navigator 7.1 and higher versions (see system requirements)




-->
Data Recovery



Seagate Data Recovery Services
Seagate now offers best-in-class data recovery services for all formats and all brands of storage media from our labs in North America, Europe and Australia.



*Warranty Status & *Options


In Warranty
• This drive is covered by a Seagate warranty.
• It may be returned for exchange. You will not receive your original drive in return.
• Please back up all data before returning the drive.







©2007, Seagate LLC
----------------------------------------------------------
N
User
gbasu1  
 

Replacement of HDD is defective - Personal

Dear Sir,
I porchased a HDD Sl. No.S00JJ1RYB00166 on 13/12/2005. It crashed in October 2008. I submitted it to your Service Centre at Kolkata on 16.10.2008 (Ref. Complaint No.HDD-2920). A replacement is given to me on 8.12.08 bearing S/N S00jJ20y2717210. While handing over the HDD no document was given to me alongwith the HDD. I was told by the Service Centre that they do not provide any document that such HDD is being given as replacement. I was told the warranty is 5 years. excluding the time taken by them for checking and provide reoplacement.
During my visit I met with another two complainants that the Service Centre is taking more than 2 - 3 months to sort out any complaint.
I suggest your company should not claim that they provide 5 years warranty.
In process customer loose a good amount of time to get warranty support.
Ph. 09830177791 (M)
(L) 033 23216932
 
Hi,

Can anybody share seagate mumbai contact number

I have a problem in my Hard Disk which is of 40gb.

Requst, if anybody can share me seagate mumbai call center contact number.

Awaiting email reply.

Rgds,
Amit
N
User
rimin  
 
i purchased segate 200gb hdd one month ago now the shit is not working, i have hdd for replacement 3 weeks have past no reply from seagate service centre its tru that no one will buy seagate products
 

Unreliable and defective hard drive from SEAGATE - Seagate and Western Digital

Seagate is distributing highly defective SATA Hard Disk through vendors in Nehru Place. I have purchased 2 SATA disk in last 1 year (one Seagate 160GB) and then Western Digital 250GB (another seagate company). Both the hard disk got corrupted with bad sectors in 6 months. I got one replaced from ACCEL FRONTLINE based in Ashoka Bhawan, Nehru Place. But they are in business of duping the customer. They return you the same HDD untreated or repaired minorly after 7 days. I reinstalled that disk on my PC and it got corrupted in 3 flat days. These people must be sued. I have lost so much money and time with these guys. The SATA disk Seagate is selling in Indian Market are higly unreliable.
 
Seagate is distributing highly defective SATA Hard Disk through vendors in Nehru Place. I have purchased 2 SATA disk in last 1 year (one Seagate 160GB) and then Western Digital 250GB (another seagate company). Both the hard disk got corrupted with bad sectors in 6 months. I got one replaced from ACCEL FRONTLINE based in Ashoka Bhawan, Nehru Place. But they are in business of duping the customer. They return you the same HDD untreated or repaired minorly after 7 days. I reinstalled that disk on my PC and it got corrupted in 3 flat days. These people must be sued. I have lost so much money and time with these guys. The SATA disk Seagate is selling in Indian Market are higly unreliable.
A
User
prasad  
 
8 months back i buy 160 seagate sata hard disk recenlty it my os geting hand and distroyed so i need to format the drive while in formating time its getiing error (setup was unable to format the partition.this disk may be damaged. make sure the drive is switched on and properly connected to your computer. if the disk is a scsi disk, make sure your scsi devices are properly terminated. consult your computer manual or scsi adapter documentation for more information.) then i fix my hard drive to another computer and formated but still the same error
 
hd is unable to boot any windows operating system.it restarts after2/3 oot process.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good) No Rating
    code
    seagate sata hard disk - replacement problem in warranty period