Follow us
Log in        Register
     
 

Sony India Pvt. Ltd. CRT TV - Defective Sony CRT Television, Model no: KV-HZ29M85

 
7 Reviews
User
  Ravish Kr Nagpal on Sep 11, 2011
I purchased a CRT television from Sony India Pvt. Ltd. via their exclusive dealer “Suriya Kiran Electronics” for a purchase price of Rs 47,000. On 13th Nov 2010, the above said CRT television stopped working due to defective BH board. I tried contacting the dealer multiple times on the phone numbers given on the invoice but was unsuccessful as company has changed it customer care number given on the warranty card. Finally, on 24th March 2011, I was able to get in touch with customer care #1800-103-7799 and logged a complaint. After that, Mr Rakesh from Sony visited my residence and inspected the above television on 9th April 2011. He charged me Rs 110 as visiting charges and advised that television set has a defective DRP board and will has to be taken to the service station for repair. He advised that Rs 300 will be charged for picking up the set and another person will come to pickup the television next week. However, no one turned up for next 3 weeks. I further followed up multiple times with customer care number in May, June, July and have multiple complaint numbers given to me by different call center people. On 31st July 2011 another person from Sony visited my residence charged Rs 110 again on account of service charges. He advised that the earlier person who visited never reported the case in Sony’s office & hence my television was not picked. He assured me that this time he will get it done & finally my television set was picked up from my residence on 11th August 2011 by Sony vendor “HI-END SOLUTIONS”. A charge of Rs 300 was taken on as pickup & delivery charges. He advised me that this part would be replaced at the cost of Rs 6000. I kept on following up with them post that on phone & was advised in third week of August that television cannot be repaired as company has stopped producing the defective part. Post, which they advised me to take the defective television back as nothing can be done in this regard. Further, my daughter in law found out the Sony’s head office address and had multiple telephonic discussions with Mr Mahesh, receptionist of Vineeta Tyagi & Mr Abhijit. We have detailed log of these conversations but were unsuccessful in getting the problem resolved.
Complaint comments 6 Comments     Updated:
Resolve this Complaint  

Comments

N
User
sharadpandey Sony Television  - Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India
 

TV Repair - Sony Television

Dear Sir,
I have got my TV repaired in Sony Service Centre, Hazratganj. My complain was of TV tuner which was changed but my TV worked for one hour and later on it started sparking then we switched Off the TV and call the Enggineer who visited my Home. He came back very next day and told us your Cathode Gun has gone defective and you will have to pay Rs. 7000/- for repair. My TV was earlier fine but was working only with 30 channels. Now after investing money also it is lying dead at sony service centre, (SONIC CARE, HAZRATGANJ).
Kindly look into the matter.

regards

Sharad Pandey
9771404380
N Sep 18, 2011 by
User
Ravish Kr Nagpal  
 
Hi,

I have several complaint numbers. I am giving the most recent one (#7995371). There are 5 more with me for the same TV problem.

Ravish Kr. Nagpal
D Oct 12, 2011 by
User
Ravish Kr Nagpal  
 
Its not the best solution, they are asking me to pay 75% of the cost of new TV. If this continous, I will have shell out 35000 to 40000 every 5 years for a TV. This is not expected from brand like Sony.
D Oct 18, 2011 by
User
Hemant_delhi  
 
This is Highly Unprofessional on the part of Sony India. People like us are ready to pay 25-30% more for buying sony product with similar features/quality product, but if this is the response of the company whay should we go for it. Mr. Nagpal, you please write to the MD of the company as most of the customer care people are insensitive to the consumer concerns and problems and are least botherd about the image of the company. If you still do not receive any response, then other option can be explored.

regards
Hemant
N Jan 2, 2012 by
User
rose lane  
 
the lesson to be learned here is never buy a sony product in india
D Jun 5, 2012 by
User
nk_jha  
 
Dear Mr. Nagpal

I do not see any scope of replacement or compensation in this regard as the product evidently falls outside the scope of Warranty. I am afraid, if the Company is offering a 25% discount on a similar product, you should go for it. The defect has arisen after five years. You could have been denied any service or any offer, but I suppose it is the goodwill gesture of the Company towards their customers, that they are still ready to offer a discount of 25% on new purchase.

Regards

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good) No Rating
    code
    Sony India Pvt. Ltd. CRT TV - Defective Sony CRT Television, Model no: KV-HZ29M85