Delhi Jal Board — Harassment by Delhi Jal Board Meter Reader

Respected Sir, We have DJB water connection against K.no. [protected] I'm my mother's name She is regular bill payer and never defaulted ever yet. Her monthly consumption is approx. 12-18 units per month. But suddenly she got very much high consumption of approx. 100 units per month against the last bill no.[protected] for Bill Cycle: ZALL[protected]. That bill is for Rs.17000 for 5 months (mostly winter period) which cannot be possible & which is totally abnormal and unacceptable? My mother is a Senior citizen & widow of 78 years and live in a 60 sq yard house with my daughter, son in law and her 4 year daughter.. You can judge by your own that how much water they can use for their daily needs, and if you check their previous consumption history, they did not consume so much of water in any period of consumption history. So, when we complained to ZRO office. An officer along with (Mr Pawan), probably meter reader, visited our house and checks the same. As per his observation, meter is OK and Bill has to be paid, he also said, that he can reverse the meter so that current consumption can be regulated, In addition, he said, that the meter has already consumed approx. 200 units in just 15 days, which is totally abnormal and if we are ready to pay him some bribe in return, he can remove that consumption also. As an honest citizen, my mother disagrees with the proposal and meets ZRO Mr Rajender in New Seelampur. My mother approached in ZRO office and ZRO showed his inability to revise the last bill but he proposed us to change the meter and insisted us to pay the bill. As per ZRO’s consent, we changed the meter on 04/05/2015 and submitted all the related documents at your ZRO office for updating in your records on 05/05/214. Along with that we also formally submit an application (attached) for reassessment of Defective period till meter changed l on the basis of average consumption of one year with this new installed meter. ZRO has assured us to re assess the bill accordingly.. But on[protected], again the Mr Pawan, reached our house, asked my mother, why she has changed the meter, how much bribe my mother has given to ZRO . He threatened that he is the only boss, and without his consent, our bill will continue to get higher consumption bill. He also warned my mother (Senior Citizen), that she has no authority to change the meter, & asked how much bribe she has given to ZRO for getting the permission for replacement. She tried to convince him, that meter was changed according to law and with the consent of ZRO. But he again threatened her that, “Main dekhta hoo ki aapka bill kaise kam aata hai, aage se aur bhi jyada bill ayega aapka” . On 21/05/2015, we got a new bill for Rs.19498/-amount, where consumption from[protected] to[protected], whereas my meter was changed on 04/05/2015, so bill period should be[protected] to[protected]. This was intestinally done by the meter reader for harass my mother because she refused to bribe him against meter reversal. Since then, my mother get worried and falling ill, if anything done to my mother due to these developments, DJB will only be responsible. Today, 22/05/2015, again my mother along with my sister met new ZRO (who has just transferred) and complained verbally about the person, who is harassing her. She called Mr Pawan but Mr Pawan again threatened my mother in front of new ZRO, why we have changed the meter, and asking us to provide Old ZRO consent in written for meter replacement, When she tell him that she will complaint this matter to higher official, Mr Pawan replied, he do not have any fear even of CBI. I am requested you to kindly investigate the matter at the earliest and take action for such type of staff who are the bad elements in your department and kindly assured us that our bill will be according to consumption recorded as per the new meter and the prior bill of that should be revised as per the consumption recorded in new meter after one year. We never defaulted in our entire billing cycles and hope for suitable positive reply on your part also. Sumit Talapatra M.no.[protected]
Delhi Jal Board customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Delhi Jal Board
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    10%
    Delhi Jal Board Phone
    +91 11 2351 6261
    Delhi Jal Board Address
    Varunalaya Ph-II, Jhandewalan, Karol Bagh, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110005
    View all Delhi Jal Board contact information