[Resolved]  Ebay.in — Defective product shipped

I ordered Lenovo Phab Plus on 29th July 2016 and received the product on 1st August 2016. The product is an open box refurbished product sold with statement that the product is with excellent condition and may have minor scratches.
On the day I received the product, I normally tested up everything to make sure its in good condition but was surprised to see that product touch is defective. I checked with seller via email and phone and he advised to open the claim with ebay. I opened claim with ebay on 2nd August 2016.

Ebay communicated via SMS on 3rd August 2016 that seller has been notified and he will help to resolve the issue within 4 days under Seller make it right (SMIR) period. I received no response from seller within this period.

On Sunday, 7th August, Ebay called me up and told me that the claim is not eligible as the product is under manufacturer warranty and closed the claim. They can only help me if the service center issues DOA for the product.

I called up Lenovo tablet customer care on 13th August and talked with them and as per the advise from them visited the service center.

As per concerned person on the service center, the DOA cannot be issued as the product passed 7 days of period from the date of purchase.

Overall the communication between seller and ebay already passed out 7 days and now even the service center cannot issue me DOA.

The product is notified for defects on the very next day I received it and requested seller and the eCommerce portal for help but no resolution was provided.

Being it an open box product and stating that the product is in excellent condition just like new, does not give them authorization to sell defective products which results in customer to suffer a lot and customer hard earned money is gone.

I feel like cheated to purchase the product and wasting my time in communicating with the eCommerce portal as well as seller and relying on the services.

Earlier I requested for replacement but after hearing so much not convincing responses from them, I now need my money back.

I am attaching invoice copy of the product and other supporting documents.
+11 photos
Dec 11, 2016
No resolution was provided and even the negative feedback posted against seller was removed by Ebay. Being it a open box purchase seller claimed it is fully tested but was not true. Ebay stating that the product carries manufacturer warranty but they are not agreeing to the point that the seller claim of 100% tested product is wrong. Finally I had to take it up with service center and get the touch replaced but still not satisfied with the touch response of it as it still carries the same problem even after replacement of touch screen by authorized service center.
eBay.in customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Aug 16, 2016
eBay.in Customer Care's response
Dear surinderpals,

Thanks for voicing your concern. Please be assured that we are working on your problem and we will get in touch with you at the earliest. For any further assistance, please write to us at ebayindia.[protected]@gmail.com

Team Ebay
Aug 24, 2016
Updated by surinderpals
I have requested to re-open the claim as seller advised me that I am covered under 30 days guarantee. I was assured that I will receive a call from ebay claims department with conversation reference number as 1-[protected] and 1-[protected] but its been almost 10 days no response from ebay has been given and no positive response from customer care executive has been provided except to wait for response from claims department.
Sep 05, 2016
eBay.in Customer Care's response
Dear surinderpals,

We have already escalated your concern to our team and are working on it. Kindly allow us some time in order to assist you further.

Team Ebay
Dec 11, 2016
Updated by surinderpals
No resolution was provided and even the negative feedback posted against seller was removed by Ebay. Being it a open box purchase seller claimed it is fully tested but was not true.

Ebay stating that the product carries manufacturer warranty but they are not agreeing to the point that the seller claim of 100% tested product is wrong.

Finally I had to take it up with service center and get the touch replaced but still not satisfied with the touch response of it as it still carries the same problem even after replacement of touch screen by authorized service center.

eBay.in
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    60%
    eBay.in Address
    14th Floor, North Block, R-TECH Park, Western Express Highway, Gorgaon (East), Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400063
    View all eBay.in contact information