HomeTown — Springfit mattress (king-size) delivered damaged

Address:Bangalore, Karnataka

I'm Kaushik Kumar Bar (mob: [protected], email: [protected]@gmail.com).
I recently (17th March, 2015) bought a Springfit king-size mattress (78*72*6) from Hometown, Marathahalli, Bangalore. The INVOICE No. is 91435812. Snapshots of the receipt are attached.

The mattress was delivered on 23rd March, and was lying in my room, unused and unopened. On 28th March, I turned the mattress upside down, and to my shock, I discovered that the mattress was delivered damaged. The plastic cover has not yet been opened. The snaps of the mattress where it is damaged is attached.

I tried to call HomeTown at the phone number printed on the receipt the same day - but it said "number out of service". I physically went to HomeTown, but by then it was already closed - but I managed to talk to a customer service representative. He gave me the phone number of Mr Ismail ([protected]) and couple of customer service numbers of HomeTown ([protected]/22/23). The next day, I kept trying these numbers throughout the day, starting from 11:30 AM - but of no avail. Mr Ismail's number is "not reachable" and the HomeTown customer service numbers keep ringing although no one picks up the call.

Frustrated, I went to HomeTown once again. After talking to many customer service reps, Ms Shanta Kumari ([protected]@futureretail.in) came and met me. She assured me that she has raised a complaint and the complaint number details will be sent to my mobile, which did not happen. She asked me to send in the details along with snapshots of the damaged mattress - which I did on the same day (29th March 2015). She also gave me a number ([protected]), which when I called, was picked up by a male who said he is not attached to HomeTown in any way! I requested her to provide me the complaint number through email, which she never replied - nor did I get any confirmation that any complaint has been registered.

On 31st March, 2015, after many calls to HomeTown, my wife got an email id ([protected]@springfitmattress.com) from a HomeTown customer service person who asked me to write an email to this mail id. I wonder why it was not told earlier. However, I sent email to this email id (and also to [protected]@springfitmattress.com). However, as on 02nd April, 2015, there is no communication/confirmation/response even after multiple follow-up emails. I don't event have an acknowledgement of complaint or Complaint No given by any of the customer care reps I've interacted regarding this matter.

During the same time, I was asked by HomeTown to contact Springfit to register the complaint and they gave me this number: [protected]. However, when called, it says "swicthed off or out of service".

On 01st April, 2015, I resent the snap of the damage to Ms Shanta Kumari throuugh whatsapp ([protected]). She responded that she has received the snap. However, even after more than 24 hrs since then, she has registered a complaint with the company (Springfit).

I want either my mattress replaced or a full refund of the money. I'm tired of following up and chasing both HomeTown and Springfit - and no one seems to be interested to do the needful.

Please help resolve the issue.

Kaushik

Please help resolve the issue.

Photo proofs attached.

Dear Mr. Kaushik,
Greetings from Future Group.
This is Priya. I am sorry for the inconvenience you had to face. Please be informed that I have escalated your issue regarding the mattress to my team. They shall get back to you at the earliest and resolve it.

Kindly note your Reference ID-15880 for further communication.

Priya
Thanks Priya.

I'll update this thread once the issue is resolved.

Kaushik
Updates till now:

On 03rd April, 2015, Mr Venky ([protected]@springfitmattress.com) from Springfit asked me to resend the snaps of the damaged product.
I resent, although I had already sent those snaps to [protected]@springfitmattress.com and [protected]@springfitmattress.com back on 31st March, 2015 already.
Mr Venky promised me that he will respond back within a day. Now more than 24 hours are over - but no response yet!

I had thought of buying a bed for my home from HomeTown and another mattress for it - but given what I see, I've put those plans in the back-burner. I suggest that whoever is reading this, double-think before buying anything of significant value from HomeTown.

Kaushik
Updates till now:

Even after multiple escalations, there is no solution till yesterday - my emails were responded saying "discussion with HomeTown is going on".

Today, after my follow up, the solution proposed was that they will "replace the fabric".

I'm astounded with the level of audacity of both Springfit and HomeTown! They have delivered a damaged mattress, and now they want to replace only the fabric and get their hands off! Although the snaps of the damaged mattress clearly shows that it is not only the fabric that is damaged but the internal material/foam also is damaged in those places.

I would like remind HomeTown that I've paid you the full price for a new mattress - I want a new mattress in entirely good condition. I'm not going to accept any makeshift solution, because I didn't pay for an old mattress whose fabric is replaced.

I've informed the same to HomeTown and Springfit. And as always, I'm waiting for their response!

Kaushik
absolutely right. now i remember, 6 months back 1 very good friend of mine from kolkata who also faced similar issues with a sofa he bought from hometown kolkata, which had broken frame from the day it got delivered. but even after 6 monghts of follow up, home town has still not replaced it.

looks like customer care is a problem in all home town centres across all cities. i was planning to buy a bed from home town, and landed up here through google.

i think all people who got befooled by home town should take legal action against them.

this post reminded me how poor the customer service in home town is. i'll probably get the bed custom made by carpenter than buy it from home town.

thanks!
Hi Kaushik,

I am also a Bangalore resident and I was planning to buy furniture for my new house from Hometown, Marathahalli.
After reading your post I have decided against it.

Chetan

Big Bazaar — Dreamline Twister Mop

Bought above product from Big Bazar, Parel yesterday. The mop handle does not stand straight, hence mop head does not fit in the spinner.
Lousy mattress from a lousy company Springfit.

I threw the mattress out to my car driver after sleeping uncomfortably for a few months and no respite from the company .

Big Bazaar / FutureBazaar / Future Retail / HomeTown
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    49%
    Big Bazaar / FutureBazaar / Future Retail / HomeTown Phone
    +91 90 0786 2472
    +91 22 6644 2200
    +91 79 3041 3700
    Big Bazaar / FutureBazaar / Future Retail / HomeTown Address
    Future Retail Home Office, 4th Floor, Tower C, 247 Park, LBS Marg, Vikhroli (West), Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400083
    View all Big Bazaar / FutureBazaar / Future Retail / HomeTown contact information