Bajaj Allianz — motor insurance policy not issued despite charging credit card, no refund yet despite several follow ups

 
1 Review
Bajaj Finserv Building, 1st Floor, Behind Weikfield IT-Park, Viman Nagar Pune-411014 Ph:1800-209-0144, Pune, Maharashtra, India
 Seshadri_BLR on Sep 24, 2019
Attempted buying a motor insurance policy online via
https://www.bajajallianz.com/motor-insurance/car-insurance-online/buy-online.htm... on 2nd september 2019.

Website gathered all relevant details, charged my credit card, but failed to issue the policy.

Contacted customer care. Some representative suggested i buy again using his guidance over phone, and the failed transaction would be refunded.

I bought the policy, paying again and waited for the refund.

Over several days thereafter, multiple dozen of calls, many mails followed from my side. Refund is not made.

One representative from call center eventually helped in raising a complaint in their records, 80167445.

But this remained a mere number that every representative just refers to saying this complaint is in process.

I was asked to provide my credit card statement showing the transaction. Even this was done many days ago. All other details are verified several times, they do not say that there are some gaps in communication from my side, just that they need time to get back.

But they do not get back.

Every time i somehow reach a call center person, he / she makes a false promise that the matter would be taken up on priority soon and some back end team would get back. No one ever gets back, no refund either.

Complaint Status


[Sep 24, 2019] Bajaj Allianz customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Verified Support
Bajaj Allianz Customer Care's response, Sep 25, 2019
Hi,

That’s really not something we aim to deliver and are keen on making things right for you. Please share your contact number via email to [protected]@bajajallianz.co.in so that we can get in touch with you.

We have registered your complaint with Reference No. BA - 1488, keep a note of the same for further procedure. Also, please mention this number in the subject line of the email while sending in your details. Thank you.

Caringly Yours,
Bajaj Allianz General Insurance
Updated by Seshadri_BLR, Oct 04, 2019
You knew only too well that in this website, no mail I.D. would be legible.

Transaction took place on 2nd September 2019.

Number of mails I have send to w e b s a l e s [at] bajajallianz . co . in till date is close to a dozen.

Total time spend on your contact center phone line over several dozens of calls (talking and waiting and explaining time) is over 10 hours.

Many mails I had already sent that included full details with screenshots from your website that had the bug causing the undue charge to credit card without issuing the policy.

Your people still asked for my credit card statement -- which includes many other transactions that have no relevance to you. I still shared the same after hiding those other transactions - even this was on 13th September 2019.

Then the mails with the credit card transaction details (two transactions, one of 2nd September 2019, of Rs 8900 and another on 4th September 2019 of Rs. 8870) shown on page 2 of the credit card statement were as follows:

Friday, September 13, 2019 7:32:53 PM
Monday, September 16, 2019 7:12:46 PM
Friday, September 20, 2019 9:00:48 PM
Tuesday, September 24, 2019 9:24:53 AM
Friday, October 04, 2019 14:17:00 PM

And today, one of the person who took the call said "the respective department" has not received it!
Then another person told "sorry sir, it is a case of delay and not denial", when I insisted on which word would he choose to explain the situation.
After a couple more hours, another person calls me and tells that the "Back end team" has received mail, but cannot find transaction details!

I mentioned, both the transactions are on page 2:

02/09/2019 WWW. BAJAJALLIANZ.COM PUNE 8, 900.00
... ...
... ...
04/09/2019 WWW. BAJAJALLIANZ.COM PUNE 8, 870.00

It is no longer entertaining if you keep finding innovative ways of deferring this further.
Updated by Seshadri_BLR, Oct 10, 2019
I received e-mail on 05 October, 2019, from some representative of Bajaj Allianz, saying the following:

QUOTE[protected]
We regret for the inconvenience caused to you and the delay in resolving your concern.

Kindly accept our sincere apology for delay in replying and inconvenience caused to you.

This is with reference to your request with issue number: 80167445

We have forwarded your issue to the concerned department regarding premium refund, request you to provide us some time. We will get back to you as soon as possible.
UNQUOTE[protected][protected]

This was from someone having the following in his / her e-mail ID description:
Customer Experience-CFU / General

I am not writing the the mail I.D. of this person, and a couple of others he / she kept in CC, here, as this is not a personal matter, even though the mail I.D. s appear from domain @ bajajallianz.co.in

4 days later, on 9th Oct 2019, I again asked for some updates, at least a date and time by when I can expect the refund, as this "we have forwarded your complaint to concerned department ... ..." kind of less-than-useless updates I have received many a dozen times since 02 September 2019.

But there is no further response from Bajaj Allianz.
Updated by Seshadri_BLR, Oct 15, 2019
Received a mail from someone (I withhold the mail I.D. even though it was from domain bajajallianz.co.in) representing "/HO - Direct Marketing/Customer Care/General" on 11th October 2019, 3:05 PM IST:

QUOTE[protected]
We write this in reference to your below email dated Oct 09, 2019 and your telephonic conversation at <my phone number> with the undersigned today i.e. Oct 11, 2019.

As discussed, we have noted your concerns and we are working on the same and will get back to you latest by 6 PM, Oct 14, 2019.

Look forward to serve you.

UNQUOTE[protected]

5 minutes later, received an Auto-mail from b a g i c @ bajajallianz. co. in on 11th October 2019 3:13 PM IST:

QUOTE[protected]-----
Your refund request number : 1008338 has been approved in system. Payment will be processed within next two working days. Please find below payee details for your reference. PID/IMD Code Payee Name Approved Refund Amt. Request Reference No.[protected]/ <name>[protected] Warm Regards, BAGIC Finance (HO) This is an automated e-mail. Please do not reply to this email.

UNQUOTE[protected]------

But as usual, the promised / assured date and time are in the past now, nothing changed.
Updated by Seshadri_BLR, Oct 21, 2019
Refund request 1008338 was approved (as shared by you as well as another auto-mail) on 11th Oct 2019, 15:13 hours IST.

The auto-mail said “two working days”, some representatives from "Priority Handling Desk" said “7 to 8 working days”.

Today, 21st Oct 2019, it is still pending.
Updated by Seshadri_BLR, Oct 22, 2019
Yesterday, mail sent to priorityhandle (at) bajajallianz.co.in, no response.

All these tell us something about the culture in this organization -- no one owns up a sheer failure -- technical, ethical, professional, whichever angle you look at it.
Updated by Seshadri_BLR, Oct 23, 2019
Yesterday I called up the customer care again.

The person checked many detail but could not trace anything from this wonderful number 1008338.

So, here are the questions again:
(a) Was it real?
(b) Would you prefer to keep the money as a donation (please respond in writing)?
(c) If it was real and if you do not live on donations, would you have a date when the credit would happen?

Shared the same questions with
priorityhandle (at) bajajallianz.co.in

Trupti Kakade/HO - Direct Marketing/Customer Care/General;
Sahil Fernandes (Outsource-TBSS)/SkyRM/Customer Experience-CFU/General; Ketki Kerkar/HO - Direct Marketing/Customer Care/General

and many others who are at the other side of the phone[protected] since 2nd Sept 2019.
Complaint comments  Add a Comment     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    54%
    Complaints
    1749
    Pending
    505
    Resolved
    822
    phone
    +91 20 3030 5858 [Customer Care]
    location
    GE Plaza, Airport Road, Yerawada, Pune, Maharashtra, India - 411 006
    Bajaj Allianz - motor insurance policy not issued despite charging credit card, no refund yet despite several follow ups