[Resolved]  Airtel — invalid IMEI

I got a message from airtel service stating that my IMEI is invalid and that i need to get new IMEI from govt approved centres. I purchased my mobile from an authorisd dealer and its been over a year. How can airtel say that my IMEI is invalid!! I would the customer service to sort this out.
My no: [protected]
IMEI[protected]

How the hell can Airtel say that I have an invalid IMEI? My phone number is [protected] - they are advised to get in touch or face legal notice for harrassment.
Same problem with me. I got two messages from AZ-Service saying the same.The message as follows.

"Your handset has an invalid IMEI.As per Govt directive your handset willstop working from 30Nov09.Get new [protected]@Rs199.For center details send HS<pincode>to121".

I'm using my phone(Nokia 7610) from last 4 years and using that Airtel card which was postpaid before and now its turned to prepaid. I guess Airtel people are unwilling to serve its prepaid customers. Hence the enforcement to shell out money.
On calling 121, I was told that message has not been sent from Airtel.
Same problem with me. I got two messages from AZ-Service saying the same.The message as follows.

"Your handset has an invalid IMEI.As per Govt directive your handset willstop working from 30Nov09.Get new [protected]@Rs199.For center details send HS<pincode>to121".

I'm using my phone(Nokia E51) from last 2 years and using that Airtel card which was postpaid before and now its turned to prepaid. I guess Airtel people are unwilling to serve its prepaid customers. Hence the enforcement to shell out money.
On calling 121, I was told that if you do not renew your IMEI number your phone will stop working from 30th November.
This is absolutely nonsense. I also got the same message twice stating that Your handset has an invalid IMEI. As per Govt directive your handset will stop working from 30Nov09. Get new [protected]@Rs 199. I bought my handset from authorised dealer 2 years back. I also have my mobile bill in which the IMEI is written, which is the same as when i dial *#06# from my mobile. Customer care fail to help. They advise you to go to some Authorised Dealer to get it checked, which are located at distant locations. Why should i go to Airtel Office, leave my office work, and rectify mistake done by Airtel? Did buying mobile phone from a Authorised Dealer is a crime? I am very unhappy with Airtel.
I am a retailer.And how can i give valid imei number to the customar
and my hand set of chaina (sigmatel H1+
I am a retailer.And how can i give valid imei number to the customar
and my hand set of chaina (sigmatel H1+

My Contect Number
hello sir
same problem here also..i have a nokia 6210 navigator bought from a genuine dealer with genuine imei number written on box and recipet same on phone also.but airtel is telling its fake.who is responsible for this airtel or nokia????i need help.

Airtel — wrong information about IMEI of my handset

I had a handset Melbon M2 (IMEI [protected]) with dual sims. Airtel is sending a massege of wrong IMEI continuously, while anotherone never send succh massege.
I had also confirmed about IMEI on 53232, as directed by Govt in News papers, and this was found O.K., still Airtel is sending massege of wrong IMEI.
I think this is the policy of Airtel to harase its customerwithout any valid reason.
I am also getting same messages. my mobile number is [protected] and my IMEI is [protected]. When I purchased my phone that time I checked the IMEI and it was there and now How can you say that it is invalid.

Please assess.

Sushil
i bought a mobile from singapore it is china made 2 sim. they give me a imei number
that is
imei [protected]
svn 20
imei [protected]
now i get a msg from airtel your imei is not valid. how to solve is this number is valid or not what shoud i do .

my mobile no is [protected]
I have the same problem. It seems Airtel wants to earn some extra cash. When some customers get their imeis changed at designated centres on payment a part of the cash will go to airtel as commission. We Indians always find a way to cheat fellow Indians.
i recieved the same sms saying that the imei on 2 of my pphones are invalid.
i checked both imei with 53232 and was found valid.
what is up with airtel? govt directive to invalidate a valid imei?
no other network gives these messages. i also have aircel and vodafone and no reports from them yet.
i am vodaphone and airtel customer.my IMEI is [protected] And how can i give valid imei number to the customar
and my hand set of chaina (sigmatel fxd).pls help what should i do.

My Contect Number
same problem of invalid IMEI..
I got a message from airtel service stating that my IMEI is invalid and that i need to get new IMEI from govt approved centres. I purchased my mobile from an authorisd dealer and its been almost six years. How can airtel say that my IMEI is invalid since on checking by dialling *#06# i got my imei number how can it be that it is invalid. I would like the customer service to sort this out.
the cellphone company is Bird and was purchased from an authorized dealer.
solve the problem of my cell imei no my cell number is [protected]
i m from chattishgarh, i have same problem, airtel send me more then 15 sms and its sending continuous ! i have nokia 3230, and i had parches Authorized Dealer !!!

sms send by airtel on my number -

Aaj raat 12 baje se apka handset band kar diya jayega aur ye handset kisi bhi sim par karya nahi karega, apkey SIM ka balance aur validity aap kisi bhi dusre handset ka prayog karke upyog kar sakte hai !!

Priya Upbhokta govt ke niyamanusar aaj raat 12 baje se aapke handset ban kar diye jayenge par aaki sim ka balance & validity ko aap dusre handset ke dwara prayog kar sakte hai !!

aapke handset ka IMSI aaj band kar diya jayega ye handset kisi bhi sim par karya nahi karega kripya apna handset vaidhya IMEI wale handset se badal le ya kisi bhi govt. center se vaidhya IMEI prapt kare. Center ki gjankari ke liye SMS kare HS Pincode aur bhaje 121 par.
I got a call from airtel service provider that that my IMEI is not valid I have checked on international site and also through SMS to 53232 and it is valid . My IMEI no is [protected].
I have failed to get through your customer care @ 121 and also your website customer care doesn't work please help.

I bought a motorola mobile, razr2(v8) from big razr outlet in pune around 1 and a half year back with proper bill and all.
For last few days, i am getting message from my telecom vendor(Airtel) that my phone has invalid imei. i am wondering how could a motorola phone has invalid imei.
My imei number is - [protected](number - [protected], S. Kumar), which i have verified reflects my phone.

I am facing lots of trouble because of this as the phone has stopped working from today. I talk to airtel customer care, they said it's related to some other technical team and they don't have the handset's imei data.This is really frustrating.

-A.
I also got LOT of message for last two weeks saying that my IMEI is invalid and I had to get a new IMEI for my handset. This is quite unacceptable. I do not know whom I should blame. I contacted the customer care and they said I can check my IMEI by sending it to Airtel by SMS. Then I got positive result only. But today onwards I do not get Airtel connection. I believe that Airtel should be loosing a lot of valuable customer. I planned to switch to some mobile service provider.

Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    Airtel Phone
    +91 96 6339 5551
    +91 11 4266 6500 [Head Office]
    +91 11 4666 6100 [Head Office]
    Airtel Address
    20, Sarakki Main Road, JP Nagar 1st Phase, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560078
    View all Airtel contact information