Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Categories Categories Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  Airtel - Fixed Line Connection — Not responding to deactivation request and charging the rental

I requested for telephone shift on 28/04/2009 (Ref No: 220725) and finally deactivation request on 04/05/2009 (Ref No: 77773).

When I requested for telephone shift on 28 April 2009, I was told that it will be shifted within 6 working days. But days passed and I did not hear anything from Airtel on this. I called up on 30 April
2009 to know the status of my request but did not get any suitable
response. I then requested the executive (Jitendar) to log another call with deactivation request which he refused to do.

I called up Airtel Nodal officer Mr Anirban Banerjee’s number on 04/05/2009 and spoke to Mr Sujoy Ghosh. I mentioned it very
clearly during my conversation that as I have handed over the key of my earlier residence to its owner, I will not be responsible for any kind of misuse of the telephone line. As I did not hear from him till 4.30 on the same day, I called up and spoke to Mr Ghosh once more. Mr Ghosh gave me a reference number 677773 which he confirmed was the reference number for deactivation.
He also confirmed that I have to pay INR 58.28 for call usage plus the rental charge till 04/05/2009.

I called wrote to Airtel Customer care on 10 May 2009 to confirm the status of my request and Mr Faizuddin confirmed by saying "We would like to inform that your request regarding
cancellation for Airtel fixed-line [protected] is already registered with reference number 677773 and same is under process."

But till date I have not heard anything about deactivation. I was sent a bill charging full month's rental which comes to Rs 550/-.

I also sent an email to Mr Faizuddin on 30/05/2009 enquiring about why I was charged the full month's rental. But I have not heard from Airtel on this.

Email copied below:

Dear Faizuddin,

I am writing on behalf of my sister Purabi Basu who did a mistake by installing a fixed line connection at home ([protected]).

Please refer to your following email dated 10/05/2009. Please stop texting me and my sister about the bill. We will clear this bill ONLY WHEN WE GET A WRITTEN CONFIRMATION CONVEYING THE DEACTIVATION OF ABOVE MENTIONED FIXED LINE CONNECTION FROM AIRTEL. Please see below the details that I have copied from the online account. It says that the next bill date is 17/06/2009.

Account Number 14323792 Airtel Number [protected]
Customer Name PURABI BASU
Current Outstanding Rs. 465.00
Last Bill Date 18/05/2009
Last Bill Amount Rs. 465.10
Last Bill Due date 08/06/2009
Last Payment Rs. 640.00
Next Bill Date 17/06/2009
View Unbilled Amount
Activate / Deactivate VAS

I need an explanation on this. Airtel neither could transfer the line to our new location nor it could deactivate the line in a month's time. We have not used the telephone line from 29 April 2009 onwards. Why should we pay for Airtel's inefficiency?

If Airtel Kolkata office is not efficient enough to deal with customer concern and is not capable of providing minimum services, please let me know should be contacted for this.

I would expect an early response from Airtel on this.

Regards,

Karabi Basu
M: [protected]
E: [protected]@yahoo.co.in
Was this information helpful?
No (0)
Yes (0)
Aug 14, 2020
Complaint marked as Resolved 
Complaint comments  1 CommentShareTweet

Comments

If any Service as like as http://www.alphatalk.com . i think its better for us.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Airtel
    Customer Care Service
    Customer satisfaction rating
    43%
    Complaints
    50523
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    20201
    Airtel Phone
    +91 96 6339 5551
    +91 11 4266 6500 [Head Office]
    +91 11 4666 6100 [Head Office]
    Airtel Address
    20, Sarakki Main Road, JP Nagar 1st Phase, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560078
    View Full Information
    ADVERTISEMENT