[Resolved]  Bangalore Auto drivers — Bangalore (auto experience)

People are talking more about North Indian being harassed at mumbai. But has anyone ever talked about harassment of non Kannadigas at Bangalore ?

Ask the people who are living there. I am going to present the series of few short stories here and inviting discussion / comments.

Last post was regarding Driving license issue problem.

This is in reference to Auto drivers

Bangalore auto driver is world famous for their cunningness (sorry but I thought it is the best word to describe them.)

once you talk to them in Non-Kannada, they will never ready to go at meter fare. always twice or more than twice to meter rate. Here is a small incidence
One of my known person were going to Chennai on Thursday, was with his wife and 1 year. It was 9.15 pm. They wanted to have an auto from Koramangala, Sarjapur road, Bangalore. They have asked 3 people all said Rs 250/- (whopping 3 times than meter fare). At last we got an auto who agreed to take us to railway station for 1.5 times fare.
They reached station at 10.15 pm and found electronic meter showing Rs 90 /-. The guy taken out two notes of Rs 100 each. Auto person suddenly started asking for Rs 200 /- more than double fare. He denied and auto person started quarreling. He asked for meter card or / and police. Auto driver started threatening and called other auto drivers to join. Seeing many auto driver gathering, He asked his wife to go little far from the place as daughter was just 1 year old. His wife stood 50 meter away from the place. After 5 minutes of quarrel, auto driver snatched both notes and ran away with auto. They were not able to do anything except noting number of auto i.e. KA 02 AA ****.
Yes (2)

I took an auto on 19th of August (Wednesday) from konakuta cross(its near metro on kanakpura main road) at evening 4.45 to go my home which is in Raghuvanhalli. It takes just 18-20 Rs to reach my home from that place.
But the auto I hired was showing 22 Rs. I was not carrying change so i gave the auto driver 100 Rs.He returned me 50 Rs. back and was about to go.When I asked him to return the remaining amount he started abusing me in local language. I argued and told I'l complian it to police. But he refused to give back my amount and keep on abusing me(Although i don't understand kannada but i get to know he is talking sumthn nonsense about my clothes).Also, there wasn't any i-card inside the auto.
I really felt very bad and I'm scared to travel in auto now.
Auto no. KA 05
B 4967
Folks,

we all actually aggravate the problem by NOT complaining to the police. We think why fight for a few rupees and spoil our mood. So we pay up. During the whole day, a lot of people "pay up" thinking on similar lines.

Let me recount what happened to me 2 hours back. I went from Koromangla 80 feet Rd Hanuman temple to Diamond District on airport road taking the flyover loop. Auto charge came to Rs. 31.50 (this is also a bit on the higher side). From diamond district I took an auto back to 80 feet road and got down at Sony world signal i.e. lesser distance. Auto charge came to Rs 34. Both autos had the new digitial meters. I gave Rs.50. The fellow returned Rs. 14 as change. When I asked for remaining 2 rs, he said he does not have change.

So what did I do? Simple.

I coolly got down from the Auto and with my cool & handy Nokia 5800, took a photo of the Auto (KA05 C 3233) with number plate and walked away. No point in burning blood arguing with the bugger because we dont have time and we cannot prove the tampering on the spot.

I called[protected] the Bangalore Police Compaint/Suggestion IVR (Kannada and English).
It allowed me to record my complaint for 1 minute. I gave the details of the incident.
Within 30 minutes, I got a call back on my cell from a police-wala asking more details about the incident. He patiently heard me out and promised to send a notice to the erring auto-wala. I think the fine they can slap on that guy is Rs.500.

Morale of the story ?
The police needs at least a verbal/written complaint from us to act.
So if you think you have been wronged or cheated, ALWAYS register a complaint.

Cheers.
There is an auto stand near silk board... All autio driver demand 100 to come to JP nagar... worse is they start eve teasing girls together...
Yest it was pouring and so many o[censored]s were stranded near silk board and had to walk all the way to JP nagar because the drivers refused to take any passenger..
I strongly feel that all their license should be cancelled and they should never be let to drive an auto again...

auto — AUTO DRIVERS REFUSING TO COME

i travel everyday to office from mulund to thane. everyday i have to wait atleast for half hour outside LIC clolonys mulund east auto stand to get an auto from there to MULUND KOPRI CHECKNAKA. there are atleast 10 to 15 autos standing in the line but none ready to come. fially i have to walk my way through till i find a auto. this has been going on since many years now and i humbly request the concerned people to look in this matter asap.
The auto stand in on Mulund East Mithagar Rd,outside LIC colony.
He denied and auto person started quarreling. Auto driver started threatening and called other auto drivers to join.auto no. KA 03A 8467
autodriver with the above registered vehicle no. used abusive language to me

took extra money illegally n threated to kill when i objected.

As of nw m filing a complaint with n also have registered a FIR in mico layout police station.
PLease took appropriate action againt this autodriver...
m desperately luking 4 yr cooperation...
please cont me i[censored] want any further information...

Thank u ...

Vijaynagar Traffic Police — Grabbing Vehicles

Hello sir!!
I want to complain about a minor, but important matter.My friend studies at NIIT center located near Maruti Mandir.There is a place just outside the center with no "NO PARKING" sign.Yet most of the times some people from Vijaynagar Traffic Police come and take away all the vehicles to the nearest spot,chain them and ask 300Rs to release the vehicles.Shouldn't they first put a NO PARKING board and then take away the vehicles? How are people supposed to know where to park and where not to, without the NO PARKING board ?Sir,please take care of this matter.
This might be a better option:
http://www.easyauto.in/

Bangalore Auto Driver — Bangalore Auto Driver

I need to travel from JP Nagar 1st Phase (On Ring Road) to JP Nagar 3 rd phase (On Ring Road), a distance of 1.5 km daily. Today, I sighted an empty Auto going in the same direction as i needed to go. When i requested him to drop me he said Rs 20/ - I replied calmly "I'll pay as per meter and that would be Rs 14". He immediately replied back "Keep that extra 6 bucks in your lower back". I yelled at him "I shall register a complaint at Police" for that he said "Do as you wish" and rushed away. I am not sure about his Auto number but i think its KA 05 B 574 or 575.

This is my worst ever experience with an auto driver.
I have faced wrost condition in my life. I posted a column here in consumercomplaints.

Here is the auto-rickshaw driver information:

Auto registration no.: 14337/01
DL#: 14584/01
Date, time: 08:25PM
Place/Location: Murgeshpalya, Bangalore

Manoj
This auto driver asked me a fixed amount which I agreed to.Midway he started yelling and misbehaving.He was unhappy about something and started shouting.
I told him I will get down mid way if he has problem.But he still misbehaved and slapped me without any reason.as I didnt knew the local language I didnt confront him.

I am scared to live here because late in the night these auto drivers create a menace.Since you are not familiar with the language they take you for a ride.

His auto no is KA 05 0515.
I am scared again that since now he knows my residential adress a complain might make him take a more drastic step.Who ensures my safety from such maniacs.

My friend in media is the last resort, but I hope is this all we are worth for.

We face racism in our backyard.
I took an auto on 13th Dec from Prasanna theatre(its near in Magadi Road) at evening 7.15 to go my home which is in Vijay nagar. It takes just 15-17 Rs to reach my home from that place.(only 2 KM)
But the auto I hired was showing 30 Rs.And he is riding very fast & behaving indescently.I argued and told I'l complian it to police. But he refused to take them to our destination.and i get down in the middle & given him 30 Rs Regarding extra charge i asked he told for waiting in signal it is going up..Also, there wasn't any i-card inside the auto.
I really felt very bad and I'm scared to travel in auto now.
Auto no. KA 05 09966
They are just
Thanks guys...I will register a complaint now at the above mentioned numbers with the Auto Number.. Hope it is well taken care of !!
Got so pissed with one auto driver this evening..
* No license (the board itself was missing at the back seat of the driver)
* He says he is not the owner of that auto.
* He was drunk
* Already taking 2 times the amount that would come by the meter and on top of that abusing and shouting.
* Used all kinds of disgusting abusing language which one can never even think of.

It was the most horrible experiences ever. It was raining badly and we wanted to get back home fast and get rid of all this but, being only girls in the auto we decided to get down near a market place and asked him to just get lost.
Today 4th Jan2010 one of the bangalore auto (KA-02, 3022) was about to hit me on a head on collision. I was moving on my two wheeler from Navarang circle towards malleswaram, and the auto in opposite direction. Just in the Harischandra ghat circle, This auto driver came totally in wrong direction( towards his rightside of the circle instead of keeping left ) with a high speed even though there was no traffic towards his proper route(left). Some how I could able to manage hitting, the auto fled without even bothering to look what happened, the near by people were insisting to go behind and hit the driver for his negligent driving. I could just able to note down the number. Can concerned authorities please check the negligent driving of this auto KA02 - 3022 ?
i have been in bangalore since 21yrs.
always heard about the auto drivers mess. but today i experienced it,
i was on my scooty. the auto asked for way. since both the sides there were cars and i took time to give way becaause i had to over take and then move left.
that old driver started talking nonsence.
i respected his age. but he crossed his limits and used slang on me.
will not leave this here.

Permitted Auto Rickshaw — Illegal Auto driver

Today I had hired an auto from Mulund checknaka to Chandivali on the way I found the meter running faster than normal, I brought this to the notice of the driver to which he said that the meter was Ok however the fare when I reached Chandivali was far more than normal the meter had run an additional half of the normal fare indication when I asked the auto driver for his details he was not ready to provide. He was not carrying a licence or a permit. When asked for his rickshaw no. he provided the wrong no.
Rickshaw No: MH-03-AA-3670
Permit no: 10620
Driver Name: Mukesh Singh
Resident: Tembhi Pada Bhandup
Other thane the auto no. mentioned on the plate there was no proof he could provide for the information.
Is this safe??
i faced a similar problem, dont know when we will start behaving as only Indians and not as kannadigaas or marathi manas Its highly stupid and we talk about integrity????

i avoided giving auto numbers before, but its high time and for all purpose the auto number is KA04 A1361. Is anybody going to take any action or this site will act as another boring blog site?
This is nothing but regional chauvanism and rowdism showing its ugly head. These guys do not behave in such a aggressive manner with locals.

Another proof of this is - you can see the local population always supports these thugs, will gather in large numbers and shout at you.
This is request to the concerned authority

Im a resident of Atul tower Kandivali west, this is to put into the concerned authorities notice that, we have ladies staying here are really suffering form the eve teasing happening by the auto drivers, and also they speak very rudely, none of the auto drivers are ready to take fares for station and, same happens in evening they are not ready to take fare for atul tower or any near areas to atul tower, whereas if you come in the night or in the eraly morning u would find 200 -300 autos parked here, just one question that if you are not ready to take fares for atul tower or rather say fare for shivaji rd, hw can you park rickshaws here, they have made a halting place for them and its a humble request to shift their parking somewhere else maybe in mahavir nagar or else.

please please look into this matter

auto — Comments

have applied the pan card in the month of january 2007, i have seen my pan card number in the site and they stated that they have dispatched my pan card through post , but i have not received my pan card.
so pls enquiry the matter, and kindly sent my pan card

Name :- Nirbhay Kumar
Acknowledgement No. :- [protected]
Pan No. :- BMAPK3437L