Citibank — INTEREST AND LATE FEE CHARGED WITHOUT SUBMISSION OF STATEMENT

 
3 Reviews
SECUNDEARABAD, Andhra Pradesh, India
 Manish Giridhar
From: Head Customer Care
Sent: ‎29‎ ‎January‎ ‎2013 ‎15‎:‎33
To: sunita giridhar
Subject: RE:'Citibank=[protected]'

Dear Ms. Giridhar,

This is with reference to your mail dated January 17, 2013.

We understand the dissatisfaction you have expressed in the mail. We regret any inconvenience caused.

The statement for June 2012 sent to your e mail address maintained in our records was delivered on June 19, 2012.

The physical statements for your card account for June 2012 was sent to the mailing address through Normal Post and the same was returned undelivered. Hence we are unable to trace the POD details of the shipments.
For security purpose and also to prevent fraudulent transactions, the statements and alert facility for your card account were not sent to you.

We wish to clarify that late payment and interest charges will be levied in the event that the total amount due is not received before the due date.

In light of the above, we regret our inability to accommodate your request for the reversals of the charges


In this regard, we had tried contacting you however, we were unable to reach you at the number maintained in our records.

We request you to provide us your current contact number and available timings for us to contact you. Alternatively, we request you to contact Citiphone for further assistance.

Should you require any further clarification please feel free to write to us.

Sincerely,

Lakshmi S
Head Customer Care

The information contained in this electronic message and any attachments (the "Message") is intended for one or more specific individuals or entities, and may be confidential, proprietary, privileged or otherwise protected by law. If you are not the intended recipient, please notify the sender immediately, delete this Message and do not disclose, distribute, or copy it to any third party or otherwise use this Message. Electronic messages are not secure or error free and can contain viruses or may be delayed, and Citi and its affiliates and/or the sender is not liable for any of these occurrences. Citi and its affiliates and/or the sender have no responsibility for unauthorized access and/or alteration to this communication, nor for any consequence based on or arising from your use of information that may have been illegitimately accessed or altered. The Citi and its affiliates and/or the sender reserve the right to monitor, record, transfer cross border and retain electronic messages
-----Original Message-----
From: sunita giridhar ([protected]@hotmail.com)
Date: Thursday, January 17, 2013 01:03 PM
To: head.[protected]@citi.com (head.[protected]@citi.com)
Subject: RE: Bill payment for my credit card



Dear Lakshmi,
Your statement " Consignee shifted " is wrong . The address available with you is my own house and permanent address.
My not being available in the house when the courier has visited does not imply Consignee has shifted.
My work involves constant travel but I keep visiting Hyderabad regularly.
If I ever I shift, I will intimated my change of address.
My email has Id has not changed. As per your mail, you are to send me my statement in both formats. I have neither received a email bill statement nor a mail verifying with me if I have shifted.
This is clearly a lapse on your side and I am not liable for your failure. Please see my track record of timely bill payments and review the various phone transcripts with me, which you record. I am neither a defaulter nor an absconder.
I will settle my actual bill but I will not pay any penalties or late fees. It is not the amount but in principle I cannot pay for no fault of mine.

If you have no authority to settle this issue, please give me the mobile number and co ordinates the India head of Credit Cards Division, I will take up this matter with him.
Regards
Sunita Giridhar




Date: Wed, 16 Jan 2013 14:22:27 +0530
From: head.[protected]@citi.com
Subject: RE:'Citibank=[protected]' Bill payment for my credit card
To: [protected]@hotmail.com

Dear Ms. Gridhar,


This is with reference to your e-mail dated January 13, 2013.

We wish to submit the following:

* We would like to inform that your Card Account has been registered to receive Statements on both the modes, namely to your Mailing Address and to your email address

Accordingly, we are sending both physical copy and e-statement to the addresses maintained in our records.

However, the physical copy of statements were returned undelivered for the reason "Consignee Shifted".

* For security purpose and to prevent any fraudulent transactions taking place, we have placed your account in a blocked status. Hence the statements for your card account were not generated and sent to you.
* Based on your representation, we have released the blocked and resent the duplicate copy of the Statement for the Month of August 2012 to December 2012 to the Email address and same got delivered.

* We have not received any payment towards the dues in your card for a considerable period of time.

As a consequence, we have closed your card with effect from December 18, 2012.



To date, your card account reflects an outstanding of Rs. 3,868.35.

We request you to effect payment towards this amount.

* As per the terms and conditions, if the payment towards the Total Amount Due does not reach on the Payment Due Date, the system will automatically generate Late Payment Charge and Interest Charges.

In light of the above, we regret our inability to accommodate your request for the reversal of the charge.

Please write to us for any further information / clarification that you may require in this regard.

Sincerely,

Lakshmi S
Head Customer Care - Cards

‘The information contained in this electronic message and any attachments (the "Message") is intended for one or more specific individuals or entities, and may be confidential, proprietary, privileged or otherwise protected by law. If you are not the intended recipient, please notify the sender immediately, delete this Message and do not disclose, distribute, or copy it to any third party or otherwise use this Message. Electronic messages are not secure or error free and can contain viruses or may be delayed, and Citi and its affiliates and/or the sender is not liable for any of these occurrences. Citi and its affiliates and/or the sender have no responsibility for unauthorized access and/or alteration to this communication, nor for any consequence based on or arising from your use of information that may have been illegitimately accessed or altered. The Citi and its affiliates and/or the sender reserve the right to monitor, record, transfer cross border and retain electronic messages'

-----Original Message-----
From: sunita giridhar ([protected]@hotmail.com)
Date: Sunday, January 13, 2013 11:34 AM
To: india.collections.grievance.[protected]@citi.com (india.collections.grievance.[protected]@citi.com)
Subject: Bill payment for my credit card


Dear Sir,
My card no is[protected] 3013.
I was in Hyderabad last month for 2weeks and a Citibank customer service person spoke to me while I was there.
I travel to Sri Lanka and many other places regularly and hence am not easily accessible on the phone.

I had not received any statements from the last 3-4 months on email . The customer service person who contacted me said that if physical statements get returned the email statement also stops. Please note that I travel a lot and hence , make sure I get my email monthly statements. how is it possible to make payments if I do not receive any statements? Finally ,On request , I received my statements but with penalty and late fees . When I spoke to the CSE who had called me , I have explained all this perhaps 3-4 tomes to her, maybe you can check the recording which was done for the improvement of services. I had requested that all late payment fees no penalty be waived off since payment was not made since the statement had not been sent only. I am surprised that I was not ever contacted on mail earlier. Your services are definitely not in order if I am expected to make payment without receiving statements ever......and then when I do receive statements it is with all the penalty ,late fees when the mistake was entirely on your side.
I have never defaulted on my payments in the last many years . My payments are always made online thro a Citibank account.
Kindly send me a single statement immediately without late fees and penalties so I can make the payment immediately.
I am presently in Sri Lanka and am not sure when I will return to India.
Kindly do the needful and please oblige.
Regards
Sunita Giridhar
Complaint comments  2 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

Citibank — late fine & interest

Dear Sir,

I send e-mail on dated[protected], and my Confirmation code is 88430. So please see it.

Thanks

MOHAR KUMAR JHA
Mob: 011-[protected]

citibank cards — late fee charge

Card [protected]

i have been charged rs 300 as late fee though i deposited the cheque of correct amount on 15th march at drop box of lic office cannaught place newdelhi.
please adjust the amount as this is anot a case of late fee. i have nevr defaulted on payments which can be checked at your end.--alok gupta

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    2%
    Complaints
    1528
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    35
    phone
    +91 240 663 4653
    +91 79 2640 4653
    +91 79 2642 2484
    location
    Citibank N.A., P.O. Box No. 4830, Anna Salai Post Office, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India - 600002
    Citibank - INTEREST AND LATE FEE CHARGED WITHOUT SUBMISSION OF STATEMENT