Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  India Today Book Club — Harresment by india today club

I have purchased a 12 book set with 4 encyclopedia CDs for Rs 3198 , for which India Today Book Club had assured me of a free gift of 3 day & 2 night holiday stay in 3 to 5 star hotel package including round air ticket for 3 adults at any location in India from a list of 60 destinations.

I got a Unique Promo ID:[protected]A[protected]
LOGIN WEB ID : 1594803
Order No. : 0GA[protected]
Invoice Date : 10 Oct b2009
Order Date: 9 Oct 2009
WEB No. :[protected]
Membership No.: ITBC09124803

mentioned in the Invoice of parcel received.

Complaint 1.)
I was told that I would get my package detailing the list of locations & Name of Hotels with the parcel .But it had nothing except 12 pirated CDs & pirated copies of books.

Complaint 2.)
The invoice tells us to visit to www.booktoday.in/promos.htm for redeeming this free gift package of hoday.But this link is a fraud as it doesnt accepts the unique promo ID and tells that the details we have entered are wrong.

Complaint 3.)
Invoice tells to contact on[protected] for any assistance, where as this number is also a fake/cheat as no one picks up call & all we hear is an IVR voice line telling us to hold the line as our call in very IMPORTANT to them (may be they should be getting some sort of money for each call we make to them).

Complaint 4.)
I was contacted by India Today Shopping club to purchase a Samsung Touch Screen Phone (from number[protected] with which they were offering me the same free gift of 3 day & 2 night holiday stay in 3 to 5 star hotel package including round air ticket for 3 adults at any location in India from a list of 60 destinations.When I asked the calling agent (naming ALI) about the location of India Today Book Club Office , he was reluctant to tell me the same & after few arguement he said that it is in Connaught Place New Delhi , where as the Invoice I received mentions the address for same as India Today Book Club , B-47 , Indira Enclave, Neb Sarai New Delhi-110068.The agent was giving me wrong informations repeatedly like he told me to go to www.bigcity.in/indiatodaybookclub/holiday to redeem my free gift instead of www.booktoday.in/promos.htm which was mentioned in my Invoice.

Complaint 5.)
When told the calling agent to help me redeem my free promotional gift by instructing me on phone , he said OK and immediately hung up call.(as if he was caught red handedly)

Complaint 6.)
When I was making the purchase on phone with the India Today book club calling agent, I was never told that I m getting this free package of holiday for purchasing the 12 book package.Instead he framed all this a if I am purchasing a 3 day & 2 night holiday stay in 3 to 5 star hotel package including round air ticket for 3 adults at any location in India from a list of 60 destinations.And when I completed the financial transaction of Rs3198 on phone he informed me that I would get a 12 book set with 4 encyclopedia CDs free with this holiday package ( which was completely wrong, false , opposite to actaul real fat that I had actaully purchased a 12 book set/pirated book set.

Complaint 7.)
Each and every link to contact India Today Book Club is fake , fraud and misleading.Even its official website www.indiatodaybookclub.com itself is misleading as it tells to enter LOGIN WEB ID : 1594803 alng with Membership No.: ITBC09124803 to get a usermane/password.Where as after entering these details all we get is a blank web page.I tried this 50 times with 4 different web browsers and I get the same blank page in response.

Complaint 8.)

If the India Today Book Club is officially located in New Delhi the why I was getting all its previous calls from Noida STD code 0120 and why does its phone helpline[protected] doesnt responds??

Complaint 9.)

Why each and every we link to redeem the free gift is fake, why does they always say that entries we have made are wrong.Even the alternate link www.bigcity.in/indiatodaybookclub/holiday also doent accepts any of the credentials provided by this so called indiatodaybookclub.

Complaint 10.)

In my opinion India Today Book Club is a complete fraud, fake , robbing as it shows lucrative offers to give the pirated & rotten goods/CDs for a pinch of bucks.I thinks this could be masterpeice of a terrorist mind to rob Indian money & use it for funding unlawful activities like 9/11 , parliament attack, bomb blasts and helping other Islamic terrorist organisatins.I hink some serious Police/Legal Action must be taken againt this India Today Book Club ASAP because I already read several complaints against it on various consumer complaint forums ( after being its victim ofcourse ).
ITS A COMPLETE FRAUD
ITS A DAY ROBBERY
ITS HAS A SMELL OF SOME CRIMINAL MIND
ITS FAKE
IT DOESNT RESPONDS AFTER PAYMENTS
IT DOESNT HELPS CUSTOMERS AND MISGUIDE THEM

tHEIR EACH AND EVERY FINANCIAL ACTIVITY MUST BE TARCKED BY SOME FINANCIAL OR INVESTIGATION AGENCY APPOINTED BY GOVT. OF INDIA

I NEED MONEY BACK OR SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR ALL HARRASEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 14, 2020
Complaint comments  15 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

India Today Book Club — Non Reciept of books

I had accepted an offer of India Today Book Club for which I made the requisite payments. On 12 sep 2008 they debited my credit card for 574/- (Transaction no. [protected] 3030 345) as per my request for a book set and an offer attached to it. It was suggested it might take 3-5 weeks, but I haven't heard anything from them till now. My address earlier with them was of Chennai and with this order I changed it to my latest address as also mentioned below. L.No 730, DSSC, Wellington, Coonoor, Nilgiris-643231. Surprisingly I got another VPP from them on this changed address, one which I never asked for and thus never collected. How about the order I asked for. My holiday plans were realted to the offer I have paid for. I sent them a mail on 04 Nov 2008, but they have not even bothered to answer my mail. I hope they have decency enough to reply me throug email and let me know what is happening.

India Today Book Club — non receipt of items booked

I have booked Reebock Summer Kit on 23 Mar 09 and the booking ID is[protected]. At the time of booking I was informed that the consignment will be delivered within 21 days. Repeated request have been made on the toll free no on which the item was booked ie [protected]. Every time I get a standard reply that the item will be delivered in next 10 days. 90 days have passed and I am yet to receive the legitamate item for which payment has been made and item not yet received. customers should not be taken for granted by these type of advertisement and company. There should be some provision to go to consumer court and claim compensation for firstly not delivering the items in time secondly wasting so much time and money calling the office of india today club. In spite of such a dismal performance the company is still sending the SMS for more offers. If the items are not delivered to me in next 10 days I shall be compelled to take legal course od action as last resort.

India Today Bookclub Holiday Offer — Misleading by India Today Book Club

As I was about to get married in June, I got a call from India Today Bookclub saying that they have a offer where if I pay Rs. 5943.21 to them, I will be getting a holiday offer which I can use as soon as it arrives on my doorstep as it was explained to the executive (Yuvraj was his name). Hearing that, I placed my order on May 14, 2009, thinking it would suit for my holidays after marriage. He also said it will reach within 4 working days, but I got it only on May 28 and my marriage was on June 12, 2009. But when i received the package, they mentioned that I have to fill up a form and send it to some other third party company and they will send a voucher in 10 working days to my address, then only can I use the offer. It sounded dubious and I called the customer care and told her that what that executive said and what was on offer. She gave me a complaint number also (115899 and order #OGA[protected] and she said they would refund it in 10 working days. After a couple of weeks I again called (I am in Bangalore and making an STD call to Delhi) and she said I need to send the parcel back to them, then only they will look into the matter. The thing was why was I not told before when I called the first time? Why was not I am given proper info on product?

When I asked for refund through e-mail after couriering to them, they are saying they have not received the parcel and when I inquired with the courier company, they said they do not have any info and they said they are not able to trace where it has gone and these guys are not giving me the refund.

Hoping for a solution and refund of my amount.
MY Order no:-OGA[protected] & Membership No-ITBC0981262

I have purchase a tour package of Rs 2598, as per executive, the tour package was inclusive with for 2 adult and 1 child, both side airfare, 3 days 2 night accommodation in 3 or more star hotel. But, after sometime of booking I have received some pirated books of same prices. After registration I have get a holiday voucher. But the holiday voucher is only for 2 night & 3 days stay in AC deluxe room, Accommodation in Twin sharing basis, Welcome drink on arrival, 2 veg meals free for a couple for 2 days including breakfast & dinner, All applicable tax, Stay of 1 child below 5 year is complimentary, Free Local Assistance.
In this voucher there is no any information available about airfare or fare.
Now they say, In this package return air ticket not available.
Every time they told me that they had forwarded my complaint to their concerned department.
I ALSO NEED MONEY BACK OR SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR ALL HARRASEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
this is to say that india today book club is a worst and a fraud company.due manytimes i have prdered, but non of the items reach to me.i may give all my order number-booking id[protected] a samsung touch phone costing around 8900.have called both, the india today and the dart mail, but no one gives a satisfactory answer, just says your order will reach.this order was made on 1st september n they say that it was released on 5th september, so were did the courier go? dart mail says that why did you order such a costly item through courier- thats non of her business.
my other items number
oga[protected] of 2298 reebok suit on 17 sep
oga[protected] of 2199 holiday package on 17 september
oga[protected] of 2199 17 september
oga[protected] of 574 5th september

not a no free gifts, no satisfaction of reply, they should all be given to police
single one have reached me .pls look at this and take a action

aliasghar vajihuddin
I had purchased 12 books set worth Rs. 2598/- on 30th July 2009 having the order no: OGA[protected] and invoice no: ORA[protected] with invoice date 31st July 2009.
I had been told in the offer that I will get a flight ticket worth Rs 7000/- and hotel stay for three (2 adults and a child) worth Rs.5000/-. after login at
india today site with unique no: 1481674A[protected] I downloaded two forms one for hotel and another for flight (attached) and sent it to
Bangalore address as mentioned in the form in the month of august 2009, but there is no response from their end till date.
I would like to know is this the marketing strategy to promote the sellimg the books or do the customer actually get the benefit.
This episode has deterred me from making any deal with ITBC
The flight request form no is IT16006 and Holiday request form has no: ITBC 3837 Attached). Both were send to the address in bangalore by ordinary post in the mid august 2009 but till date the booking order form has not been received by me.(it was supposed to reach within 10 working days)
The non receipt of both the forms have made me not to purchase any further order or promotion from India today.
I HAVE BOOKED WITH INDIATODAY BOOKCLUB SET OF 12 BOOKS @ RS.2598/- IN FEB. 2009. AND RECEIVED ITS ALSO WITH THEIR OFFER FOR 2 NIGHTS 3 DAYS HOLIDAY PACKAGE IN 3/5 STAR HOTELS IN INDIA (AS PER THEIR LISTS).
I HAVE REGISTERED MYSELF WITH BIGCITY, BANGLALORE ( AS PER THEIR INSTRUCTIONS) AND SEND DEMAND DRAFT OF RS. 899/- WITH ALL OLTHER DOCUMENTS REQUIRED BY THEM WITH LIST OF 3 DATES AND DESTINATIONS NAMES AS FOR (1) 27/09/2009 - MUSSORIE (2) 05/10/2009- SHIMLA AND (3) 22/09/2009-MANALI. ALL THESE I HAVE SEND WELL IN TIME ON 06/08/2009. BUT I AM VERY SURPRISED THAT THEY ARE NOT GIVING ANY REPLY FROM THEMSELVES. I HAVE SEND ABOUT 15 TO 20 E-MAILS THEM SO FAR. BUT THEY ARE NOT CONTACTING ANYTHING BY PHONE NOR GIVING REPLY OF MY MAILS.
SOMETIMES THEY ARE REP0LYING ME THAT THERE IS NO AVAILABILITY AT MY PLACE OF CHOICE, SOMETIMES THEY REPLIED THAT MY REQUEST DOCUMENTS RECEIVED BY THEM VERY LATE, HENCE MY REAQUEST MAY BE REJECTED. NOW THEY ARE REPLIYING ME THAT NOW, IN THESE 3 PLACES ARE AVAILABILITY (1) COCHIN (2) MUNAR (3) OOTY. BUT I TOLD THAT IF YOU ARE RELLY WANTS TO GIVE ME YOU MAY GIVE ME FOR APRIL/MAY 2010, OTHEREWISE SENT BACK MY D.D. OF RS. 899/-, AND CANCEL MY REQUEST. BUT THEY ARE REPLYING ME THAT APRIL/MAY IS NOT POSSIBLE, AND IF I WANT TO REFUND M Y D.D., I HAVE TO CONTACT TO INDIATODAY BOOKCLUB, THEN IT MAY BE POSSIBLE.
ALL THESE THEY ARE REPL;YING ME WHEN I AM CONTACTING MYSELF. I HAVE CNTACTED THEM SO MANY TIMES, BUT THEY ARE NOT CONTACTING WITH ME THEMSELVES. WHEN I AM TRYING TO CONTACT TO INDIATODAY BOOKCLUB, I HAVE FAILED TO CONTACT THEM, AS THEIR LINES ARE ALWAYS BUSY.
BY THIS WAY THIS PROVED THAT THEY ARE TOTALY CHEATING WITH CUSTOMERS, NOTHING ELSE.
I AM NEITHER GETTING MY HOLIDAYS BOOKING NOR GETTING MY BOOKING MONEY REFUND FROM THEM.
HENCE SOMETHING SHOULD DO AGAINST THIS TYPE'S CHEATERS.
UNIQUE NO.[protected]A[protected].
ITBC MEMBERSHIP NO. - ITBC09842407.
INVOICE NO. - ORA[protected].
HOLIODAY VOUCHER NO. - ITBC1295
I have booked similary complaint. I am one of the heavy purchasers from India Today Book Club. Purchased worth more than Rs.80, 000/-. Believing their promises that I am the first person to get the price money of Rs.8 lacs and holiday vouchers. Now they say I have to go to www.bigcity.in/indiatoday/holiday giving the vouchers No. So I will make an attempt and come back to you.

In the meanwhile, thank you very much to accept our grievances.

Raghupathy Subramanian
ADVERTISEMENT

India Today Book Club — Non fulfillment of sending books after receipt of payment

The India Today Book Club sent an offer for purchase of a book " The History of the World " in October. I made the payment through credit card. They have collected money from the credit card on 14 th of October. But they have not honored their commitment of sending the book along with freebies as of date. A letter was sent to them to send the book in December. But I have not received any reply. ? A stone in the well.

This behavior on part of India today has made me loose their image of a standard publication.
If they value their esteem they should not let this happen to a single person however big their publication may be.
Good Bye India today - you have lost my vote

V.Srinivasan

INDIA TODAY BOOK CLUB TELEPHONE ORDERS — NON RECEIPT OF PRODUCTS BOOKED

INDIA TODAY BOOK CLUB IS BOOKING SOME PRODUCTS BY TAKING FULL PAYMENT IMMEDIATELY BY USING NON-HUMAN TELEHONE INTERFACE. EVEN AFTER 15 TO 20 DAYS
PRODUCTS ARE NOT DELIVERED
FURTHER EVEN IF YOU MAKE COMPLAINTS NO EXACT DETAILS ARE RECEIVED
NO PROPER ANSWERS ARE GIVEN
VERY BAD EXPERIENCE
MARKETING STAFF GIVES FALSE PROMISES OF SOME REWARD HOWEVER NO SUCH THING
VERY VERY BAD EXPERIENCE

S W KIRLOSKAR
SANGLI MAHARASHTRA
The book as well as free gift of Rs. 11899/- has still not been received at ur end.

Cheuqe no. 916351 dated 25.02.2010 for Rs. 2199/- sent on 26.02.2010 sent though your business reply envelope no.

Pls. check and get back to us asap.

rajni sethi
PA to CMD
Indication Instruments Ltd.
Plot NO. 19, Sector -6,
Faridabad.

India Today Book Club — compl reg non receipt of items booked through order

Dear Sir,
I have placed an order for Reebok Sun Glasses through India Today Book Club worth Rs. 1198/- and the payment was done through Credit Card. This order was placed on dated 4th march 2010 and the Billing id is[protected] and the order no.- BAGITTODAY/0GA[protected] dated 08/03/2010.
I was promised by them that the order will get delivered within 1-2 weeks maximum. After two weeks, I started inquiring about the order and they used to keep giving excuses like- due to audit order is not placed , System is having problem, Item is not available, etc.
I Have followed up a number of times on their Help Line Number [protected], I get the same reply courier has been sent to you but it was returned back. Even they could not provide me the tracking number. I have updated my address four times through E-mail as per their requirement but all in vain
It has become a round robin game where no one is ready to take responsibility and give me a proper reply. I have spent more than Rs. 500/- on telephone calls and other tracking.
Please help me how to lodge a complaint against ITBC .

C A Kashikar
TRA Section,
O/O G M Telecom
Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited
Canara Corner, sharanpur road
NASIK-422002
Maharashtra
Tel[protected],Mob-[protected]
ADVERTISEMENT
Dear Sir,
Look in to the matter and arrange to send items which booked through Billing id is[protected] and the order no.- BAGITTODAY/0GA[protected] dated 08/03/2010.
Chandrakant Kashikar
Can we get together and fight this menace?

Ashish

online shopping unsuccessful.

I buy date 19/09/2014 rs 698 online shopping and my bank account has been debited with 698 rs but no delevery messege return for you.so please cheq this matter im regular custmer of bagittoday. Thanks

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    83%
    Complaints
    881
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    722
    India Today / BagItToday Phone
    +91 12 0407 8000
    India Today / BagItToday Address
    Mediaplex, FC-8, Sector - 16A, Film City, Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India - 201301
    ADVERTISEMENT