Show menu
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

[Resolved]  Indian Postal Department — Postmaster seeking bribe for payment on maturity of MIS A/c's

To
Post Master General
Department of Post and Telegraphs
Samastipur District
Bihar-848114

Sub: Complaint against Ex-Postmaster of Dalsing Sarai, Post Office-848114 : Mr. Gangadhar Jha

Dear Sir

I had two MIS accounts of Rs. 2, 00, 000 and 50, 000 each which matured in January. I visited the Dalsingh Sarai Post Office on April 19. 2008 at 10.00 am in the morning along with my father Shri Jai Jai Kumar Thakur, in whose name the accounts were opened to get the payment for the same as I stay in hyderabad with my parents and visit the place once in a year. On enquiring on the counter it was said that the cash is not available so the payment cannot be made. I explained the urgency of the situation as my marriage was scheduled on 22nd April, 2008 and I needed the money badly. I requested them to issue a cheque in that case so as to enable me to deposit the same in my local bank a/c, but they refused to accept the voucher at the counter. I approached the postmaster for the same and he asked me for some kharcha as the amount was big and will take time for processing which I refused and kept insisting. He rashly told me submit the same at the counter and went out for tea. When I went to the counter they again refused to accept saying that the postmaster has not instructed them. I waited for the postmaster to return and approached him once again. After, insisting for payment for a long time he asked the person at the counter to accept the voucher. The voucher was accepted at the counter, round seal of post office was stamped on it and forwarded to postmaster for signature.

The postmaster kept it pending as I waited outside. After waiting for some time I approached the postmaster again on which insisted on getting the voucher signed by some witness whom the Post Office should know. On enquiring what kind of a person would that be, the postmaster referred to the agents sitting near by for which I knew they would charge. I argued as to why witness was required but he refused to listen to me and insisted on getting signatures of some witness. I approached an agent and somehow managed to get his signature as witness and waited for further processing after submitting the same to the postmaster. The postmaster kept doing other jobs clearing other things that came through agents and openly accepting money for the jobs and kept my job pending. I approached him again on which he said that the amount was huge and will take a long time for processing and that he has worked a lot all these years and cannot do so much work any further. When I argued he threatened me to throw out of the post office. I waited while he did his other jobs. At around 1.00 p.m, he started winding up his work. On seeing this, I approached him once again for payment for which he replied that he does not work after 1.00 p.m on Saturdays. I was surprised at his behaviour and insisted him to write on the voucher as to why my payment was not cleared and why I was kept waiting till now. He refused in the beginning but on insisting, he wrote on the voucher to come on Monday i.e 21.04.2008 and signed. It was no use coming on Monday for me as I was leaving for Baroda(my marriage place) and he very well knew that.

I was able to get my payment smoothly on 25.04.2008 as the postmaster has changed and a new postmaster had taken charge.

I some how managed my marriage and other events without that money but I was shocked at the corrupt behaviour of a postmaster level person.

In view of the above backdrop, I request you to initiate action against Mr. Gangadhar Jha, Ex-Postmaster, Dalsingh Sarai, Post Office so as to avoid other people from meeting the same fate. I will be forced to knock the doors of Banking Ombudsmen and Consumer Courts if appropriate action is not taken against the erring postmaster.

I can produce the Withdrawal form with Post Office Seal, Postmaster’s signature asking me to come on 21.04.2008 (Monday) and witness signature of an agent which was given back to me without being processed as I refused to bribe.

If this is happening to an educated person like me, one can imagine the fate of hapless uneducated rural guys at the hands of such corrupt officials.


Thanks and Regards


Navneet Thakur
Manager
Oriental bank of Commerce
Complaint marked as Resolved 2020-08-14 00:08:19
Complaint comments  13 CommentsShare0Tweet0

Comments

Hello.

I read your story.. Its really bad.. You should take this matter further ahead.
Being a Central Govt. Employee i had purchased a NSC bearing no 6NS/36EE204270, Regd. No- 5141 on dated: 17/01/2002 from Sub Postmaster Govindpura, Bhopal (M.P) Pin No- 462023, during my posting at CIS[censored]nit R.B Airport Bhopal. presently i am residing in Kolkata and submitted an application for withdrawal of maturity value from Santoshpur DSO Pin -700075, Kolkata (W.B) on dated : 08 /12/2007. But till date verification of my NSC has not yet been done by the Santoshpura DSO. Pin 700075. on quarring the matter from the said postoffice they simply reply that they have sent for verifiction of my NSC to Govindpura sub post officepin : 462023. After the lapse of 06 months from the date of submission of my application no verification has been done for which i have been suffering with monetary loss. Request for expediate action in this regard, further delay will force me to knock the door of Consummer Foram.
Try to open an inquiry under RTI (Right to Information) and be rest assured that Mr Postmaster would be punished
dear sir,
i am having a SENIOR CITIZEN SAVING SCHEME account number 1220007 with NETAJI NAGAR POST OFFICE coming under SAROJNI NAGAR NEW DELHI MAIN POST OFFICE.
INCOME TAX is being deducted at source and a TAX DEDUCTION CERTIFICATE was issued to me by the post maste on[protected] for period[protected] to[protected] certifying that an amount of rupees 13 908/ has been deducted ., the deuctions has been made prior to payment of interest at the end of each quarter.MY PAN NUMBER IS ABAPG9676P.
THE DEDEUCTED INTEREST HAS NOT BEEN DEPOSITED IN GOVERNMENT ACCOUNT, AS PER THE INFPRMATION CONVEYED TO ME BY MY INCOME TAX OFFICER IN DELHI.
kindly let us know the date, your reference of deposit in govenment income tax account.
income tax department is asking me to pay this amount.
FOR YOUR IMMEDIATE ACTION TO HELP ME.REGARDS
Dear Sir,

I deposited the cash Rs.37, 500 10 months back.
in my savings account.
I wanted to take the money on.24.03.2009.igo to the post office & asked for withdrawl my money.
his behavior was very poor.then i filled withdrawl challen along with my messanger.
The postmaster has till not giving that money to my messanger.he will tell thosands of reason every day.
Plz do the needful.
Post office branch:Chamarajanagar branch, kothalavadi

Rgds,
Niranjan.
Bangalore.
I am Mahila pradhan Agent and attached with Post Office, Sector-30, Chandigarh-160030. I want to deposit the amount of customers, but they told that our Computer is out of order for one months. Now I am not in position to pay the penelty of all the cutomers. Computer should be repaired in time. Please help.
Thanks.
Fully agree to Nisha Rani's comments.

The postal CLERKS are fed up with their routine job and they are
troubling unnecessary to agents. They treat poor agents worstly.
They announce new rules every 15 days. Today one staff refused to
accept investment of 5 Lacs in Sinior Citizen Scheme, in Mumbai located Post Office stating reason that the investor is residing at Pune.

In fact, according to rule, any one in India can invest his money to any P.O. in India.

I am postal agent. If this staff will not accept investment, I will be
arranging media to speak with him. Now these people should get a lesson.
I complaints of kanpur all postmaster demand the commission part demand to 10-20% cutt the agent commission please take action of illegal demand of commission part.
please send the replay my mail [protected]@gmail.com

Thanks
Agent
Hello friends,
I think all o[censored]s want to have some extra money in our pocket to full
fill our extra expenses and one of the easy ways to earn extra money
is online earning. Yes just spend few minutes a week and one can earn
a good sum of money and that is only by giving your opinions. It is
made possible by www.ramsurvey.com . r
It is a great opportunity as a part time job and doing a multi level
marketing. After joining you will receive two simple surveys weekly,
based on some product and can earn 500/rs. weekly by completing the
survey. One can earn 2000 per month only from the surveys. For
mlm 250/ direct, 500/ binary, . Withdraw directly to
your bank account within 7 days .
Registration: 500
Subscription: 3000 (For 11 months)
Monthly Survey Income: 2000/(11 months)
Direst Sponsored Income: 250
Binary Income: 500.

Visit www.ramsurvey.com
FOR JOINING & DETAILS CALL
Mr.SANDEEP

SPONSOR ID:[protected]
MOBILE [protected]
[protected]@gmail.com
http://www.surveyincome.tk
All o[censored]s want to have some extra money to meet our expenses with so much inflation and one of the easiest ways to earn extra money is by filling online surveys. Yes just spend few minutes a week and you earn a good sum of money just by giving your opinions. It is NOW possible by Speakasiaonline.
Speakasiaonline is the Asia’s largest market research and survey group, registered and certified by ACRA Singapore and one of the most genuine and biggest companies operating in India, registered with Ministry Of Corporate Affairs. Ideal for Retiring, Retired people, Housewives, Working and Business people. Must have the ability to understand English
JOINING-11000
Registration: $20 (Rs.1000/-)
Subscription: $200 (Rs.10000/- For 12 months)
YOU WILL GET 2 SURVEYS EVERY WEEK TO FILL FOR WHICH UR PAID 1000/WEEK SO 4000 PER MONTH U EARN MINIMUM FOR 52 WEEKS WITHOUT REFERING ANYONE!
COMPENSATION PLAN - 4 types of Income
1. Fixed Income - Monthly Survey Income: $80 OR Rs.4000/- PM or Total $960 OR Rs.48000/- in 12 months)
2. Passive Income-1 - Direct Referral Income: Rs.1000 ONE TIME INCENTIVE FOR THE PEOPLE U DIRECTLY REFER (SO UR 10 DIRECT REFERRALS WILL EARN U 10*1000=10000
3. Passive Income-2 - Royalty Income: $1.5(Rs.75/-) per survey filled by your Direct Referrals
4. Residual Income - Binary Income:10% (Additional Team Bonus of Rs.1000 BINARY PER PAIR as your down line grows)
Withdraw directly to your bank account through international bank remittance o[censored]SD to INR.
VERY EASY TO REFER PEOPLE AS WE CAN TELL THEM THAT THEY WILL EARN 4000 PER MONTH FIXED INCOME JUST BY FILLING 2 SURVEYS EVERY WEEK EVEN IF THEY DONT REFER A SINGLE PERSON
Imp note: U can start up with maximum of 3 IDs by your name and maximum of 5 IDs by the name of firm.
Imp note: U can invest maximum of 9 times on a single ID( with the same pack u have started with)
(WEEKLY TWO SURVEYS R COMPULSORY TO GET THE SURVEY INCOME)
For more details visit at the given website.

http://www.speakasiaonline.com

for joining call Mr.sandeep [protected]
visit http://www.surveywork.tk
i am v s reddy presently residing outside chirala. I sent a prescribed withdrawl form alongwith pass book through messenger duly signed, but the post master of chirala is started saying story for not taking action against it. MIS in post office was opened six years back, now it got matured. Dear friends what should i do? i can't got to post office since i have been engaged in very importent work for atleast one month from now with my department (central govt).

NOT DELIVER

I have send one document through SAUDI SPEED Post, fron Saudi arbia to INDIA, NEW DELHI on[protected] TRACKING No.EE[protected]SA Still not deliver please confirm the status my email;[protected]@rawasekhgroup.com [protected]@hotmail.com

registry not delivered

I HAVE SEND REGISTRY ON 22/07/2014 FROM PO-TAPP TAPS COLONY -401504 TO SHRI OM PRAKASH TRIPATHI GORAKHPUR[protected]U.P) BUT TILL NOW MY REGISTRY NOT RECEIVED. REGISTRY NO.( A RM[protected] IN)

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    21%
    Complaints
    5446
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    1130
    India Post Phone
    +91 77 1223 3400
    +91 61 2222 5051
    India Post Address
    Meghdoot Bhawan, Link Road, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110001