Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  Indus Motors / HDFC Bank Ergo — Indifferent & Go to hell attitude

Indifferent & Go to Hell attitude

Dear Sirs,

I am the owner of Maruti 800 - KL 04 N 6996, registered in the name of Satheesh Kumar, my brother.

This was purchased from Indus Motors, Kochi and delivered at Kayamkulam on 31.10.2003.

Within a few days of the purchase, another vehicle made a dent on the back door.

I went to the Indus showroom to get this repaired. To my surprise the Officer there told me that it will cost nearly Rs. 2,500 (two five zero zero rupees) and that I must leave the car there for two days.

From Indus, I went to another workshop at Kayamkulam known as Autocat, and within 1 hour, the Technician there levelled the dent on the back after removing the back glass. They charged me Rs. 100, I got back my vehicle in one hour, and they permitted me to watch the whole exercise.

This was my first bitter experience with Indus and thereafter I visited Indus only for the free services.

All other repairs were done at other places and I have never approached Indus Kayamkulam nor have I claimed any Insurance benefits until 12.12.2009.

On 12.12.09 midnight, I met with an accident and the pictures are given below.

The car went out of control, hit an Electric post, and broke it into two with the left hand side wheel.

By evening of 12.12.09, the car was shifted to Indus motors for repair as advised by a friend of mine and this copied to him - name KHM Ashraf, who is also a surveyor.

On 16.12.09, I contacted M/s. HDFC Ergo, informed them about the accident, and got the Claim No. 331598.

The ERGO surveyor one Mr Rajesh surveyed the damages and by 6.1.10 M/s. Indus motors informed me to take delivery of the vehicle and said that I must pay Rs. 9,500 as my share and the rest will be paid by the Insurance company. To my surprise, neither the Surveyor nor the Technician at Indus involved in this repair has informed me the extend of damages or the cost involved and my share of the kitty. Everything were guarded secrets between Indus & HDFC ERGO.

However, my friend Ashraf, who visited the workshop and assessed the damages knew something more and told me that the battery is also damaged in the impact and see that they are changing it also as I have a legal right for its replacement.

As expected, when I visited Indus to take delivery of the repaired vehicle on 6.1.10, I found that the battery has not been replaced as required. Then I was forced to remove the battery and showed them the leak and the technician involved came with an excuse that the surveyor is not agreeing for the replacement.

I just do not know whether a battery change was already recorded and they are playing a game to fool me and pocket the money.

From my first experience with Indus, I am convinced about this cheating of Insurance firms by people involved -- for a repair that I paid Rs. 100, the Indus masters demanded Rs. 2,500 and promised that the Insurance firm will pay the money.

The car has an AC and Gas connection and I am not aware whether these things are in order after the repair. The major parts of these two additional fittings are on the left side of the vehicle damaged in the accident.

I also feel that the Surveyor involved - Mr. Rajesh - is trying to be smart to be in the good books of the Insurance Company by cheating people who patronise HDFC-ERGO. I understand that this Mr. Rajesh is making more than a lakh every month from Insurance companies. On the other hand my friend cited is not in the good books of Insurance firms as he is more concerned with the rights of the customers.

I am a doctor working at CHC, Thrikunnapuzha, which is 17 kms. away from my home and I drive an average of 80 to 100 kms everyday for various purposes. Unfortunately, my 90-year-old mother had a fall on 15.12.09 and she broke her thighbone and was admitted in a hospital 15 kms away from my home at VSM Hospital, Mavelikara, which is in another direction. So for the last 20 days I was forced to travel more than 150 kms. daily. For this, I was forced to hire a car paying a daily rent of Rs. 600.

As I found out on 6.1.10 that the repair done at Indus was not satisfactory, I left the Indus showroom without taking delivery of the vehicle after showing them the leak in the battery.

To my surprise, no one from Indus Kayamkulam bothered to call me till date and inform me about the progress -- till today - 9.1.10. However, a girl from Kochi Indus Office was calling me regualarly from phone No. [protected] for the last four days to find out whether I was happy or not with the repair work done at Indus Kayamkulam. She used to call me when I am busy with my hospital work and used to tell her to call me after 1 pm. However, she has not done that. Moreover, there is no meaning in telling all these to her.

Hope both the parties involved -- Indus & HDFCERGO -- will take up this issue seriously. My personal loss for hiring the vehicle for my day to day use works out to Rs. 18,000 by now.

Kindly see that I am not driven to other places to get what I deserve.

Regards,

Kishore

Dr. K. Kishore Kumar,
Ashoka Bhavan,
Near MSM College,
Kayamkulam 690502

Ph:[protected], 2446230
Mob: [protected]

Indifferent
Indifferent
ADVERTISEMENT
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 14, 2020
Complaint comments  1 CommentShareTweet

Comments

Indus Motors/HDFC ERGO — Irresponsible attitude

Technicians at Indus are unable to convince the HDFC-ERGO Surveyor to do justice to the customer.
The car shown had a broken battery and the Surveyor is not ready to replace it and the Indus Technicians fixed the broken and leaking battery and want to deliver the car to me. I do not know whether there is some foul play between the tow parties.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    64%
    Complaints
    84
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    53
    HDFC ERGO General Insurance Phone
    1800 2700 700
    1800 2001 999
    +91 22 6638 3600
    HDFC ERGO General Insurance Address
    165-166 Backbay Reclamation, H. T. Parekh Marg, Churchgate, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400020
    ADVERTISEMENT