Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Categories Categories Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  IRCTC.co.in — IRCTC Tatkal booking issue

Hi,

While I was trying to book a Tatkal eTicket from Chennai to Tuticorin (for 23rd June 2009 travel) on 18th June 2009, I was getting compilation error displayed in the screen, because of which I tried booking tickets 5 times and the same error was thrown. I was thinking that booking has not been done since error was thrown in the confirmation page. In order to confirm this, I tried looking at my booking history where I was shocked to see that all 5 times ticket have been booked and confirmed too. I have then immediately cancelled 4 of my eTickets. When I contacted IRCTC to refund the complete amount for cancelled eTickets, Rs.442 * 4 (Rs 1768), they have confirmed to return only Rs.70 per ticket. This is clearly because of the compilation error in IRCTC.co.in site and I would need complete refund. Please help

eTickets Cancelled and for which complete amount to be returned:
[protected]
[protected]
[protected]
[protected]
Was this information helpful?
Yes (0)
Aug 14, 2020
Complaint marked as Resolved 
Complaint comments  10 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

Hi,

While I was trying to book a Tatkal eTicket fromPune toNagpur (for 03 oct 2009 travel) on 04th oct 2009, I was getting compilation error displayed in the screen, because of which I tried booking tickets 5 times and the same error was thrown. I was thinking that booking has not been done since error was thrown in the confirmation page. In order to confirm this, I tried looking at my booking history where I was shocked to see that all 5 times ticket have been booked and confirmed too. I have then immediately cancelled 4 of my eTickets. When I contacted IRCTC to refund the complete amount for cancelled eTickets, R435, This is clearly because of the compilation error in IRCTC.co.in site and I would need complete refund. or send me ticket Please help
irctc site always goes down while booking a tatkal ticket i m trying to log in from last 45 min but browser shows service not available. Page is distorted. no use of such site. it is time waisting better is u go to station and book there.

but i am pretty sure that this site must be working for ticket agents and dalals...

this is called public harrasment...

ban this site never works while booking tatkal.

solution is to upgrade ur systems and bandwidth which irctc will never do. god save public...
I also faced similar problem today morning for about one and a half hour while trying to book the takal ticket for my son by train Trivendrum Rajdhani for 16.10.2009 from Manglore junction to nizamuddin railway station. This is an harresment to the railway passengers. I think it is being done purposefully to benifit Dalals and concerned railway employees.

If CBSE can provide Secondary examination result with approximate hit rate one lack per minutes, why railways fails to do it.

There is an urgent need to be looked by our railway minister.

A K Singhal
Delhi
ADVERTISEMENT
When is this going to be fixed - I'm sure there's nothing behind this but corruption. Information Technology was supposed to eliminate middleman, corruption, make a common man's busy life much easier & reduce paying off to agents/middleman. But it is not happening.

I'm writing this at 8.51 am on 10/23/2009 after going through this same terrible experience 4th time. I was quite happy when online reservation system came in a few years back as I hate to pay agents & stand in long queues fighting with filthy agents in railway reservation office.

My first experience booking a tatkal e-ticket was bad. I was ready at 8.00 am at the correct date from the date of journey but even till 8.15 am when I was trying to book it gave me a message "you can only book after 8.00am" WHAT"S WRONG WITH THE SYSTEM!!! it doesn't read time correctly!!! - computers can't do this mistake but people in the system can make this happen - WHY???

After this I had similar experiences & I thought as the system is new, probably the management is still supporting the agents :-)

I started going again to the reservation counter for any tatkal booking for which I had to be there at the counter at 6.00am to ascertain that I may get a confirmed ticket.

Day before yesterday (10/22/2009, after almost a year) I tried tatkal booking again thinking that the issues I faced earlier would have been fixed in a years time "at the least". BUT NO… - after filling up the - "Plan my travel page" when I clicked on "go" it again said - "you can only book after 8.00am" & the time was 8.03am. I tried logging in again clearing browser's cache & trying different browsers - IE, Chrome & Mozilla. I kept getting the same message till 8.15am & then it got even better - "Service Unavailable".

Today what happened is just too much - right from 8.00 am till 9.00 am I kept getting the "service unavailable" message. At 9.00 I was able to log in but when I searched for trains yet again - "service unavailable message". I called the 24x7 customer support 7 times in a row - they heard my problem once (only half of it) as soon as I said 8.00 am & tatkal they hung up. After that they was just picking the phone & putting it on mute - once I got to talk again but they just said "haan, haan haan" & the hung up… then mute again from the next call… PATHETIC!!!

How can a computer system can say that it is not yet 8.00am when it is well beyond 8.00am - computer's don't do mistakes. It does what we want them to do.

"Service Unavailable" message is a good camouflage too… WHAT IS GOING ON IN THE BACKGROUND - I GUESS EVERYONE KNOWS & KNOWS IT WELL…
ANYBODY LISTENING!!!
Its hell.A very bad service...
Here is a solution, everyone. I was as frustrated as you are, but I tried this instead and it works every time now.

If you're using a PC, Windows Vista (or earlier)

1. Go to "Tools" at top of screen
2. Click on "Clear recent history" (Ctrl+Shift+Del)
3. Choose "Everything"
4. Now click on "Clear now"
5. Once your cache has been deleted (don't worry about what this means), go back to the IRCTC website and try logging in/booking/printing again. It may work fine, as it does for me every time.

All the best! Let me know if this helps some of you!

irctc airline bookings — continuous errors on the site

the irctc airline booking site is full of errors. It is continuoys giving false messages that my credit card has been rejected. One ticket already got booked with the same credit card at their own site. Thereafter i used net banking and this time though my account got debited , the ticket did not get booked for some error. Nad now they say i will get refund only after 5-6 days. If they have so many bugs in the site why have they started operating it resulting to so much inconvenience to the consumers.
please try the website http://irctctips.blogspot.com/ for "SERVICE UNAVAILABLE" problem
HOW TO DELETE BOOKING HISTORY(TICKETS) THOSE WERE NOT NECESSARY(ALREADY JOURNEY WAS COMPLETED)?????
DELETE BOOKING HISTORY(TICKETS) THOSE WERE NOT NECESSARY
MY USER ID IS 'CSCGAISIMA'

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC]
    Customer Care Service
    Customer satisfaction rating
    18%
    Complaints
    9856
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    1729
    Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] Phone
    +91 44 2530 0000
    Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation [IRCTC] Address
    9th Floor, Bank of Baroda Building, 16, Parliament Street, New Delhi, Delhi, India
    View Full Information
    ADVERTISEMENT