ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  Lakme Beauty Salon — Hair Burnt while undergoing relaxation treatment

I had been to the Lakme Beauty Salon located in Banashankari 3rd stage on the 29th of Sep 10 to get a relaxation treatment done.
I went through the entire procedure which lasted for about 3 hours, it was a harrowing experience for me.
While getting the treatment done, i had to go through tremendous amount of pain and burning in my scalp as well, in spite of telling the stylists about the problem, they failed to acknowledge this and continued the treatment which has made my hair flat and it is completely burnt.
I went for the wash which was scheduled today(01st Oct 10) after the wash also my hair situation did not improve, when asked the stylist what happened, they said that the hair is burnt and that they cannot do anything, i was very disappointed and was in tears when i looked at the state of my hair, i have never been treated so shabbily by anyone.
I have nowhere to go now, i wanted to complain to the manager about this, but he was not there and they have asked me to come on the 02nd Oct.
Is there anyone who can help me on what i could do next, i am really disappointed at how i have been treated.
Was this information helpful?
No (0)
Yes (0)
Aug 13, 2020
Complaint marked as Resolved 
Complaint comments 
Share
Tweet

Comments

The Owner,
Lakme Salon, Sindhi Colony,
Sion West, Mumbai-400022.
29.11.2010
Madam,

POOR TREATMENT AND HAIR DAMAGE
HAIR STRAIGHTENING PROCEDURE:

This is to bring to your notice the following facts which have already been told to your manager verbally:
1. I wanted to get my hair straightened and contacted your salon for the same on Tuesday, 10th November 2010. You saw the condition of my hair and assured that my hair will be straightened by professional stylists. You gave me the time slot of 11.00 am on Thursday 11th November 2010 and told me that the fees for this procedure is Rs. 7, 000 .

2. On the appointed time and date (11.00 am on Thursday 11th November 2010) I went to your Salon for the above treatment. The job of straightening my hair was assigned by the Manager to Ms. Shahnaz, employee of your Salon. During the process, she frequently consulted your manager at various steps.

3. On completion of the said process at about 4.00 pm on that day, I was advised by Ms Shahnaz to keep the hair in unwashed condition for next 72 hours . She further advised me to apply Schwarzkopf Repair Rescue shampoo and conditioner. I diligently followed all the instructions given by her.

4. I duly purchased the shampoo at the cost of Rs. 1100/= from the recommended shop and applied it on my hair at the advised time. After shampooing, when I checked my hair I found that it was lifeless and dull and it was not even straight.

5. I (along with my mom Mrs. Alka Gupta) visited your saloon on 16th November 2010 to complain against the same, your manager (Renuka) examined my hair and assured me that there was nothing wrong with the hair or the process and it was done by professional who is fully competent and certified for applying the chemical treatment required for the process. However, I was not convinced because of the condition of my hair being worse than it was before the costly treatment. Ms. Renuka, the manager assured me that they would give me hair spa treatment to put life back into my hair and gave me an appointment for Saturday 20th November 2010.

6. I was, however, not convinced by her response. I was totally devastated when I consulted another hair expert who told me that the condition of the hair indicated overdose (more than required quantity)and long exposure (more than recommended time) to harsh chemicals and there was a likelihood of massive hair fall in the near future. He said that because of overdose of chemicals for longer than recommended period the hair near the scalp had become brittle and weak. He also advised against hair spa treatment and suggested protein treatment instead. I along with my parents (Mr. B K Gupta and Mrs. Alka Gupta) visited your salon again on 17the November and your manager agreed with the fact that instead of hair spa, protein treatment would be given on 19th Nov. 2010 at 11 am.

7. On19th Nov. 2010 at 11 am, I went to your salon and the some treatment was given to me and I was assured that condition of my hair would improve. As I stay in UK and had come on a home visit for a fortnight I left on 21st November for Manchester (UK).



8. Even after 10 days of treatment, I see no straightening of my hair for which very purpose I engaged your services at a huge cost of Rs. 10000/. The hair has started falling excessively whenever I comb it. Your treatment has actually damaged my hair the extent of which I shudder to even think. I am really depressed state because of this damage to my hair. I am not at all satisfied with the condition of my hair after treatment which have not been straightened as per your promise and have rather been damaged by the rather faulty and harsh chemical treatment by an untrained and inexperienced technician. As such there has been grave deficiency of service on the part of the management of the Lakme Salon.

9. Please, therefore, arrange to

i) Refund the amount of Rs. 7, 000/= (Rs Seven thousand only) paid by me for the said treatment to you as the treatment has not resulted in straightening my hair.

ii) Pay damages of Rs.1, 00, 000/- (Rs. One lakh only) on account of deficiency in service, causing permanent damage to my hair.

These amounts should be remitted within a week of your receiving this communication at my parents’ undernoted address in India.
10. In case you don’t do this within the stipulated time I reserve my right to take further action legal through Consumer Grievances Redressal Forum.

11. I authorize my father Mr. B K Gupta to represent my case with you and in any legal forum or media in this case.


Vartika Gupta
73 East Gate, Macclesfield,
Cheshire (SK10 1GD)
gupta.[protected]@gmail.com, [protected]
Premanent Address:
c/o Sh. B K Gupta
604-B2, Samriddhi, SBI Flats
Opp Old Sion Fort, Sion East, Mumbai-400022.
[protected],[protected]
I have faced a similar problem, could you please tell me the out come of this compliant and whether you received any compensation from Lakme?

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    By clicking Submit you agree to our Terms of Use
    Submit
    Lakme
    customer care contact
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    Read more
    66%
    Complaints
    502
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    320
    Lakme Phone
    1-800-1022221
    1-800-228080
    Lakme Address
    PO Box No 1470, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400099
    View all Lakme contact information
    ADVERTISEMENT