Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  LG Electronics / Refrigerator — Damaged refrigerator not replaced, and no refund

My relative, Mr RK Gupta had bought a Double Door LG
Refrigerator (Model Number : GL 405YVQG4) from a dealer (Navrang
Audio Video, D-10, Vikas Marg, Laxmi Nagar) on 8th August 2010.

But when the refrigerator was received, the dealer advised not to open
the carton, till the time a company representative visited.

The company representative visited an opened the carton, and it was
found that :-
- Body dented
- Wheel at the base was broken
- The trolley was broken

The company representative mentioned that it will take ATLEAST 7-10 days for replacement, which I think is unbelievably long time for a replacement.

The dealer when contacted, was completely indifferent about the issue, and stopped responding to calls.

And then the drama started from LG electronics' side.

After the first mail on 15/08/2010, waiting for a response from LG, which never came, I had to personally call up Mr. Sumit Bajaj (Service Manager – Delhi), and he put me in touch with Mr. Kapil Kothari on 19/08/2010.

Mr Kapil, mentioned that he will check with the logistics, and he called back to inform that it is not available in the godown. He mentioned that he will check with the dealer, and later got back to me, that no dealer had it available (which was highly surprising that LG has refrigerators to sell to new customers, and none for a customer who has already paid the full amount atleast 10 days back)

He mentioned that he is getting a new shipment from Pune, and will the refrigerator will be delivered by 22nd August 2010 before 2 PM. Having no respite, the customer agreed to wait.

No communication was received from LG till 22nd Evening, and when I called up Mr. Kothari, and he checked, I got a call from Logistics team, saying that it will be delivered tomorrow (23rd August 2010) for reasons known to LG. Also, we had agreed that a sealed carton to be delivered and opened/checked in customer's presence.

The next day, a piece was sent, in open condition (against earlier commitment of a Sealed piece, and the reason mentioned was it was being checked). After an argument with Mr. Kapil And Mr. Sanjay (from Logistics), the customer agreed, but a deep and visible scratch was found on the door.

When I escalated the issue to the above mentioned people, they mentioned that 'the door' can be changed, with the earlier refrigerator (which was a shocking solution from a company like LG, for a new refrigerator) as they do not have a new refrigerator in their stockyard. Ten minutes later, vegetable tray was also found broken.

Mr Kothari mentioned that there are no refrigerators available in their stock to replace and told us categorically that we will refund the amount (which was no solution in my mind, the customer having invested in search, and then blocked their money for ~20 days).

After repeated arguments, the customer decided that they have had enough of LG's products, and they would want to return both the refrigerators (the earlier damaged and the present piece (damaged again) right away, and take the refund.
At this, Mr. Kothari refused to take the 2 pieces away, mentioning that we will only take away 1 right now, and will only take away the 2nd when they refund, which is highly disgusting and illogical.

I demanded the following :-
- Immediate taking away of both cartons (refused for reasons unexplainable)
- immediate refund to enable the customer to buy a new one (Reason mentioned : the refund will be from LG, which will take 10 days etc etc)
both of which were refused blatantly (in bitter tone), adding that they can't be done anyway, whatever the customer chooses to do.

I demanded that either LG should refund immediately, or at the worst case, ask the dealer to pay up the amount right away.

To which Mr. Kothari mentioned that he will 'check' with the dealer (shocking that LG has no bargaining power in front of its dealers). (I had to argue for a good 40 minutes to get him to ‘check’ with the dealers)

He got back to me the next day, that we can go to the said dealer (Navrang Electronics) and buy something else. to which I flatly refused, that I should be given a free will to choose from where I buy. (having received no response from the dealer, would never want to go back to the same dealer)

At this they expressed complete helplessness and mentioned, that you can do nothing but wait.

Today, its 2nd September, and we have recieved no response either in written form or telephonically, and neither we have recieved the refund amount.

The customer having paid the full amount on 8th August 2010, is still
- Without a damage free refrigerator
- Has a damaged refrigerator which LG would not take away
- No refund to enable new purchase

This kind of a treatment is bizarre and unheard of in customer services, and from a organization that lives by its so-called "Service Standards".
The customer was left to fend for this own, and that too after having paid the amount in advance.

I am completely disappointed by the organization and utterly disgusted and frustrated.
This event has caused me immense mental and emotional trauma (on account of dealing with people from LG), and immense mental harassment.

Any representatives from LG, please take notice and settle the matter.

Customers, please read this and tread with caution. Would not recommend this brand to anyone.


Best regards
Gaurav Aggarwal
+91-[protected]
ADVERTISEMENT
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 13, 2020
Complaint comments  3 Comments     Updated: ShareTweet

Comments

LG Refrigerator — REFRIGERATOR WHEELS

I GIVEN A COMPLANT LAST WEEK .REGARDING REFREGERATOR WHEELS.SERVICEMAN CAME AND TOLD ME THAT WHEELS ARE NOT AVAILABLE. SINCE TWO YEARS THE WHILLS ARE NOT AVAILABLE .I THINK THIS IS 15TH TIME GIVING COMPLAINT.STILL YOU ARE UNABLE TO PROVIDE WHEELS.IHAVE TO THINK ABOUT ALTERNATIVE.I WILL GO TO CUNSUMER COURT.WITH ALL MY COMPLAINT NO.S.

LG — REFRIGERATOR DAMAGE

Dear sir
I bought a refregerator from pathanamthitta on 8/02/2010.same date the legs of refregerator was damaged .i also inform your pathanamthitta branch three or four times but no response in your staffs .so do the needful at your earliest otherwise i will file a case from consumer court
Regards
Santhosh
[protected]

LG — Damage of opening cover

complaint number RNA[protected].Model number-7239ks.Date of purchase -02/08/10. Dealer-Camp corner Pvt Ltd , kolkata.
The above w/machine has developed an identical crack on both sides of the hinges of the cover.since no wear and tear involved the defect is attributed to manufacturing defect.Since the machine is under warraty for three years, you are requested to replace the cover free of cost considering the reputation of the LG products & co.
e mail:[protected]@rediffmail.com

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    62%
    Complaints
    5454
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    3101
    LG Electronics Phone
    +91 12 0256 0941
    +91 12 0256 0940
    +91 12 0256 0900
    LG Electronics Address
    P NO - 51,Surajpur Kasna RD, Udyog Vihar, Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India - 110001
    ADVERTISEMENT