[Resolved]  National Savings certificate — Delay in transfer & encashment

I have purchased NSC of Rs 50, 000 bearing no. 48EE[protected]nos of 10, 000 each) on 02.07.2003 from Igatpuri(PIN 422403) & submitted for maturity encashment at SOUTH EASTERN RLY(PIN 700043) on 8.04.2009 expecting timely encashment on maturity date i.e 02.07.2009, but when I enquired on 24.6.09, the officials told they cannot tell how many more months it will take for verification & transfer.It is very ridiculous that when Postal Dept itself cannot bring a document in 3months then what the other Govt Dept will do who are dependent on Postal service.Moreover will the Postal Dept pay any interest for delay in encashment?

DEPT OF POST — NON TRANSFER OF NATIONAL SAVING CERTIFICATE

I HAD APPLIED FOR TRANSFER OF NATIONAL SAVING CERTIFICATES ON 06.03.09 AT
SUB POSTMASTER
NSIT, DWARKA, DELHI-110078

WITH DETAILS AS FOLLOWS.

NO. OF NSC REGISTRATION NO PURCHASE AMOUNT DATE OF MATURITY

33DD[protected]/- 17.04.09

THE PLACE OF PURCHASE IS

SUB POSTMASTER
BAJPE(MANGALORE), DISTT. SOUTH CANARA, KARNATAKA

THE SAID NSC'S ARE NOT TRANSFERRED TILL DATE, KINDLY DO THE NEEDFUL.

SANJEEV GUPTA
B- 402, ANANT CGHSL,
PLOT NO 25-A, SECTOR 4
DWARKA, DELHI-110075
[protected], [protected]
Dear Sir, Date:-9.7.2009

I have purchased two number of NSE Certificates @ Rs.10, 000.00 each from Kalkagi Post office, New Delhi - 19 on17.3.2003 bearing No-43EE 086058 and 43EE086059 with a maturity date 10.3.2009 when I was posted in Hindustan Paper Corporation Ltd, (A Govt, of India Enterprise) New Delhi. After that I was tranferred to Kolkata.

I have submitted verification letter encashment of NSCs to the Post Mater of Park Street Main Post Office, Kolkata - 16. After a reguler followup with the concerned persons /post master during last four months they are not able to tell the present staus rather than taking proper action.

I surprised how the post office doing funtion. In futer we will not invest in NSC. I also inform you that I have taken personal loan of Rs.50, 000/- with a interest of 12%pa with monthly cumulative interest to met my expenditures.
So you are requested you take up the issue immediatly with concerned persons and arriange to encash the NSCc with a interest of 12% pa with monthly cumulative interest on maturity proceeds for delayed period, I will write letter to Finance Minister/Post Master General / Cosumer Forum etc if further delay.I will expect it should be solved with in a week.

S, Das Mahapatra
Manager - Finance
Hindustan Paper Corporation Ltd.
75-C, Park Street.
Kolkata - 700 016
Mobile No- [protected]
I am also facing the same problem. I have requested of mine NSC since two months back. The maturity date for NSc No. 4Jee[protected] was 27.10.2009. The Purchasing post office was in Bihar. Presently i am posted at delhi and requested for encashment to the Main post office, 1-sansad marg, New Delhi on 25.11.2009. Upon latest enquire on 21.01.2010 i am told that there is nothing certain when it will be encashed. I am in great need of my own money but could not get due to laxity of the postal department.
We are holding the following N.S.Cs. issued in our names payable to either or survivor. These were taken by us from IIM Post Office, Ahmedabad-380 015. We have shifted our residence from Ahmedabad to Bangalore. Therefore copies of these NSCs were submitted to Bhima Nagar P.O. on 30.12.2010 for getting them verified and for making payment on the due dates i.e. on 20.1.2010.

S.No. NSC No. Date Reg. No. Maturity Amount Maturity Date
1. 53-EE-759213 20.1.2004 2649 16010-00 20.1.2010
2. 53-EE-759214 20.1.2004 2650 16010-00 20.1.2010
3. 53-EE-759215 20.1.2004 2651 16010-00 20.1.2010
Total Rs.48030-00

We made enquiries over the phone today i.e. 6.2.2010 with the IIM PO, Ahmedabad. They inform us that the letter under reference has not reached them so far. There is already delay in receiving the payment.

In addition to the above, copies of the following NSCs were also submitted to Jeevan Bhima Nagar P.O on 18.1.2010. for payment after verification. We were informed that these have also been sent to IIM PO, Ahmedabad. But IMM PO, Ahmedabad, confirmed over the phone that the said letter has not reached them. That will result in delay in our receiving payment.

S.No. NSC No. Date Reg. No. Maturity Amount Maturity Date
1. 53-EE-759275 19.2.2004 2692 16010-00 19.2.2010
2. 53-EE-759276 19.2.2004 2693 16010-00 19.2.2010
3. 53-EE-759277 19.2.2004 2694 16010-00 19.2.2010
Total Rs.48030-00
We go to Post Office at Bangalore every day and get disappointed. Will someone frokm the department help.

We seek justice from you in the matter.

[Ramachandran A.A.] [Ananthalakshmi R.]