Show menu
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

Nokia 6708 — Unrepairable

I purchased NOKIA 6708 model on 31st December, 2006 from NOKIA Priority Dealer (15/16, Dr. Nair Road, T. Nagar, Chennai – 600 017). In the first five months, it was working well and later there were problems in respect of incoming calls and SMS.

When I took it to the NOKIA Priority Dealer (where I purchased), I was advised by them to contact the NOKIA Help Line. When I contacted NOKIA helpline several times, they instructed me to follow various trouble shooting methods like switch off and on, remove and reinsert the SIM card, check the call settings, try the SIM with other mobiles, etc. All that worked out to be short lived strategy and the problem persisted. Finally, in October 2007, the problem aggravated and my mobile did not receive any incoming calls. At last, NOKIA Help Line advised me to get in touch with the nearest NOKIA Care.

I went to NOKIA Care (S.R. Trading, No. 101, Eldams Road, Teynampet, Chennai – 600 018) and submitted my NOKIA 6708 mobile for repair. The details of my visits are as follows:

No. of visit Date Job sheet Number
1st Visit 18th October, 2007 [protected]/071018/6
2nd Visit 19th October, 2007 [protected]/071019/1
3rd Visit 21st November, 2007 [protected]/071121/36
4th Visit 6th December, 2007 [protected]/071206/8

Every time my handset was returned but the problem continued. It was twice sent to the Nokia Care Head Office in Chennai. But the problem wasn’t solved.

In the meantime, I contacted NOKIA Customer Care through e-mail at the address furnished in the NOKIA web site and they too advised me to re-submit the handset for repairs. I have given the mobile for repairs for four times and after my several visits finally the NOKIA Care staff agreed that it cannot be repaired and apologized for the hardship and inconvenience caused to me. They added that NOKIA 6708 is a failure model and NOKIA has stopped the production of NOKIA 6708 due to complaints from several customers.

I sent a notice to NOKIA Care and NOKIA priority dealer, explaining the trauma and mental agony that I have gone through. After that, NOKIA Care sent a written reply saying that a new swap mobile is ready for delivery. Based on that, I went to NOKIA Care and was shocked to see the sorry state of the new swap mobile. It looked old, shabby with scratches and when enquired, the NOKIA Care staff said that, it is a reengineered mobile with parts from several mobiles i.e., collection of working parts from various mobiles that has been discarded.

I requested NOKIA to refund my money Rs. 17,200/- as my mobile is unrepairable. But, no response for that. I have all the documents including the email correspondences, job sheet copies, Notice sent to NOKIA, etc to substantiate my case.

In the mean time, I contacted few of the owners of NOKIA 6708 in Chennai. Most of them have some problems with it and are frustrated with the worst service of NOKIA care. I am collecting the details from them to strengthen my case and argument.

I am planning to approach the chennai district consumer court for justice.
Complaint comments  11 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

Nokia 6708 — FAILURE DURING WARRANTY PERIOD

I HAVE TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE OF NOKIA HANDSETS, LAST YEAR IN DEC. 06, I PERCUASED NOKIA-6708, COSTING Rs. 17,000, LAST MONTH, SUDDENDLY IT STARTED PROBLEM IN FUNCTIONING, I WENT TO NOKIA CARE IN GHAZIABAD, THEY ASK ME TO SUBMIT THE HANDSET, JOB SHEET NUMBER[protected]/071013/28, DATED- 13.10.2007, AFTER 15 DAYS, THEY INFORMED ME THAT HAND SET IS DEAD AND WE WILL GIVE YOU NEW HAND SET, AFTER REPEATED CALLS, THEY ARE NOT ANSWERING ME, AND I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANYTHING FROM THEM, IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO HANDLE NOKIA CUSTOMER CARE, THEY EVEN DO NOT PIC UP PHONE CALSS.
I purchases Nokia 6708 in August 2006 and I got a chance to service it in Feb 2007 in Nokia priority center. The serviced it because it was on warranty period then. The issue i had was I didnt receive calls, my colleague would get calls who sits next to me but I will not...my colleageu and I had taken connection from Hutch. This problem occurred many times.. and I had to switch off and switch on the handset...then i would work fine..but soon it will go back to its original state where people will not be able to reach me...
When I contacted the Nokia Priority center at Mount Road, chennai, they agreed to service to mobile, but after 3 weeks they retruned it to me without servicing it... these three weeks they didnt even bother to call me and update me that it cannot be serviced...
I bought this mobile for 21k...I see no sign of help from Nokia (website, customer care, priority center).

Nokia should have the moral responsibility provide support for their product. If they have withdrawn the product from production that doesnt mean that they will not support it...they should have got back the handsets from the owners... and they should have claimed that they produced one more failure model with courage...

Is there a way to get this fixed legally and make nokia the manufacture accountable for his failure product...Consumer should not suffer for the manufactures fault...

Is there a way?
I purchased Nokia 6708 on August 2006 from Nokia priority dealer in Salt Lake Kolkata for about 19000 rupees. Last year I had a problem in swithing on the mobile. I went to Nokia priority dealer when warranty was still there. They fixed the problem.

Few days back my touch screen started working erratically. I took it to my nearest Nokia care center. I was willing to pay for repair. But I was amazed to hear from them that it cannot be repaired. They said no one can repair it.

So much for Nokia brand name and their customer service. You pay for a costly phone and company decides to call off its production and you are in soup, no spare parts.
Hi,
I too have Nokia 6708 and same problem coming for me and after switch off and on the incoming call comes for only one time and every time I have to switch off and switch on the mobile. Please let me know if you get some solution to this problem. I will also communicate you if I get any.
Thanks
Santosh
kum.[protected]@gmail.com
atuly i purhase nokia 6708 about two yr ago. but now the warrent period almost finished. and now i have some problem on hagging the mobile . i also changed my harger but the problem remain. an u tell me anybody pls . what can i do now.
dear sir,

i have seen several messages in the web such as above NOKIA 6708 model . and hve been searching for flashing software in the net,

THE PROBLEM OF MY MOBILE 6708 IS WRITE TEXT...
(and the same problem can been seen at web for nokia 6708)

AS I AM ALWAYS GETTING BACK THE MY MOBILE WIHTOUR REPAING,

such big company should care for his customers, either the company should provide all the software in free of cost or replace our mobile 6708 to maintain its reputation
Dear Friend,

Don't leave them. Thease people are wont bother about customer problems, but they want our money.
Drag them court. File suit on M/s.Noika, for your loss of Money, time and for mental torture.
Even My Nokia 6708 has problems, it does not switch on when i try to switch it on it shows NOKIA screen only and does not get switched on, I do not have the same problem as you all but I too have a problem with 6708. I got it repaired and now within a week it has returned to the same condition

Nokia 6708 — nokia customer care has mess up my handset

I gone for the service and some screen problem in the running condition but they mess up my handset and now it is totally dead. I spend more than Rs.5600/- but they spoil it and now it is in non working condition.
I want the handset as in given condition outer wise i need full amoount of hand set with time consuming which effect to my professional.
I had 6708 mobile. For this i could not able to got even a panel(housing). Touch screen not working offenly.If any one willing to sell only housing. Pls email to [protected]@yahoo.co.in
very very poor response from nokia care better pls buy another brands like samsung, sony, etc...
don't come for nokia

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    3%
    Complaints
    6011
    Pending
    374
    Resolved
    54
    phone
    +91 12 4483 3000
    +91 22 6776 9000
    +91 33 4006 2264
    location
    SP Infocity, Industrial Plot no. 243, Udyog Vihar, Phase 1, Dundahera, Haryana, India - 122016
    Nokia 6708 - Unrepairable