Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Categories Categories Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  Oriental Insurance — Denial of Insurance Claim because of delay in informing the firm

Complaint Details : Claim No. 272500/31/2009/000176
under Policy No. 272500/31/2008/5129
Vehicle No. UP 16 R-0402

My grievance :

All the documents to the company(Oriental Insurance) have been furnished as and when demanded and some of them have been submitted even twice ( NCRB Report Dated 22/Sep/2008 and 21/Jan/2009). The FIR, Both the Keys of the vehicle, FIR duly accepted by the hon'ble court, Letter to RTO (about keeping the file of stolen vehicle in safe custody) and all other required and important documents have been submitted to the Company over this span of 9 months.
Whenever I call the Sector-2, Noida office, i either get no response or a response that the case has not been processed yet" with no further information. The Consumer Commission has clearly stated that "A policy holder who
had filed a police case immediately after the incident cannot be denied claim. You can visit the link http://www.livemint.com/2009/02/18163450/Delay-in-informing-insurance-f.html


The reason given for late intimation to Company" about theft of the above vehicle well explained in the application submitted by me and is very much factual. I am giving the details of incidents in order of chronology.

17-06-08 = Date of Accident
17-06-08 = Intimation given to the Police (Submitted a copy to oriental for this repost)
18-06-08 = Intimation given over phone to
Sunil Mishra, Development Officer,
The Oriental Insurance Company Limited
R: 241199 M: [protected]
I was asked to submit a written application regarding the Accident with a copy of FIR.

19-06-08 = The FIR was written by the Sec-24 Police and was handed over to me in the evening ( Submitted to the Oriental Insurance )
21-06-08 = Saturday, Oriental office closed
22-06-08 = Sunday, Oriental office closed

23-06-08 = The written application was Submitted on Monday morning with a copy of RC, Insurance paper, FIR copy and filled up Motor Claim Form.

After around 9 months of the accident, they have stopped the processing of my claim for no apparent valid reason and they dont entertain any phone call and emails. I have been spending all my time and money in
i) Hiring lawyer to get the FIR duly accepted by the hon'ble court
ii) Taking Leaves from my work and running to the NCRB office for the report
iii) Sending the bank Account Statements, Statements required from witnesses and all other documents demanded by insurance agent (Rajeev Bhusan, Ph: [protected]) .

I reserve the right to take action and demand the claim money and charges for harassment from Oriental Insurance.
Was this information helpful?
No (0)
Yes (0)
Aug 14, 2020
Complaint marked as Resolved 
Complaint comments  2 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

I am a policy holder of Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd., Raiganj Branch, Dist.Uttar Dinajpur, of West Bengal, My Car SANTRO accident with a Truck. But I have no Co-operation from your branch, & very misbehabior from your Branch Manager Mr.SAMIR KUMAR DE, My car no. WB-60B/3838. I am repidately latter in your branch but not reply any written & he is threten me you take any action .
Sir, Please take action against manager MR. De, I wait for your reply & action.
Thanking you,

Yours faithfully,

Pradip Agarwala (Son)
For BIMLA DEVI AGARWALA

Insurance — Statement of Documents

I had requested for the Statement of Documents which I had submitted to Bank for opting Homeloan. There are not ready to acknowledge my written application and not issuing the statement. Very rude behavior and orthodox culture of HDFC Home Loan. I am seriously disappointed for the same.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Oriental Insurance Company
    Customer Care Service
    Customer satisfaction rating
    22%
    Complaints
    582
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    130
    Oriental Insurance Company Phone
    +91 11 3320 8485
    +91 11 4365 9595
    Oriental Insurance Company Address
    Oriental House, A-25/27, Asaf Ali Road, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110002
    View Full Information
    ADVERTISEMENT