Show menu
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

Regional Passport Office Chennai — One of the Worst Service in India

Hi

This is Rajkumar. I have applied passport for my spouse in Regional Passport Office Chennai. When i was applying passport she doesn't have her name attached in a ration card So we have submitted the Bank Stmt. But She was having bank statement for 10 months. The RPO staff asked bank statement for 12 months otherwise give a proof for you previous stay. So we decided to give ration card for her native place from her parents. So there will be two police verification one is in Chennai the present address and the other is Dharmapuri her native place. We applied this by Nov 2007.

The police verification was cleared in Chennai after one month and the status of our file in RPO website is "Your Police Report has cleared. File is under process". But the police report has not cleared in Dharmapuri. After few weeks (Jan 2008) the status in RPO website was Discrepancies in Your File. You will be informed through a letter.

So my wife went to passport office and got appointment with RPO. She spend the whole day in passport office and finally in the evening she got appointment. Then the passport officer said we didn't receive police report from Dharmapuri. So wait for few more weeks.

Then my father-in-law directly went to DSP office Dharmapuri and struggled one and 1/2 months and finnaly the police report has been sent to Chennai from Dharmapuri (By 4th March 2008).

Now 13th March 2008 my wife went to passport office and inquired. The RPO staff saying still we didn't receive the file.

We got frustrated like anythink.

Will the process change ? As a citizen of India why are struggling to get a passport for 5 months.

Is it possible to raise this issue in High Court or Supreme Court. Because there are thousands of people facing the same problem.
Complaint comments  54 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

pass port — didn't get passport

I didn't get my pass port. all the verification have complated. i want to know that what is the states of my pass port now.
yes rajkumar same problem i am facing .
but we can not do anything we can only wait.
it's india
Totally agree. THE WORST SERVICE that no where in the world /no government organisation in the world will behave as these INDIAN government services do. They are still like animals.
Only if this happens to PM & President, they will come to klnow and action on it. unless otherwise there is NO chance that these guys will change towards customers (indian Citizen) who have given them the work and hence bread for their entire family.
I had applied pass port one year before in chennai. before i have received my passport, i transferred to bangalore. in the mean time pass port came to my chennai address & return. as per the instruction of pass port authority i have given my bangalore address proof. they told they will send my pass port to bangalore pass port office & from there i have to collect. it is almost one year has complied. but still they have not transfer to bangalore pass port office.
From experience I confirm that the passport officials are the worst in the world and go into action only when a cricketer or politician or underworld criminal is to be issued a passport. I have seen that Bangladeshis and Sudanese etc get passports very easily
The inefficiency is mind boggling and people are packed and treated as
cattle: uniformly from guards to "officers". It is clear that there are strong undercurrents of corruption. My "Tatkal" Passport came with wrong name and
to correct their mistake it has taken them 3 weeks after I returned it to them,
and they said that it will come in "two days". I have filed a Right to Information
application. I recommend that all those who are facing problems with such agencies file a RTI. It costs only Rs. 10 and they are obliged to provide you an
answer within 30 days, by law. If we flood them with this they may get the message.
dear sir i have apply the passport in date of 14/12/2007. but
i have not recieve the passport.so what is the reason for delay
please mail me to my mail id.
Dear sir,
I want to change my address in the passport issued to me by the R.P.O. Chennai –6. Kindly furnish the documents and the form No. in which I have to apply for the same. What are the timings during which I have to approach the Regional Passport Office Chennai. Whether I have to stand in the common queue for submitting applications to get a fresh passport or there is a separate queue for the same. Kindly state the counter number in which I have contact for the above purpose.

Yours faithfully,
(S. Gunasekaran)
Hi RajKumar,

I Strongly agree with you. My issue is also same kind. I went to RPO Hyd (My native place) to apply my passport, before that i enquired whether i can apply since i am currently staying in Chennai sine 8months. In RPO HYD sr.citizen who helped me in filling form said, legally you should not apply in RPO HYD. He suggested me to apply in RPO-Chennai. I did same in the month os Jan'08. After a month time POlice verification has done in current location, but till date in HYD-police verification is pending. I tried to know the status from RPO chennai, they said file sent to HYD-RPO (One day wasted). I went HYD-RPO on 27th April'08, they said we didnt recieve any application from CHennai-RPO. Again i went to chennai-RPO and tried to find out with APO. He conveyed same thing that file sent to HYD-Commissioner office. ...It is going on like my email...still lots there to share about my struggles but i lost patients in roaming around passport offices and even in writing emails/complaints... no use...

********I believe pleople like me n u who follows rules and went through legal way, has to struggle and face many*********One of my friend who is staying here in chennai, resident of Hyd. Applied directly in HYD, he got his passport in 40days.

God will know when i am going to fly by using my passport...i am missing opportunity to fly from my office...SAAAAD...
I agree.I also struggling to get passport ( I applied passport 130 days ago RPO Chennai), police verification finished 40 days before, still not getting the passport.I have one oppertunity to work in KSA company...what action to take againest passport officer, can u tell me.
I came to know they are working fast for money under curruption...
While applying through post office I submitted standard affidavit in annexure "I" This comprehensively covers tha applicants name, name of father mother address date of bithe address and stay at the given address.This is notarised by notary public and as such legal form. But the staff at Post office refused to accept this document. It is quiet strange that they insist on pass book copy for 12 months when the prescribed form is only copy of the first page of bank pass book.Interpretation of rules are left to the whims and fancies of the staff handling the counters. Unless a revolution takes place nothing will change
How to file a RTI? I ve applied for passport in Chennai..
I strongly agree with you.I have applied passport for my spouse before 4 months.police verification cleared before 3months and last 1and half months they are showing police report cleared and application under process.What the hell is going on in RPO, Chennai?Really such a worst service i have everbeen seen.I have lost my patient.
Hi,
This is Sangeetha. I Have applied for passport on 10th March, 2008 and the police verification have been completed after two months(May 2008). It has been two months completed, after the police verification but still I didn't get my passport. I called to the given landline numbers 28203591, 28203593, 28203594 & 28218844 and no one pickup the call. My friend has applied one month before me and he got his passport. I want to know the proper reason for the delay and I should get my passport very very soon. My file number is W160619. I planned to go for abrod so pls do needful to me as soon as possible. Very very very worst service and worst response to the people.
I am also facing the same problem in case of my wife's passport. Almost 8 times we have approached the chennai passport office in person and gave complaint. But till date no action has been taken. The enquiry say's application has been sent for police verification. But the police officials in our native says that they haven't received the application yet. Now we don't know what to do next? Shame on the indian passport services.
Sir,
I am applying the passport for back 3 months. but still i didnt get the passport. I Assure i give all the details and verify our own address.but cant get the passport still now. i am applying around 4 months. it is very necessary for me to go to abroad for the future life. please give us quickly.
i have applied for my passport 3 months back. but still not got my passport. the police verification got over and the RPO website states, "Your file is under process and will be despatched within 7 days", but those are only words. nothing has happened till now...
i have also got an offer to travel abroad now, and if i dont get the passport i think i will miss the opportunity
Sir,
We are applying the passports File No. H000925 and H000956 on 2.9.08, 4.9.08 respectively, but still we didnt get the passport. we Assure i give all the details and verify our own address.but cant get the passport still now. The police verification was cleared in Cyberabad Police and despatched vide Ref. No 415/IP/VC/SB/CYB/2008 dated 16.10.2008 and SLNos. 34 and 35, the status of our file in RPO website is "police report not recd.It is very necessary for me to go to abroad for the future life. please give us quickly
We have applied for fresh passport on 15-7-08 in villupuram passport office. my application file no is Z606068 and couldnot get the status even after 105 days. i want a passport immedicately. please give suggestions.

passport office jaipur-issue — non receipt of passport submitted for re-issue

I applied for re-issuance of passport on 28.08.2008 at kota post office but till date I have not received the passport back. Along with my application, my brother also applied for the same and he has received the passport on 02.12.2008 but I have not received till date. On enquiry through your site the ststus shows that the Police Enquiry is pending, for re-issuance police enquiry is not required and my brothers passport was issued without police varification. Details are as under:-

Shobhit Gupta (Minor)
File No. W22026708

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    1%
    Complaints
    79
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    1
    phone
    +91 44 2851 3640
    location
    Royala Towers No. 2 and 3, IV Floor, Old No. 785, New No. 158, Anna Salai, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India - 600002
    Regional Passport Office Chennai - One of the Worst Service in India