Show menu
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

[Resolved]  Sony Ericsson W580i Mobile — Got faulty phone

I bought a sony ericsson w580i mobile phone from Subiksha mobiles. on 8/Dec/2007. After one week on 15/Dec/2007 the phone was set dead. I was not able to switch on the phone. I gave the phone for service in the nearest service centre (Shyam electronics , Ambattur). Till today i have not received it back. They say that the spares were not supplied yet by the sony ericsson. The worst of all is the sony ericsson customer service. When i called there was a customer support executive called tanushree from chennai, She did not respond properly. She cut off the phone. When i again called she attended and cut. Is this the way a leading company giving service to the cutomers. Very much dissatisfied with the customer service and the company.
Complaint marked as Resolved 2020-08-13 23:37:51
Complaint comments  16 CommentsShare0Tweet0

Comments

yes i too bought two w580 sets and one of the sets became dead within 15 days. i contacted the sony ericsson indian office and got the replacement. after the six months the other set also went dead. again i got a replacement for that also. dont give the set to service centres. give it to sony ericsson authorised distributor. actually the model w580 itself is a failure model and everybody who bought the model is getting fed up of it. the key pads are also getting broken within 15 days. also many times when we try to attend a incoming call by opening the slide the call gets cut and becomes missed call. w580 is the very worst model. u may contact the following e mail ids for better results. 'prem.[protected]@sonyericsson.com'
u will get better response
Sony Ericsson's Customer Support is so poor.I bougt a W580i in 28 Feb 2008.One Month before my phone automatically switch off when head phone is conneted.I gave it to Sony erricsson customer service centre in last month.due to their unprofession approach I didn't get my phone back.Nokia's customer support system is so quick and efficient.
hey sachin i absolutely agree with you..my phone too yesterday had lines all over its screen...buddy what should i do now its frustrating. ..do reply
I have never before been motivated to write a review in my life however this phone is the worst phone that I have ever owned in my life and AT& T has been unhelpful in fixing it. Lets start by saying within the first week I needed to get a replacement since the screen broke the second day. Then when I was on vacation the bottom part come right off and then the next day it just stopped working. My insurance refused to cover this since a part was missing and had to pay over 50 dollars to do this. And a couple days later the speaker just stopped working. So now my phone works fine but won’t ring or make any noise. I talked to the AT&T and Sony Erickson people and they both refuse to fix my phone since the little dot under the battery went red. I never dropped my phone in a puddle or even had time to get wet in the rain before my speakers stopped working yet because the little red dot (moisture indicator) was detected they are at grounds to refuse fixing the phone. In my opinion this is the worst phone design that I have ever used and will go back to using the black and white phone I used before this which proves to be reliable. The W580i has only been a weight on my shoulders. If you are still convinced and set in your ways on buying this phone go to a store and check it out. Turn the phone over and try to remove the back cover (where the battery resides). When I brought the phone in the first time to get fixed the woman at the store took five minutes trying to pry it open and had to get help from another employee. She said that some of them are hard and others work fine. Thus from my numerous experiences I beg you not to buy the phone. Thanks -Sara

Sony Ericsson-W580i — Faulty mobile phone not being replaced by the service centre

I have purchased sony W580i mobile phone from Hotspot outlet on 29/06/08.Model #W580i, IMEI# [protected]. After 4 days of purchase, I found that the LCD display is faulty with several lines appearing all through. I approached Hotspot store on July 3rd 2008, where Mr Vinay Kumar guided me to approach the Sony service centre since as per them, after 48 hrs they have no responsiblity for any damages, even if it is a manufacturing defect.
I approached sony service centre on July 4th, 2008 and Mr Manish Kanodia told me that this is a common problem with the set, so the LCD will be changed.But till today(20 July 08) they say that the LCD is not available from the company.
I am not able to use my mobile properly as the visibility is very poor and am very frustrated with the services provided by Sony.

Sony Ericsson — Faulty Phone W580i

I had purchased a SonyEricksonW580i on 31/5/08. After a month the LCD conked off & I had submitted it with their Authorised Service Centre "Oren Infotech" at Borivili. The Phone
was returned after 10 days, though the LCD was functioning the
Key Board panel was broken. I suspect the service centre has changed the Panel which was in good condition & substituted it with a damaged one.I took the phone to the Mobile Store
for replacement but was directed to the Sony Service Centre & they have taken the Phone but have not repaired it till date.
The Excuse, they don't have spare Key Board Panel.I would like Sony to live up to the reputation of being Globaly respected Brand and set an example for good business practices in India. This would include disciplinary action against the dealer in question and stronger dealer certification and quality control.
I am facing problem with Sony ericsson W580i. Oftenly it gets hanged. This time it's turned off during call and not switching On. Please suggest how can I switch on this set.

Thank you!
Ram
Hi
I am kiran from hyderabad. i bought sony ericson W 580i phone 2 months back. i am facing some Problems with thios phone .phone is automaticlly switched off and swithed on again. i am facing this problem nearly 15 days on wards. Please suggest me for this issue.


Regrds,
kiran
[protected].
Hi iam imran form coimbatore.I have also bought a SE W580I Phone.My phone camera was not working properly.I gave it for servicing, as mentioned the sony ericcson customer support is the worst i have seen.They are not responding properly.

Sony Ericsson W580i — Faulty Mobile

Respected Sir/Madam,
I purchased a mobile phone “ Sony Ericson W580i Black” Model IMEI No-[protected] on 25th July, 2008 from HOT SPOT RETAIL Ltd (K/2 B, Lajpat Nagar-II, New Delhi – 110024 ) for Rs. 10, 000/- . Please find attached the scanned copy of Invoice. Following have been the issues faced by me with the phone
1. February, 2009: Head Phone stopped working and it took almost 1 month after repeated requests to get a new set of the same.
2. March, 2009: The phone stopped receiving the calls (failed to perform its main function) and the keypad was damaged. I contacted “TECHNOCARE”, a Sony Ericsson service (E-17, Central Market, Lajpat Nagar II, New Delhi). The whole data, back-up, memory, contact list and software were formatted and I was ensured that no problem would occur in the future. The whole process took 1 week.
3. April, 2009: One week after the last repair done by the service centre, the battery of my phone stopped functioning and it used to take 2 minutes for my phone’s battery to discharge completely. Phone used to get switched-off automatically. I don’t know how many calls I had missed because of that.
4. April, 2009: I again contacted “TECHNOCARE”, a Sony Ericsson service (E-17, Central Market, Lajpat Nagar II, New Delhi), for the problem and when I received back the phone (again after 100% formatting, I don’t know how much data has been lost in the process.) my phone’s display was badly damaged and I couldn’t even pick-up the first call. I wonder what they did with my phone.
5. 15th May, 2009: I had contacted “TECHNOCARE” again for the recent issues with mobile and have not been able to receive my mobile even today. I was promised that the phone would be returned in 2-3 days. 1 week has passed and nothing has happened.
6. 18th may, 2009: I contacted “Sony Ericson’s corporate complaint centre” and they registered a complaint (Complaint Id: SE[protected] and promised an action within 48 hours. They haven’t contacted me since then. When I called them up on 21st May, 2009 they informed that I would receive response by 25th May, 2009.
My mobile’s warranty is expected to be expired by 25th July, 2008. After this period I don’t expect any assistance from the company.
So PLEASE HELP…….As a result of this my regular work and my relations with friends, family and loved ones are getting affected.
i bought sony ericsson w580i mobile nearly two week before but it automatic switch off . i think that it is one of third class mobile of india.it price is so high but work is low

W580i — phn not working properly

I bought W580i on 10th jan 09 from mobile store in Noida.After 2 days it started showing some problems.I took my phn to an authorised service in sector-18, Noida.They updated the software of my phn bt again after 3-4 days it started showing the same problem.I again took my phn to the same service station nd again they updated the software and said now it wont create any problem.But after a week or so it started showing the same problem.Now when i went to the same service centre they submitted my phn and said that they wil send the phn to the company to replace its motherboard.I got back my phn after 15-20days and they said that its motherboard has been changed.But again after few days it started showing the same problem and some mre new problems.The problems of my phn is increasing day by day.Now i request you to plz replace my set as it is still in its warranty period.

Sony Ericsson _W580i — Costlier failures

Myself and one of my colleague had purchased the following Mobile handsets from Sony Ericsson distributor in Mar'08.
1) W 200i - IMEI No.[protected]Price Rs. 4900)
2) W580i - IMEI No. [protected] (Price - Rs. 10,300)

2 months back, both the mobiles were not switching on. (Complaints on both handsets with interval of 2 days).

Just a red light in the handset was blinking.
After submiting the handsets to Sony Ericsson authorised service centre, we came to know that there is defect in the motherboard of both the handsets and motherboards of the same need to be relaced.
For this, we will have to pay @ 70 % cost of the handset price.

Thisis really surprising that the defect is in the product and not due to customer usage or abuse since both the mobiles got switched off suddenly.

Why should the customer pay for the defect in Product ? If such failures are going to occur in such a little life of product, then how Sony Ericsson products can be considered as Reliable one? Why should we pay such higher costs for these products ?
It seems like to buy a Sony Ericsson phone is a crime in India atleast in Delhi because of their poor service. First of all there is no list of their service centers on their official website, one needs to call the customer support everytime to know about that which is obviously not toll-free & even they have half information. Secondly they just have 2-3 in whole delhi & their service is pathetic to say atleast. This is my 3rd sony ericsson phone & it is still in warranty & it took me two weeks just to find their service center other than the "lajpat nagar one" which is like an antique shop coz once you give your phone it'll never be repaired or will take whole lot of time & even then it's not sure. Finally i find one in nehru place, Hope it will work otherwise it's better not to buy sonyericsson mobiles in India.
In my view the company needs to do something in terms of their after sale service otherwise the day is not far when the name of this international brand will be washed away from Indian minds especially in mobile sector.

Bad service

test

Sony TV not working

Sony TV not working

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    36%
    Complaints
    6043
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    2151
    Sony India Phone
    +91 99 6793 9629
    +91 90 2912 0629
    Sony India Address
    No 14/43 Hameedia Centre 2nd Floor, Haddows Road, Nungambakkam, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India - 600034