Show menu
Close
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

[Resolved]  Tata Sky — Unable to view Services/Channels

On 26th Mar 2013 late evening the TataSky set top box started downloading latest software. The Download never completed the download even after 2hrs, so I called up the customer care at around 11.30PM.

The next few days nobody contacted from Tata Sky, so called up again on 30th Mar 2013, I was shocked to hear from the customer care that the complaint was not registered so i asked them to register a complaint. I was told a technician would visit my place and he would call me up before coming to my place. at this stage I was not informed by the customer care executive about the charges. After this I immediately checked my TataSky account and I got the second shock, the daily amount was being deducted from my tatasky account even though I was unable to view any channels or packages.

On 1st April 2013 one of the TataSky technician came late in the evening to my house and checked the set top box and told me he has to replace the box but he does not have it right now with him and he would return back tomorrow. The next day he came and replaced the box and found the adapter is not matching with the new set top box pin and he has to replace the adapter and it would be charged seperately.

So after this I was able to view channels only for 1 day and I received a call from customer care on the fix, I told them to revert back the charges from the period 26th March, 2013 to 1st April, 2013 which the cc executive reverted after a long heated argument of around Rs 65.

One day passed and I got another shock when my balance in the tatsky account showed a negative balance of Rs.442, I immediately called the customer care again and I was told the following are the charges

Rs.225 for set top box
Rs.150 for Service charges
Rs.125 for Adapter replacement

I told them that why I was not informed about these charges before fixing they had no answer and why they did not raise a complaint immediately when I called them on 26th March 2013. I refused to pay any service charge at that point for poor service provided and the adapter which I originally had was working fine and the technician had to change as it did not match the set top box.

Finally on 6th April morning I called the customer care again to cancel the connection and refund any amount applicable at the time of returning the set top box, I was told that backend team would get back to cancel the connection.

Nobody called till 7th April 2013 afternoon and I called them back to process the cancel request, the customer care executive said he will forward my call to a supervisor to speak to him. The supervisor told me to recharge for 450 or 500 to reactivate the account as it was deactivated due to low balance and in order to revert back the charges I have to recharge the account, to reactivate and to revert back the charges. The supervisor assured that the following charges would be reverted back as follows and some one would call me from tatasky to update the same

Rs. 150 for service charges
Rs. 125 for adapter
5 days of viewing period from 26th March to 1 April 2013

the following would be deducted from account Rs 225 for Set top box for replacement

However, when I received a call the same day 7th April 2013 I was shocked to hear that only Rs 150 for service charges would be reverted back and the rest of the charges would be still applicable and it would be deducted, by this time I had already recharged the account with Rs.450

I would not only like to get back the money I recharged and cancel the connection I would like a complete refund of the initial security deposit.

Regards
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 13, 2020
Complaint comments  Add a CommentShareTweet

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    45%
    Complaints
    9954
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    4411
    Tata Sky Address
    Unit 301 to 305, 3rd Floor, Windsor, Off C.S.T. Road, Kalina, Santacruz (East), Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400098