[Resolved] Easemytrip.com — inadequate refund on cancelled airline tickets and misinformation

 
1 Review
Delhi, New Delhi District, Delhi, India
 rg_123 on Mar 28, 2019
I had booked a round trip via emt in february 2019 to travel from delhi to mumbai and back. My travel dates were 21st-24th march 2019 and both flights were that of jet airways. After jet airways cancelled my delhi to mumbai flight, i was explicitly promised a full refund of the round trip tickets (With zero cancellation charges) by emt but they later refused to do so. Not only was i forced to pay very high cancellation charges later, but i also had to book alternative flights in the nick of time, which again led to me paying exorbitant fees. The information provided by them was often misleading and wrong and i am utterly disappointed in their service. Emt should refund all the money for my unused tickets.

The detailed description of the incident is as follows:

First, the airline (Jet airways) cancelled my delhi mumbai flight and emt neither gave me a heads up regarding the same, nor tried to contact me in any possible way. I only discovered about the cancellation on my own two days before i was supposed to fly. What kind of travel agent are they really if they cannot even send me an email update regarding the cancelled status of my flight?

Secondly, when i contacted the emt customer care regarding the cancellation, they gave me completely wrong and misleading information regarding the issue of cancellation and refund. I was told that (A) i would not be allowed to partially cancel (For 3 out of 4 passengers) my return tickets because they were under the same booking id (B) i would get full refund (Proof attached) on both of my flights since it was a round trip of which the first flight was cancelled by the airline and also because i had not willingly initiated a cancellation for a personal reason. The emt executive i talked to was so sure about the refund that at no point during the conversation was i even given an option to reschedule my flights, as was being offered by jet airways to many of its customers. The customer care executives were not only ill-informed but also ill-coordinated among each other and every time i tried to get a status update on my refund, i was asked to place a new request.

It was only on their assurance of a full refund, that i ended up booking expensive new tickets (Rs. 7219 + rs. 5372 = rs. 12, 591 for round trip of one passenger) for the purpose of my travel, one day before my trip, which escalated my losses even further.

On 24th march 2019, i found out that emt hadn't actually cancelled my tickets and i was therefore forced to go through the normal cancellation route because of which a hefty cancellation fees of rs. 11, 775 was imposed on me. Again, the customer care refused to take any responsibility and kept asking me to contact the airline even though the airline had made it absolutely clear that all bookings via the travel agent were the travel agent's responsibility.

Emt was fully aware of the fact that i had booked a round trip and therefore it is emt's sole responsibility to make sure that i get fully refunded for my unused tickets. However, so far, they have refused to take ownership and have misled me throughout the process.
Complaint marked as Resolved May 3, 2019

Complaint Status


[Mar 28, 2019] EaseMyTrip.com customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Verified Support
EaseMyTrip.com Customer Care's response, Mar 28, 2019
Dear Sir,
We are sorry for the inconvenience caused.
Please help us with your booking id on our Whatsapp escalation number [protected] so that we can look into the same and can assist you better.
Updated by rg_123, Mar 29, 2019
Where do I get the whatsapp escalation number from?
Complaint comments  Add a Comment     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    90%
    Complaints
    221
    Pending
    6
    Resolved
    198
    phone
    + 91 11 4313 1313
    +91 11 4303 0303
    location
    460, F.I.E Patparganj Industrial Area, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110092
    Easemytrip.com - inadequate refund on cancelled airline tickets and misinformation