Kotak Mahindra Bank — Sudden receipt of sms alerts in sept 2015 regarding acct bal of an acct closed in 2012

 
7 Reviews
Mumbai, Maharashtramumbai, India
 Supriya Mishra
1) Is it a customer’s responsibility that even after a confirmation phone call from branch – officials of KMB Pune – Bhandarkar Road(PBR) regarding RECEIPT of ACCT CLOSURE FORM in September 2012 an account has not been officially closed even 3 years later? 2) In April 2012 on a visit to KMB – PBR branch I was informed my Salary A/C had been converted to a Savings A/C and I had to maintain an AQB of Rs 10, 000. 3) On 27August 2012, when Rs 1, 500 was debited from my Account it led me to discover that my AQB was actually Rs 50, 000 & not Rs 10, 000 as your KMB-PBR branch officials had told me .Is it a customer’s mistake to trust a KMB – official? Should a customer have to lose Rs 1, 500 for wrong information furnished by a callous KMB – official? 4) After 3 harassing visits to KMB Cuttack branch, I submitted the duly signed Account Closure Form to KMB PBR Branch in September 2012. 5) I got a confirmation call about receipt of Account Closure form from KMB – PBR in September 2012 (last week). 6) All correspondence from KMB to my registered number [protected] had stopped after September2012. 7) But suddenly from mid-September 2015 onwards weekly SMS alerts about Account Balance are being sent on [protected] which is no longer used by me. 8) After being informed about the same by the current user of [protected], I emailed service.[protected]@kotak.com regarding the same. Mr Arun Tiwary from KMB – PBR gave me a call on 19th November 2015 and asked me to just send a SECOND ACCOUNT CLOSURE FORM hand – signed by me .I duly sent a hand – signed print out of the form sent across by him . 9) Though he had not specified I had attached an attested copy of my PAN CARD from my end. 10) Mr Arun called up on 9th December, 2015 and informed me to send across only a Account closure letter and mentioned he had dropped me an email regarding the same. 11) But the email contained a DORMANT ACCOUNT ACTIVATION FORM. 12) I have been robbed of Rs 1, 500 due to negligence and wrong information by your bank officials. Why should I be harassed again because some callous and irresponsible official of your bank has not processed my Account Closure form 3 years back which was informed by Mr Arun in the first call from him on 19.Nov.2015? 13) Mr Arun has been informed in the first call on 19Nov2015 that [protected] is no more used by me.So how can you expect me to take his calls if he is calling up on that number?He was also informed I will not be available after 25.Nov.2015.I was on leave and hence I was able to look into this matter.I currently do not have internet facilities at my place of posting and hence would be unable to respond to emails from KMB. 14)I have also sent a written letter to KMB on 19DEc2015 putting in a request to get my Account closed and stop harassing me.Thats was my third correspondence for Account closure My concern has still not been looked into and I am still harassed.I wish no further business with KMB.

Complaint Status


[Dec 30, 2015] Kotak Mahindra Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Updated by Supriya Mishra, Mar 04, 2016
Even after having sent the signed Account Closure form thrice, yet I am still receiving those SMS Alerts.
Updated by Supriya Mishra, Mar 26, 2016
After the update to my complaint on 4.Mar.2016, I got a call from a lady named Neha of KMB who assured me that my complaint would be resolved at the earliest and she would email me the details regarding the documentation required.She also asked me not to raise escalations in the month of March as it affects Performane Review.
I have not yet received any email.All my calls to Neha except one on 18.Mar.2016 went unanswered.
This is my sincere request to KotakMahindraBank to close my account.
My Account Closure form(ACF) submitted in Sept2012 was neither processed nor was I informed about the same.I was misinformed by Kotak staff about my AQB in 2012.After 3 years when the SMS Alerts suddenly restarted out of the blue, I got to know that my 2012 ACF was not processsed.I have again been misinformed by Kotak staff and have been made to submit the ACF two more times in Nov 2015 and Dec2015.
3 ACFs submitted by me have not been processed.This type of customer service is not expected of Kotak group staff.I am getting some reponse from KMB only when I am putting an update to this complaint.Why is my account not being closed?I do not want any further busines with KMB nor would recommend it to anyone.
Updated by Supriya Mishra, Apr 06, 2016
Can I expect my problem to be resolved?
Complaint comments  6 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

Dear Ms. Mishra,

We regert for the inconvenince caused to you.

Trust our grievance redressal team is looking into your concerns.

^Kotak Team
The concerns have not yet been looked into
- Why was the SMS alert regarding Acct Bal of Acct closed in Sept 2012 again delivered to [protected] today morning?
- Mr Arun has been clearly informed in the first call he made on 19Nov2015 that [protected] is not is use by me anymore.Has he not updated my contact number in KMB records?
1. My concern.Is when i had already received an acknowledgement cum confirmation call from kmb - pune bhandarkar road branch in last week of september 2012 about receipt of my account closure form at kmb - pbr branch, how can my account be in dormant/ freeze (whatever you label it as !!!) state even in jan2016?
2. I got only one call in last week in sept2012 stating my account closure form has been received and was assured it has been duly processed.How was i expected to know the form had not been actually processed?
3. The sudden revival of sms alerts thankfully informed to me by the current user of [protected] led me to discover from mr.Arun that my account closure form had not be processed. Why do i have to submit documents again because of irresponsible behavior of some callous kmb official in not actually closing my account?why this harassment to a customer?
4. I was informed by a bank official that these documents are required for account- opening.An aadhar card is not required for account closure? i have made it clear that i wish no further business with kmb.Or is this some fraud?
5. Mr.Arun had asked me to only send a hand-signed account closure form with no mention of any other document.I attached my pan card from my end alongwith the second account closure form on 02dec2015.The receipt of the same was acknowledged by mr. Arun.Why again a third round of documentation?
Dear Ms. Mishra,

At the outset please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.

We would like to inform you that, we have raised the issue to our concerned division for having the same checked and we shall revert to you at the earliest. We request your co-operation in the interim.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Thanks and regards,
Kotak Team

Fraud in the name of credit card

Auto debit of Rs.18000 from account in may 2016 even after settlement in september 2015. The card was not used since then. Spoke with Senior manager of the credit card department and he said to arrange for a reprentative for clearing the issue and now no response from him.
Hi, Apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. We request you to kindly provide your Customer relationship number / Account Number/ Contact number to us at solutions.[protected]@kotak.com enabling us to investigate the matter and assist you further. ^Kotak Team

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    19%
    Complaints
    3290
    Pending
    274
    Resolved
    518
    location
    27 BKC, C 27, G Block, Bandra Kurla Complex, Bandra (E), Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400051
    Kotak Mahindra Bank - Sudden receipt of sms alerts in sept 2015 regarding acct bal of an acct closed in 2012