Nokia India — extremely bad support and repair

 
3 Reviews
India
 Mukul Dube on Oct 18, 2019
I bought a nokia 2.1 phone from amazon.in on 1 dec 2018, and it was delivered to me the next day. It is a low end device, but it was affordable and did what i wanted. Early in september 2019 it developed problems with sound: what i said into the microphone did not reach the number to which i was connected although i could hear the other side. There were no audible indications of incoming calls or messages or of alarms. Saved music files played as they should. As the phone was within the warranty period, nokia service told me that the phone would be collected from my home and returned after repair — all at no cost to me. This pleased me: but the reality turned out to be a nightmare. A man from the courier service (Ecom express) collected the phone on 9 sep 2019 but brought it back two days later saying that there was no imei. The phone has two imeis, but the courier people did not know how to find this information. When i told them about this, they sent a young and clearly ignorant employee who only took photos of the phone and paid no attention to what i tried to say. He left without a word and the phone stayed with me. I had to make still more phone calls (Having put one sim card in an older phone, also by nokia) and complain on the web site before things moved. On 13 sep, an older man came and took away the phone. I was delighted when it came back on 19 september with a job sheet saying "repaired". Indeed my speech was reaching the other side and the sound was working. However, whatever was done to the sound system created a new phenomenon — unwanted sounds some time (30 minutes or more) before each alarm that was set. There were also unwanted sounds after the alarm (Which worked correctly). On 6 october i sent an e-mail message about the matter to [protected]@hmdglobal.com (Hmd, also of finland, now owns the nokia brand).in reply, someone wrote back saying that the phone would be picked up from my home. When this did not happen, i "chatted" with people on the support web site several times until finally i was told, yet again, to take it to the nearest service centre. I had told them, more than once and in writing, that i am 69 years old and a victim of parkinson's disease, but they insist on telling me to run around town to have something set right which they had messed up. My first cell phone was a nokia, as was my second. The first gave trouble, but it was quickly fixed. The second never needed repair. After that i switched to another brand because nokia had closed down. When the brand appeared again, this time owned by hmd global, i was quick to buy what suited me. I now know that the new nokia is nothing like the original nokia.

Complaint Status


[Oct 18, 2019] Nokia India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Updated by Mukul Dube, Dec 01, 2019
ADDED ON 12 Nov 2019

From Nokia Mobile Care, on 6 October 2019

This is to confirm that your repair order with number[protected] is registered and you should keep your mobile phone ready to send it for repairs.The designated logistics provider-ECOM will come & pick up your phone for Repair & deliver it back once repaired.

NOBODY CAME FOR THE PHONE. TEN DAYS LATER I GOT THIS MESSAGE:

From Vishal Singh Chouhan, Nokia Mobile Care, on 16 October 2019

In response to your concern regarding Nokia 2.1, as per our telephonic conversation we have requested you to kindly visit the service center they will check your device physically and will assist you for the same.

My response, also on 16 October:

You people mess up a repair job on a phone and then ask its owner, an old man who cannot move well owing to Parkinson's Disease, to take the damn phone to a Service Centre?. Is this what your warranty is worth? And what the hell was the meaning of the message below [see above for their promise of 6 October]?

THERE WAS NO ANSWER.

Also, a man named Ajey Mehta, Vice President India and APAC, HMD Global, did not respond to a message I sent him on WhatsApp.

ADDED ON 28 NOV 2019

Someone named Koushik Kelkar wrote, on 22 Nov 2019, the regrettably common lie that they had tried several times to call on my phone. I said that I seldom leave my home and that the phone showed no missed calls. There was no need to say that it was a lie. He wrote from a @flex.com address. Evidently Nokia repair work is passed on by HMD Global to Flex, a gigantic organism with many tentacles. This Koushik Kelkar said that if I still wanted "online pickup and repair"(have they developed technology so miraculous that physical object could be picked up and repaired on line? I should send them information about the device: model, IMEI, etc. I wrote back immediately with this information. Six days later, no one has come from their "logistics partner".

ADDED ON 01 DEC 2019

There has been no word from Shriman Kelkar or his ''logistics partner''. I think I now understand the game they are playing. I had sent them the Flipkart seller's invoice, which is dated 1.12.2018. It may be that the warranty is for one year and they were waiting so as to avoid repairing the thing for no more money.
Updated by Mukul Dube, Dec 01, 2019
Sorry, not Flipkart but Amazon.
Complaint comments  2 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

From Nokia Mobile Care, on 6 October 2019

This is to confirm that your repair order with number[protected] is registered and you should keep your mobile phone ready to send it for repairs.The designated logistics provider-ECOM will come & pick up your phone for Repair & deliver it back once repaired.

NOBODY CAME FOR THE PHONE. TEN DAYS LATER I GOT THIS MESSAGE:

From Vishal Singh Chouhan, Nokia Mobile Care, on 16 October 2019

In response to your concern regarding Nokia 2.1, as per our telephonic conversation we have requested you to kindly visit the service center they will check your device physically and will assist you for the same.

My response, also on 16 October:

You people mess up a repair job on a phone and then ask its owner, an old man who cannot move well owing to Parkinson's Disease, to take the damn phone to a Service Centre?. Is this what your warranty is worth? And what the hell was the meaning of the message below [see above for their promise of 6 October]?

THERE WAS NO ANSWER.

Also, a man named Ajey Mehta, Vice President India and APAC, HMD Global, did not respond to a message I sent him on WhatsApp.
ADDED ON 28 NOV 2012

Someone named Koushik Kelkar wrote, on 22 Nov 2012, the regrettably common lie that they had tried several times to call on my phone. I said that I seldom leave my home and that the phone showed no missed calls. There was no need to say that it was a lie. He wrote from a @flex.com address. Evidently Nokia repair work is passed on by HMD Global to Flex, a gigantic organism with many tentacles. This Koushik Kelkar said that if I still wanted "online pickup and repair"(have they developed technology so miraculous that physical object could be picked up and repaired on line? I should send them information about the device: model, IMEI, etc. I wrote back immediately with this information. Six days later, no one has come from their "logistics partner".

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    3%
    Complaints
    5956
    Pending
    374
    Resolved
    54
    phone
    +91 12 4483 3000
    +91 22 6776 9000
    +91 33 4006 2264
    location
    SP Infocity, Industrial Plot no. 243, Udyog Vihar, Phase 1, Dundahera, Haryana, India - 122016
    Nokia India - extremely bad support and repair