[Resolved]  Hathway Cable TV Set Top Box Model C9700n — TECHNICAL FAILURE OF SET TOP BOX UNDER WARRANTY PERIOD

Address:Mumbai Suburban, Maharashtra

THE DETAILS STATED IN THE TWO EMAILS SENT TO THE COMPANY ARE SELF EXPLANATORY.

Hathway set top box C9700N was certified defective by the company's technicians. thus our cable TV is not operational since last one week. The set top box was installed in the month of July 2012 and should be replaced immediately by the company as its under warranty. All our follow ups at their call center and emails (attached below) were futile. In spite of these communications the company has not even bothered to contact us or send a reply email. If this is the treatment meted out to educated and informed customers like us , We can only imagine the fate of our unsuspecting / gullible brethren.

The cable operator has sold the set top boxes without any invoice / delivery note or receipt of payments to the entire locality (we are sure it has been done on a very large scale in many more localities) thus evading huge amounts in terms of taxes, octroi & other levies and duped the government.

We are confident that there are many other customers with similar grievances, but have avoided the hassle of complaining and making this issue public, as the device is a low value article ( approx Rs 1500/- in Mumbai) people just pay up and get away with it, Thus the company and their cable operators are now used to turning a blind eye towards any customer requesting warranty / after sales services.

But someone had to bring these issues to the notice of concerned government departments and customers who blindly believe the fake commitments given by their cable operators / employees who install these units.
and ask payment in cash and when you ask for bill /documents, they announce " FIKAR MAT KARO - HUM HAI NA"
Each house hold has one or more than one set top box installed, the population of these devices is huge and so are the profits and the consequential issues of customers.
============================================================================
Sent: Monday, April 08, 2013 5:11 PM
To: [protected]@hathway.net; helpline.[protected]@hathway.net
Subject: Technical failure of Hathway set top box model : C9700n

The Concerned Manager/Authority,
M/s Hathway Cable & Datacom Ltd.
Santacruz (W), Mumbai.

Our Reference : ADMR/MUM/ CONS-FOR/413 Date : 8 th April 2013.

Subject : Technical failure of Hathway set top box model C9700n.

Details of Article / Equipment :
Hathway set top box Model No : C9700n, Installation date - July 2012
markings on bar code label/ sticker pasted on the base/bottom of the unit:
C9700N[protected] NDS[protected]

SMART CARD No : 0000 3839 9515

Customers details : Mrs Jayalaxmi Donpal, Resident of Manipada, Opp Mumbai university, Kalina, Santacruz (E), Mumbai 400098.

Sir's

With reference to the above cited subject and the relevant references thereof. We wish to bring to your kind notice the following facts and incidences.

1) Our cable TV connection failed to work on 5/4/2013 - Friday, It was immediately brought to the notice of the local cable operator / service provider. their collection boy tried to rectify it, but without any success. thereon they resorted to evasion tactics and delayed the issue until today.

2) Today they deputed some "regular" technicians, They checked the the entire cabling with their test instrument and concluded the cable/wire was OK, They then connected a service set top box and tested our connection the connection worked fine.
The final conclusion was that the SET TOP BOX IS DEFECTIVE.

3) The trio of the two technicians and the collection boy asked for Rs 1800+ other charges for replacing the set top box. which was installed just 8 months ago.

4) The technicians lied about the warranty period, Which they claimed is only 3 months. whereas several reliable sources have confirmed that the company's warranty for this item is for a period of 12 months from the date of installation.

The cable operator/ service provider do not conduct their business operations in a professional/legal manner. They do not issue any cash payment receipts, invoices for sales/delivery of set top box, or any documents pertaining to warranty or after sales service etc. Its seems unbelievable that a company of your repute has tied up with such disorganized entities who seem take pleasure in causing inconvenience to unsuspecting customers.

We request you to kindly provide us a solution to our problem by replacing the defective set top box with a working unit as its under warranty period.
Kindly initiate some prompt action in this regard and resolve this issue at the earliest.

Thanking you for you kind attention to this matter. and anticipating a favorable and prompt action.

Mrs Jayalaxmi Donpal. [protected]

=========================================================================
SECOND EMAIL

Re: Technical failure of Hathway set top box model : C9700n
From pcsmith [protected]@aol.inhide details
To helpline_executive [protected]@hathway.net

Sir's

With reference to our grievance pertaining to our set top box attached below. We regret to mention that in spite of waiting patiently for more than 24 hours,Which is the standard TAT / response time for companies to respond to their customer complaints.
Our communication seems to have failed to invoke any interest in your concerned staff. We are yet to receive a confirmation of receiving our email or some action being devised to resolve our issue.

We request you to kindly communicate with us openly in this matter, To enable us to decide our further course of action. If this matter needs further escalation kindly instruct us accordingly.

We shall await your response until 12 pm tomorrow. thereafter we shall be constrained to conclude your total disinterest towards our case.

Regards & Best Wishes,

TV Cable Service — Failed connection

I have been without the TV Cable service for the past more than 24 hours and have made several attempts to get help and attention by telephoning but could not get any live person in spite of holding for many minutes at various times of the day but given up with frustration. All I could hear was the pre-recorded message "All our Officers are busy with other cusomers". I wonder what the "Officers" are doing (or gone) for several minutes at various times of the day. The cable Box seems to be at fault. Please send help and service person to Flat 12A1, Richmond (SFS) Apts., Sasthamanagalam. I am really tired of trying several several times. Do please respond by email and send the help ASAP as otherwise it will be another day more that I will be without service. Thanks.

Balachandran Nair ([protected]@gmail.com)

Hathway
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    30%
    Hathway Phone
    +91 25 3252 0310
    +91 11 6165 6655
    +91 25 3252 0330
    Hathway Address
    "Rahejas", 4th Floor, Main Avenue, Santacruz (W), Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400054
    View all Hathway contact information