Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  Skoda India — Manufacturing defect of a new car

Dear Sir,

Subject : Compliant regarding my Skoda Rapid Ambition purchased on 15.02.2016 from Jia Auto Sales Pvt. Limited of 2/3, Judges Court Road, Ground Floor Divine Bliss, Kolkata-700 027 and also its showroom at 84/1A, Topsia Road, (South), Trinity Plaza Building, Ground Floor, Kolkata-700 046.

Kindly note that I have purchased Skoda Rapid Ambition from your authorized dealer Jia Auto Sales Pvt. Limited from its Showroom at 84/1A, Topsia Road, (South), Trinity Plaza Building, Ground Floor, Kolkata- 700046. The details of the car are as follows :

VIN TMBBULNA4FG021059
Model RAPID-RP_ABNMT15DA
Invoice No. CAL03-147
Mfg. Month NOV
Engine CWX 123198
Color Brilliant Silver
Mfg. Year 2015

Though I had booked the car on 25.01.2016 and had specifically requested to the dealer to provide me with a car manufactured in the year 2016, but the dealer had forcibly compelled to accept a car manufactured in the year 2015 on 15.02.2016, without any pre-inspection of the car before its delivery. The said car was delivered to my address at Greenfield City on 15.02.2016. Even though I was unwilling to accept such delivery due to the unprofessional behaviour but the brand value of SKODA prevailed in my mind and I accept the said car. However from the very next morning of delivery/purchase of the car, I found some noise form the rear break drums of the car. I had to garage the car on 16.02.2016 with Jia Auto Sales Pvt. Limited, the dealer which they returned after purported repair the very same day but was again garaged on the same day due to the problems in the brakes of the car which was and is still persisting.

The car had to be garaged for five times in the next six months with the Jia Auto Sales Pvt. Limited, the dealer. A brand new car was stripped open to detect the mechanics and technical team to identify the problem, numerous times, along with road tests and even keeping the car in the workshop for various other tests both by the technical teams of Jia Auto Sales Pvt. Limited and Skoda India Limited.

I had sent amongst various persuasions two emails to the sales department of Jia Auto Sales Pvt. Limited and also to their General Manager and have further requested them to take up the problem with your highest authorities and have also spoken to the officers of Skoda India Limited over telephone.

Finally in the month of September 2016 I had been let known from both the dealer as well as your representative over phone that the braking problems in my car cannot be fixed. Kindly note the main component of the drivability of a car is its Brakes and Steering which are automatically controlled, which when becomes defective makes the car completely unsafe & unworthy. The breaking problem was reported since the very next day of delivery of a brand new car to the dealership. The car was reported with defective brake attachments on the very second day of delivery. Both the rear brake drums and the front wheel disc had to be replaced. A part of the steering attachment also had to be replaced. Many other defects of various natures were also reported. All the problems remains unresolved till date and the car delivered to me was ridden with manufacturing defects and as such I have been very dissatisfied with the product and the service provided by you and I feel defrauded. Even due to the malfunctioning of the break I faced two severe accidents in the high road while returning from your workshop.

You are requested to replace the said car with a car of equivalent or higher model or pay me a sum of Rs. 15, 00, 000/- which is the price of a new car along with a sum of Rs. 5, 00, 000/- as compensation plus Rs. 3, 00, 000/- as compensation due to my mental and physical harassment within seven days here from. It is pertinent to mention that I am still continuing the payment of EMI.

In the event you fail to comply with my aforementioned request I shall have no other alternative but to pursue legal recourse against the dealer Jia Auto Sales Pvt. Limited and your company, Skoda India Limited which may be of Civil and Criminal in nature, as may be advised.

Thanking you.
Sincerely
Major Arnabesh Mitra
ADVERTISEMENT
Complaint marked as Resolved Mar 2, 2017

Complaint Status


[Jan 25, 2017] Skoda India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Verified Support
Skoda India Customer Care's response Jan 27, 2017
Dear Arnabesh,

Kindly share your car registration number and contact details. Accordingly we will have our service representatives will connect with you.

Regards,
Skoda India
Complaint comments  2 Comments     Updated: ShareTweet

Comments

It is the worst brand I have ever used. Even I am going to sue the company as they are selling the faulty product and replace the same to new vehicles after detecting and are not willing to replace for the cars manufactured and sold before detecting the fault. They have sold Rapid vehicle with defective fuel injectors till June 2012 and have used new brand injectors in new vehicles and they are not ready to recall the manufactured before June 2012. They are charging upto one lakh for replacement for old vehicles.

One advice for Skoda buyers please don't buy Skoda products or be ready to give 4 to 5 lakhs to the company as parts cost in 4 to 5 years. So if your car price is 10 lakh be ready to spend 5 lakhs on parts and labour in next 5 years
this skoda is such an idiotic over-rated brand...my new car have a manufacturing defect i told them to check and sort it out but the technicians who came to check the car gave me a suggestion to switch off the engine and start again when ever yu face this problem it seems... i sent it to workshop cause i didn't want to use my car like that way... later on i got a call from the servicing center saying there's a technical problem n some ### it ll cost 50k for repair...when i did my back ground research and asked them in detail they saying they gave me good will to make me happy as a customer which doest make any sense...i wish i could help customers like me to sue the company baap!!!

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Skoda India
    Customer Care Service
    Customer satisfaction rating
    71%
    Complaints
    1016
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    715
    Skoda India Phone
    1800 209 4646
    1800 102 6464
    Skoda India Address
    A-1 / 1, M.I.D.C., Five Star Industrial Area, Shendra, Aurangabad, Maharashtra, India - 431 201
    View Full Information
    ADVERTISEMENT