[Resolved]  Skoda India — skoda octavia - mh-02-dw-4772

We have purchased the above vehicle in march 2015 from autobahn skoda, andheri (West). The vehicle is purchased in the name of the company but is used by the undersigned.

While the vehicle is very good per se, we are extremely disgusted with the after-sales service provided by autobahn. Each time the vehicle has been given for some repair or service, we are handed a fat bill for repairs which seem to be unwarranted for. But because of the fear of losing out on the warranty, we have never taken a second opinion and have got the repairs as suggested by the service centre. But at the same time also felt that a new vehicle should not warrant so many repairs as the car is used within city limits with an occasional long drive.in fact, a friend of ours, who has had a bitter experience, adviced us that next time there is a problem, we should take a second opinion.

On friday, august 18, 2017, the ac of the car stopped cooling. My son, alongwith the driver examined the vehicle and spotted a hole in the coil. The blower was working. We took an appointment with autobahn – jogeshwari and delivered the car on tuesday, august 22, 2017 at about 2.15 p. M. From tuesday to thursday morning there was no call from autobahn as to what the problem was. I spoke to the receptionist on wednesday evening and also tried calling up some other numbers but did not get any information about what the problem was. I was informed that the vehicle was under the charge of one - mr. Ajay singh.

When i called up on thursday and spoke to mr. Ajay singh, he stated that he had just received the diagnostic report and besides the coil, the condenser was also damaged. When i asked him how the condenser was damaged, he stated that there was an impact damage. I told him that the car did not meet with any accident and the condenser being made of metal so where was the question of any impact damage. He had no answer to that and sent me an estimate cost of repairs of rs. 57, 250/-.

We felt that something was wrong so called back the car. And to top it all, we were charged rs. 2, 000/- for doing the evaluation of the problem.

We took the car to the garage where other company cars are given and on opening up, saw that the condenser had been torn. This seems like it was ripped across by a screw driver or some sharp metal or while testing the pressure in the condenser, too much pressure was built up which has caused it to split. The reason only the mechanic at autobahn workshop should be able to tell. We send herewith the photographs for your kind perusal.

If this is the sort of malpractices being carried out at the autobahn service centres, how does one recommend a purchase of skoda vehicle?

We also have a skoda superb in the family which is being used since the past 4 years. Over these 4 years we would have spent more than 5-6 lakhs on repairs which in hindsight now seem to have been unwarranted.

We have given the car for repairs to the garage where all other vehicles, including high-end vehicles, are given and will have to pay for something which was never damaged. We are yet to receive the estimate and of course, for the negligence and fraudulent tactics being adopted by autobahn, will have to incur uncalled for expenses.

We therefore request you to kindly look into the matter with seriousness and give us an explanation as to who should bear the cost for the unnecessary expense of the condenser damage. Since we have no access to what goes on inside the autobahn garage, we have no way to prove our above complaint.

Look forward to your response to this aggrieved consumer.

Aneeta kulkarni
President – legal & company secretary
Oct 4, 2017
Skoda India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Sep 01, 2017
Skoda India Customer Care's response
Dear Anita,

Kindly share your contact details. Accordingly we will have our service representatives connect with you.

Skoda India

Skoda India
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    60%
    Skoda India Phone
    1800 209 4646
    1800 102 6464
    Skoda India Address
    A-1 / 1, M.I.D.C., Five Star Industrial Area, Shendra, Aurangabad, Maharashtra, India - 431 201
    View all Skoda India contact information