[Resolved] Tata Sky — modified the existing annual pack without proper intimation

 
4 Reviews
Visakhapatnam (rural), Andhra Pradesh, India
 Sandeep Munnaluri on Apr 22, 2019
Dear Sir,

I have taken Annual pack from TATA SKY DTH for the period 12.01.2019 - 12.01.2020. My Subscriber No ([protected]) and all of sudden Tata Sky authorities discontinued my existing annual pack and selected unwanted channels (they selected channels in such a way that subscribers should manage the pack immediately on their own). I contacted customer care executives immediately on the same date i.e., 16.03.2019. None of the customer care executives gives a proper response and takes my complaint. I have paid for the period 12.01.2019 - 12.01.2020 after continuous shunting for subscribing Annual pack by TATA Sky DTH. Now This DTH service provider not even informed me properly and discontinued my pack which I have paid in advance till 12.01.2020. When I went through "THE TELECOMMUNICATION (BROADCASTING AND CABLE) SERVICES
STANDARDS OF QUALITY OF SERVICE AND CONSUMER PROTECTION
(ADDRESSABLE SYSTEMS) REGULATIONS, 2017 ( No. 2 of 2017" Section 10 clearly mentioned as below:

10. Restriction on discontinuation and modification of subscribed bouquet during its lock-in period when all the constituent channels are available on distribution platform.— No distributor of television channels shall iscontinue any bouquet, or modify the composition of the bouquet, subscribed by the subscriber during its lock-in period or during the period for which ubscription amount has been paid in advance by such subscriber in pursuance of any scheme offered by the distributor, if all the channels forming part of the
bouquet continue to be available on its platform:

Provided that in case, the nature of any constituent pay channel of the subscribed bouquet of pay channels is changed to ‘free-to-air channel’ or the maximum retail price of such pay channel is increased beyond rupees nineteen, as the case may be, the distributor, irrespective of the lock-in period or the scheme, shall remove such channel from the bouquet and reduce the subscription charges of that bouquet payable by such subscriber by the amount equivalent to discounted distributor retail price of that channel, taking into account the discount offered by the distributor on such
bouquet vis-a-vis the sum of distributor retail prices of all constituent pay channels:

Provided further that such distributor shall not substitute the removed channel with alternative channel in the subscription package of such subscriber and it shall be permissible for the subscriber to subscribe any channel or bouquet and the distributor or its linked local cable operator, as the case may be, shall, upon receiving the request from the subscriber, activate such requested channel or bouquet.

The above section clearly mentions that until and unless subscriber opts to change, the service provider should not change the existing pack for the subscribers those who are paid in advance for a lock-in period.

I have not at all requested them to change as per the new rules. At least they should continue my existing pack till 12.01.2020 as I have not asked to change.

I request your intervention to look into the matter and instruct the service provider to continue my existing pack till 12.01.2020 and correct me if anything wrong my side.

Please do the needful.

Thanks & Regards,
Sandeep Munnaluri,
Mob No: [protected].
Complaint marked as Resolved May 25, 2019

Complaint Status


[Apr 23, 2019] Tata Sky customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Verified Support
Tata Sky Customer Care's response, Apr 24, 2019
Hi, as per TRAI direction, following the new Tariff order, service providers will migrate their customers to the best fit plan carrying their key current channels. Each customer has the option of changing their channels and packs at any point in time, before or after the migration. For this, please download the Tata Sky App or visit www.mytatasky.com and go to Manage Pack, or visit your nearest dealer.
Complaint comments  3 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

Hello All,

After completing 3 years of service automatically set top box is not working tried with all check . Customer care said it's ok from their side. . Still issue not Resolved .
Companies doing this to buy new set top boxes. It's questions on faith and belief on Tata sky . .

Regards,
Customer Pune
Tata Sky Customer Care's response, Apr 24, 2019
Verified Support

Hi, that's not how it should have been. Kindly share your RMN/Subscriber ID so we can assist you better.
Ya I forgot to mention the name of the technician who came without tools and who promised to cone back in an hour is Murli n his no. is [protected]
Since 27 February 2019 I'm not getting the signal i tried to call toll-free no.but unable to call Pls call me back as soon as possible
Tata Sky Customer Care's response, Apr 25, 2019
Verified Support

Hi, that's not how it should have been. Please share us your RMN/Subscriber ID and we will help you further.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    33%
    Complaints
    9403
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    3083
    location
    Unit 301 to 305, 3rd Floor, Windsor, Off C.S.T. Road, Kalina, Santacruz (East), Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400098
    Tata Sky - modified the existing annual pack without proper intimation