Zoomcar — Escalation of wrongly charged Fee over the inconvenience caused during ride

I want to escalate regarding Booking ID: JPS69PVNH. I took the car yesterday for which the keyring was very loose and ultimately the key got detached from the keyring somehow and got dropped off. I still had the keyring along with the car remote with me. After this, I called the customer care number several times and during each call they mentioned that I will get a call back from them in another 20-30 minutes. I waited along with my family at that location to get some help or advice on what to do next, from zoomcar. However I didn't get any call back from them for another 6 hours in the night.

As I was stuck with my family at a place which was 50 kms away from my home at night so I had no other option but to leave the car at that location itself after locking the car with its remote and taking a local taxi to my home. This all caused a lot of inconvenience to me and my family.

Today morning I got a call from the zoomcar representative mentioning that they will be imposing a 10k fine for key loss and over this there will be around 10k charge for late car return as well. In fact, a late car return has happened because of no response from the zoomcar customer care team itself. Also, I did return the car remote which was with me for the whole time, it was just the key that got dropped due to the loose keyring (image attached in this mail). Zoomcar team is not even considering the trouble caused to me due to their negligence, and is trying to harass me now by calling and telling me that there will be a ~16k fine imposed.

However, after all this, I was informed by the ground fleet that they have already picked the car from the location that I had responsibly informed them about yesterday. Still I need to pay the late car return fee despite of your own executive is going to pick up the car based on his comfort and timings.

Please take corrective action on this issue and please remove the charges imposed on me, else I will file a complaint on consumer complaint forum along-with the videos of indicators not working in the car, photo of the tampered key ring (due to which key was lost) and the proof and details of terrible call recordings of the customer support team making false promises, proof of call history causing trouble to my family and the proof of no support (not even a callback) for almost 8 hours given after the incident happened.
+1 photos
Was this information helpful?
No (0)
Yes (1)
Zoomcar customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Dec 13, 2021
Updated by rajasinghai
I ask for 20k compensation for horrible experience to me and my family. I am ready to go to legal proceedings and court to sue zoomcar for such an experience that I had to go through. Now, they are harassing me by calling and telling me to pay 16k fine immediately and not even listening my side of the story. Right from the key loss to late car return, none of this was my mistake. Either remove the fine imposed by me and provide me the compensation of 20k or be ready to face legal proceedings and face the court of law.
Dec 19, 2021
Updated by rajasinghai
I have still not recommended any update from the company. Please remove the charges and stop harassing me over phone and msgs.
Dec 20, 2021
Updated by rajasinghai
After all the escalation on social media, Zoomcar has reduced the fine from 16k to 6k for me. But why will pay the fine after so much harassment and trouble to my family. On the day of incident Zoomcar didn't even respond to me for the next 8 hours and I was helpless at the offshore location away from my home. It was their responsibility to arrange for some transport or atleast advice me on the next step. They kept giving false promises of getting a callback in 20-30 minutes for which I waited till 4 hours. I will go to the proceedings and seek a compensation for 20k for all the harassment caused.
Zoomcar, please respond on this thread and remove all the unnecessary fines. How was I supposed to return the car on time when your executive himself went to pick up the car. Why am I supposed to pay the late car return fine. Justify this.
Dec 20, 2021
Updated by rajasinghai
Also show me the policy where it is mentioned that after the key loss, customer is also reliable to pay the late car return fee even when your own zoom executive is going to pick the car based on his own comfort. Show this policy on this thread else I will file a complaint
Dec 20, 2021
Updated by rajasinghai
Zoomcar has reduced the fine from 16k to 4k now, late car return fee was also imposed on me, to which I am not aligned at all. They have threatened me to increase the fine if I don't pay this 4k fine right now. They have also threatened me to summon to the court, if this 4k fine is not paid.
Dec 20, 2021
Updated by rajasinghai
Try to understand this..., only the first incident that happened should be the one that is fined for, dependent incidents should not be accounted for calculating fine. This is the standard across the industries. When we try to find what is the root cause for the delay happened in some activity, we only try to identify the first incident that caused the delay and impose fine on that, post the first incident all other incidents have taken place only because of the first incident. You cannot impose a fine for all other incidents apart from first incident right ? Why is this simple industry standard logic so hard to understand for you ?

So justify, why is the late car return fee imposed on me even when I already posted about the first incident that happened 3.25 hours before my booking end time ?
Dec 20, 2021
Updated by rajasinghai
Zoomcar's customer service and customer support has not provided any solution to me. They have reduced the fine from 16k to 6k and then while I was on a conversation with one of their executive he reduced the fine from 6k to 4k. They are constantly harassing me over phone that I should atleast pay this much, when in fact there is no mistake on my end for late return of the car. I recorded the call conversation with Satish S from zoomcar where he was mentioning that if I dont pay this fine, he will be increasing the fines according to the original amount as per the policy, which is 16k again. He threatened me indirectly that I should pay 4k else this fine will increase in the future when the case progresses. Its like I am being offered a discount for a limited time period, either I should avail it or should be ready for future consequences. It was typical plot of creating a time pressure, psychological pressure and a sense o[censored]rgency so that I pay the fine soon, else things can go wrong. He also created a social pressure saying ask anyone in your circle the tampered keyring you are showing to everyone in the mail and social media, everyone will say that its impossible for a key to get detached on its own. Also he mentioned words like "you might be thinking I am in favour of zoomcar, but its not that... " From this sense of social pressure, psychological pressure (time limitation) he tried to convince me to the fullest that I should pay this amount. At last, he mentioned that I should get a lawyer as representative and he will fight on my behalf for this 4k fine and zoomcar's legal team will take an action and they will change this fine to 16k soon, if you dont pay. After all this harassment, I am still waiting to get some sensible help from zoomcar as I dont think late car return fine is justified for my case. - will keep documenting the updates here.
Dec 21, 2021
Updated by rajasinghai
Still no resolution from zoomcar over this issue. They said this is the maximum offer that they can give however they are not even ready to understand that the late car return that they have imposed on me is not my mistake at all. They have told me to pay this fine else threatened me to take me to the court and Satish S has told me to get a lawyer and be ready. (Although I have read in consumer protection law that I can represent myself in the court in case of such consumer disputes) -- will keep documenting
Complaint comments 
Share
Tweet

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    By clicking Submit you agree to our Terms of Use
    Submit
    Zoomcar
    customer care contact
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    Read more
    50%
    Complaints
    5250
    Pending
    32
    Resolved
    2572
    Zoomcar Phone
    +91 80 6748 1200
    Zoomcar Address
    #308, 1st to 3rd Floor, 100 Feet Main Road, Indiranagar, 1st Stage, Bangalore North, Karnataka, India - 560038
    View all Zoomcar contact information