[Resolved]  Mahindra And Mahindra — Warranty coverage of dpf filter

Sanjeev Kumar R A Nayaka
11:40 AM (12 minutes ago)
to customercare, AnandMahindra, AnandMahindra, cmdoffice

Our vehicle is having a DPF/OBD issue and the service center team has presented only a solution of replacing the part which costs around Rs.90, 000 and told that only 33% will be borne by Mahindra warranty. WHY the customer must pay even a single penny when the vehicle is in warranty. We feel we have been cheated by not making us aware of the problems of this vehicle.
I had bought a Mahindra XUV300 ON 25 th June 2022 after a lot of struggles with the sales team at mahindra sereesh Rajajinagar Bangalore (Salesperson – Mr Srinivas, Sales manager – Mr Kiran), later on continued by the accessories and service team(Mr Praveen) (still the issues have not been resolved., Complaint number #CF[protected]).

10 September 2022:

I had started my journey heading towards western ghats from Bangalore, till I reach the mid-section of the ghats the vehicle was running flawlessly, suddenly the pickup went down and I was not able to drive with the actual power of vehicle and an indication which looked like engine appeared which was not getting auto cleared. I had received a pop up of auto regen but did not complete automatically which I was not even aware of what it was. Since I was in the mid of the ghats section where it is not safe to stop the vehicle and i was not having mobile network to do any sort of trouble shooting so I drove with low pickup itself till a place where I got some mobile network.

I somehow reached a place where we could get some food. I tried to reach Mahindra helpline ‘With you hamesha’ number from where my call was put on hold for a long time and then disconnected.

I managed to reach kukke subramanya at late night 3:30 am to find a place to stay as I was travelling with my family with the issue still persisting.

11 September :

Next day first thing in the morning we tried calling Bangalore service centre from where I had purchased the vehicle, they directed us to call the helpline and reach nearest dealership. I wonder on y they could not help me with my nearest service station and asked the customers who are already in panic to find the nearest dealership by themselves.

Later on contacting the helpline several times, my call was attended where I had to struggle further to make them understand my location. From there I finally could get the nearest service station manager (Mr. Sathish Kothian) number and we headed towards Puttur and somehow managed to reach Puttur by 4:00 pm as the vehicle was in same running condition but had low pickup.

After reaching the showroom we were expecting the issue to be resolved within one or two hours as we had to reach Bangalore and attend our duties the next day.

The service station people were asking if we had got any option for regen, about which we were never made aware of by the sales team. These were the Basic minimum duties of the sales team to make the customer aware of the warning signs which have to be attended immediately. When the sales team can promote their vehicle by explaining the customer about the cruise control and other facilities why not the warning signs like DPF and REGEN.

This is utter failure of Mahindra sales team.

The response from the service station people was really bad as they barely saw the vehicle and tried the bare minimum options which were available in the internet and at sharp 5 30 stated that they had to close the service station and hence will see the vehicle the next day. They did not put the slightest effort to even log the vehicle in Mahindra technical support where they could have got a solution the same day, just because they had to close the service station by 5:30 pm whereas even on the internet the service station closure time was 6:00 pm and we were forced to stay in an unknown small town overnight with family, not even knowing of the safety of the place for outsiders.

12 September:

At 9:00 am sharp we reached service station expecting some response and resolution from the service team at least that day. They had told that they will have to contact the tech support from where tech support will guide service people on what to do. We were informed that it would be a three hour procedure and after that within an hour or 2 the resolution would be provided and the vehicle would be good to run.

When the service team sent the report to the Mahindra tech line, they took hours to reply :Again a failure of Mahindra team leading to trouble to the customer.

I was constantly asking them on the status and how fast it can be rectified, none of the staff was ready to give any proper answer to the customer, they were just passing the ball saying it was pending from tech team.

On our constant questioning they gave us a conclusion that the part has to be changed and there is no other go. The manager Mr.Satish kothian spoke with a techline person named Mr.Gunashekar who told that instead of changing the filter a three hour procedure has to be followed to rectify the issue which the service team was ok to perform the 3hr procedure. Again Mr.satish gets a call from Mr.Gunashekar stating that the part has to be changed, we were not even given a proper explanation on why the part has to be changed .there was no proper communication from the service station people to us which could make any thing clear.

When having no option we agreed to change the part we were informed that it would be covered under warranty since it is just two months old vehicle and there was no physical damage at all.

We were told that it would take atleast 4-6 days for the part to arrive and be replaced.

Hence we had to leave the vehicle there and proceed towards banglore by taking a bus with my whole family and had to wait in the bus stop for six long hours in a small town.

13 september

The service associate Mr.Sunil was himself suppose to contact us and let us know the time to time updates on the progress, whereas we did not receive any response form the service team.

When we called Mr.sunil to know about the updates, we were told that the approval has not yet been done from the CCM as the amount is high.

They are just delaying a very simple process, how long can an approval take within the company.

14 September

We had to call them by ourselves around 11am when we were told that status is the same and they are waiting for the approval. I wonder onto how a customer’s time is valued when the internal discussion takes so long to happen. The same repeated in the evening and we were not provided any updates.

15 September 15, 2022

Mr. Sathish called around 5:30pm and told hat he has kept the order on hold since consent was needed from customer side for the payment of the part even though the vehicle is just two months old and had run only 3900 km and was in warranty period. While buying the vehicle we were shown the part of amount for warranty also and sales team has assured us that everything would be taken care of in warranty including engine replacement also if required without even a single penny from customers pocket.

When the part is covered under warranty, why should the customer have to pay 2/3rd the amount and company is paying only 1/3rd of the amount as informed by Mr.Sathish

Why does the company make the customer pay for the warranty if it cannot stand on its own word, this is nothing but absolutely Looting and cheating the customer.

There is absolutely no physical damage to any part for it to be not covered in the warranty .

I had very high expectations from mahindra while buying the vehicle but it’s turned into extreme regrets now. I request you to kindly get my vehicle in perfect condition and hand it over to me. Instead of vehicle becoming an asset to my family .. The Mahindra XUV300 has become a pure LIABILITY to us. Request you to replace the vehicle and provide us with a vehicle which doesn’t have any problems like these.

please do the needful at the earliest, we have had enough hussle already.

P N Tejashwini

Oct 23, 2022
Mahindra And Mahindra customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Sep 17, 2022
Mahindra And Mahindra Customer Care's response
Hi Sir, request you to please email us your registered contact number to [protected]@mahindra.com or call us at [protected] in order to assist you at the earliest. Regards, Customer Care Team

Mahindra And Mahindra
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    18%
    Mahindra And Mahindra Phone
    +91 22 2490 1441
    Mahindra And Mahindra Address
    Mahindra Towers, Media Cube, G.M. Bhosale Marg, Worli, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400018
    View all Mahindra And Mahindra contact information