Toyota — Faulty New Toyota Fortuner Delivered

Exactly 11 days back I purchased a Toyota Fortuner 4x4 AT Diesel 2.8, on 13-Dec-2021 from dealer Nandi Toyota Kudlu gate, Bangalore. I have booked the vehicle on 01-Nov-2021 and the dealer promised the delivery on 13-Nov-2021. After the booking, the dealer kept delaying the delivery date and finally on 8-Dec-2021 when I went to cancel the booking, the sales team asked me to give 1 more day to check the availability. The next day the sales team got a car available all of a sudden. I went ahead and did the full payment by 10-Dec-2021 within 2 days and asked for delivery on 13-Dec-2021. The delivery experience also was bad. Sales team did not arrange any handover ceremony. They also had many mistakes in billing and I had to sit personally with a calculator to find the final amount to pay. The difference between actual amount to pay and asked amount was more than a lakh rupees.

After such an annoying sales experience, I got my car on 13-Dec-2021, and within a week’s time 22-Dec-2021, the car had barely driven 200 km and it started showing an engine problem on the display. I reported the issue on Toyota RoadSide Assistance and they sent a towing truck to evaluate the issue. Imagine a car worth half a cror barely driven 200 km and a week old, is showing an engine problem. Tow truck has taken the car to the same dealer’s service center. After having the car for more than 2-3 days with them, the service team of Nandi Toyota Kudlu Gate, were clueless about what was the problem. They communicated at least 3-4 Error codes over the phone. But when we personally visited to check the car they said only 1 error code about solenoid in Automatic Transmission. When I am writing this email 24-Dec-2021, the issue is still not resolved or not even properly analyzed. Both Service Manager and CRM Head are still not sure about the actual issue and timeline to fix the issue.

After spending 0.5 crore of my hard earned money, I do not want to settle with a defective car which has issues with its engine and transmission. They are the heart and soul of any car.

I hope Toyota values its brand and is known for its Japanese quality and customer care over the decades. This was the only reason I have opted for such an expensive car from Toyota, and not trusted any other Chinese company in the market.

I will go to the maximum of my abilities to protect me and my family from this situation. I do not want the same car anymore. Either Toyota should provide a replacement car for this, or refund the full amount. I would not want to go legal about this and want to sort this issue out of consumer court professionally.
Yes (5)
Toyota customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

hi chintan pls share your details i want to discuss the same thing with you as i m facing exactly same problem with toyota fortuner which i purchased on 6th dec 21
I think we can together do something to get justice with us
pls reach me on my mail id
i am also facing same problem with the car purchased in the month of dec 21
may be the manufacturing done in this month is all faulty and defective
therefore i request you to kindly contact me so that we can together make a cliam for recall of vehicle and get it replaced or refund

pls contact me on

[protected]@gmail.Com

Toyota
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    23%
    Toyota Phone
    +91 80 6629 3001
    Toyota Address
    Plot No.1, Bidadi Industrial Area, Bangalore Rural District, Ramangara, India - 562109
    View all Toyota contact information