Frro Kolkata — oci card application rejected

The honorable consumer complaintsforum, india

Sub: concern regarding non issuance of oci card of our minor son, and a prayer for help file ref no:indk003b9n16
These are mr. Prerit sharma and mrs. Rachna sharma here. We are permanent residents of assam, dist-kamrup, sub division-rangia. And we are indian citizens by birth. Our son, advik sharma, who is just 7 months old, is an american citizen by birth. He is here with us on entry visa, which was valid till 7th of november, 2016. Therefor, we had applied for oci card of our son, on 11th july, 2016, at frro kolkata. And we were informed that the oci card will be issued in 42 days. Also we were told that an enquiry will be sent to our native place for the same, within this period.
Since, the acknowledgement of our application, we had been waiting for such enquiry for 42 days, and no such enquiry was done. Becoming a bit concerned about it, we called up, frro, kolkata, many times. But to our surprise, we kept on getting various answers from frro, kolkata. One of them replied that the enquiry is not done in case of minor, and the oci will be issued soon. By that time, it was around 50 days from the day of application.in the mean time, i, prerit sharma (Father of the baby), had a temporary job offer in bhubaneswar, odisha. So, i brought my wife and son to bhubaneswar, recently, for the time being. Whereas, my parents and brother are staying at my permanent address in assam as mentioned in my passport.
After arriving at bhubaneswar also, there was no information conveyed to me regarding the oci card of my kid. So, i again rang up frro, kolkata. This time, at frro kolkata, i was informed that an enquiry was sent to guwahati, assam, but it was returned to them, as guwahati did not have any information. At this i raised questions (1) why was i informed earlier that there will no enquiry for the minor. (2) secondly, why did they send the enquiry to guwahati, whereas, they should have sent it to amingaon sp office, which is a concerned authority responsible for my native town rangia. After, this they apologised for it as they did not have updated information regarding this. And i was asked to call them back later. So, after 2days again i rang up at frro, kolkata, and this time, someone, named mr. Maitey picked up the call and told me that, the reason behind delay in issuance of oci is ministry of home affairs (Mha), new delhi. Because, everything is done by that office. Moreover, according to them, i may have to replace the demand draft, which i submitted along with the application, as it becomes invalid after 90 days. This reply was again a new information for me and i was advised to contact, mha, new delhi. At last, i called up mha, new delhi, and talked to oci section by dialing desired extension, 608. From, mha, it was informed to me that, the information given to me from frro kolkata was not appropriate. And, i was asked to write in detail of the whole incidence to them at an email id, [protected]@nic.in. Accordingly, i emailed to them the whole incidence. Some action was taken and a reply was sent to me.
After this, in a day, a phone call was made to my home address, at assam, rangia, by mr. Maitey from frro kolkata, and he asked my father about me and my son. My father replied them that i am presently working in bhubaneswar, temporarily and my son is there with me for the time being. My father informed mr. Maitey that rangia, assam is our permanent address. No, in person enquiry was sent at my home, in assam. Then mr. Maitey instructed my father to ask me to call him back and suggested my father to inform me that i should register my son in bhubaneswar sp office the next day, which will be free of charges.
Next day, when i rang up frro kolkata, mr maitey talked to me in a very inappropriate way and did not inform me anything properly. Moreover, he said that since i lodged a complaint, eveything will be informed to me from mha, and did not say a single word regarding any registration in bhubaneswar.
So, i decided to wait for the reply of mha, oci section. Suddenly, i received an email from mha, oci section that, my application has been rejected as the enquiry done in guwahati did not reveal my information and the telephonic enquiry revealed that i am in bhubaneswar. This email created a panic in my family. And all o[censored]s felt mentally harrased. So, i immediately contacted mha, oci section, as being a citizen of india, i have a deep faith in my government. This time mr. Malhotra had picked up the call and he was not having enough patience to listen to my problem. Mr. Malhotra, replied that everything is done by frro, kolkata and i should talk to mr. Maitey at frro kolkata. Again mr. Maitey was not at all ready to listen to me and guide me further. My phone call was disconnected. A repeat call to mr. Malhotra at mha, oci (Extension 608) was made and to my surprise, he got annoyed and asked me to dial extension 662. That 662 extension was received by a female and i was asked to wait. But no response was obtained from there too, even after a long waiting period. So, i tried to email again to [protected]@nic.in, asking to guide me further. Again the reply was that i should contact frro kolkata. Inspite of all these events, i do still have deep faith in my constitution and my government. Being a citizen of india, i would like to request you to take this matter seriously and to help us and our minor son, advik sharma (1.5 years of age) as early as possible. And kindly take such an action, so that no indian citizen or their kids have to suffer as we did.
We have lodged our grievances in all possible government forums with a failure to resolve this issue
Prerit sharma & rachna sharma
Email id: [protected]@gmail.com

The application details are as follows