BookMyBai — Unethical behavior and cheating clients

Address:400016

I have been following up with bookmybai since the last 10 days for replacement of the maid provided by them but they have not been able to provide a replacement. The maid pooja of bookmbai is irregular, reports to work at her own whims and fancies, and in the month of october has already been absent for about 6 days. When i approached bookmybai, i was told that i would have to continue with her till a replacement is provided.

What is worse, after days of trying to contact anupam singal the founder and head of bookmybai, via phone and email, only yesterday did i receive a call from anupam after speaking with ramesh (Field guy), nizam (Manager) and maria (Coordinator) and warning them that i was fed up and would file a complaint for fraud and cheating.

Anupam singal promised to personally look into the issue of providing a replacement. After multiple follow ups, promises of two candidates to be sent yesterday evening, we are today on the 25th of the month with no closure or resolution from bookmybai.

I am recounting my experience in detail here.

I contacted bookmybai in the fourth week of july 2016 for a maid for top work (Basically daily cleaning) since i am unable to find a maid to suit my post work timings in the evenings. My spouse and i both work and are home only at 6.30 pm.

I registered with bookmybai by paying rs.1000/- for bookmybai's premium service. I received a call from maria from bookmybai. A maid pooja was sent for an interview the next day. She was okay with the evening timing of 6.30 pm and i engaged her for a week on trial basis. Her work was average. I requested bookmybai to send me other candidates so that i could have a choice but they were unable to source any. After a week i was told that i would have to either hire pooja or let her go. Since there were no other candidates i choose from, i engaged pooja as a top maid from august 2016 by paying the hiring charges to bookmybai of rs.3500/- (Inclusive of the 1000 already paid). Pooja's monthly salary of cleaning a 400 sq foot carpet flat was fixed at rs. 3000/- per month. The job takes about 35 – 40 mins. The actual rate for that job in our building is between rs.[protected]. Pooja’s work was average and you had to follow up with it just like you would do any regular bai. She worked okay for the months of august and september, except for the habit of not reporting to work a few times and not answering calls and not informing when she was absent. Also, she would not offer any explanation for her absence when asked. I overlooked that. However, since october she has stayed absent on 6 occasions already. She hasn't come to work on most of the sundays. I see no point in continuing with her employment after paying so much.

I asked the agency to intervene but they were helpless and seemed to have no control over her.

I was fed up. I mailed anupam singal on 20th october but like i said earlier, he called only yesterday morning (24th october).

Since saturday the 22nd october, after constant follow ups with maria, she promised to send candidates for interview. Maria promised to send a replacement candidate on saturday 22nd morning. No candidate turned up and i received a call that she would come by noon. No candidate turns up. At around 3 pm i get a call from maria asking if the candidate can come tomorrow, i. E. Sunday 23rd. No one turned up all day long.

My assigned maid pooja did not turn up for work through this last weekend. The previous week and weekend she was absent for 4 days. After waiting for pooja till 8pm on sunday 23rd october, multiple calls and smses to her, i resorted to calling one of the field executives aman of bookmybai whose number i had and who i had called the sunday before when pooja was absent. I asked for anupam for the nth time and was again told that he was travelling and that ramesh another executive would call me. Ramesh called and i had to resort to warning him severely about the fraudulent and irresponsible conduct of bookmybai. After multiple calls to and fro he promised to sort the matter on monday 23rd morning (Yesterday). On sunday 23rd october i must have spent at least 1.5 hours in trying to call the maid pooja, and speaking to aman and ramesh on the phone and listening to their excuses and false promises.

Yesterday, 24th october, was another day of false promises. Two candidates were promised but no one turned up. I had left work early and went home so that i could meet the candidates and finalise. I called maria to confirm if they were coming. After keeping me waiting for about 1.5 hours she told me that boht candidates could not be contacted.

The maid pooja of bookmybai lands up at my doorstep at 6 pm. She tried entering, i told her she couldn’t continue working as she was absolutely irregular. I asked her why she was absent for so many days, she had no response. She says okay, what about my salary. I asked her to settle it with bookmybai.

Till now i have not received any call from anupam or any other person. Last evening since both promised candidates had not turned up, i called nizam (Manager) but i was told he could not do anything and that anupam singal himself would call me. It is 25th october today, no call from anyone. Nizam says the maid pooja came you should have let her work. I asked nizam if anupam singal would allow him to report to work in bookmybai at his own whims and fancies with unexplained days of absenteeism in between.

Bookmybai breaches its part of the contract signed and then behaves as though clients are in breach. This is evident from the attitude and the responses given by bookmybai to complaints from clients.

Bookmybai is an agency founded by cheats and unfortunately the employees are learning the ropes of fraud and cheating very fast. The number and manner of making false promises is unbelievable.

Bookmybai has never met the maids it recommends and i am not sure how much they talk to a maid if a problem like this arises. They have no control over their maids. The candidates that they promise to send are just your average bai looking for a high salary than what she would get if she took up a job on her own in any home. The candidates are largely unemployed just sitting at home looking for a job that would pay more.

A fraud company like bookmybai needs to be seriously dealt with before it defrauds more unsuspecting consumers.

Dear Ms. Nerissa,

As I had mentioned to you yesterday on the phone too that we are not a fraud or a scam company. We are trying to solve the problem as quickly as possible. We are educated people here and realize that a brand that we are building will only be built on trust and acceptance by clients and employers like you. We are in the business of providing manpower and each maid is different from the others. We try our level best to match the requirement of the client and create harmony between the client and the maid. However in certain situations the match does not fit and in that case we provide a replacement very proactively. I think you might already know that mumbai is plagued with agencies who will refuse to give you a replacement and maybe not even answer your phone calls. I hope that you appreciate the fact that we are trying our level best to solve the problem.

Having said that we also cannot force anyone to work. The maid who was scheduled for interview yesterday did not turn up at the last moment. There is not much that anyone o[censored]s can do in case the maid doesn't turn up. All we can do is line up more maids who are available in our area and we are doing that.

If you still believe that after putting in all the efforts to solve the problem we are a bunch of cheats and frauds, I would leave that decision to your sense of fine judgement. However we choose to believe that we are not and we are solving a very big problem and sometimes teething issues crop up in certain cases like yours. We obviously do not want these situations to crop but it's beyond a human beings control.

We place over 1000 maids every month in mumbai, bangalore, Delhi, Pune, Hyderabad along with other tier 2 cities. We have over 99percent happiness quotient of clients. Obviously this doesn't mean that you should go through a bad experience and I have apologised to you yesterday and am still apologising for the experience and assusing that we are doing our best to solve this as soon as possible.

Regarding the salary of the maid: If the maid has worked at your house (for as many days as she has worked for) and if you do not want to pay for the work that she has done, then I think it's an inhuman act and I think an educated person like you are, it's not a correct thing to do.

Again, we are trying our best to solve this and hope this gets a closure soon

Anupam
anupamsinhal's reply, Oct 28, 2016
An update from the last post.

A replacement of the maid has already been given and the new maid is working there. Ms. Nerrisa, request you to kindly acknowledge the same here
Anupam,

Please do not skirt the issue here.

You response is very generic and makes no firm response about why your maid Pooja has been absent without reason so many times or why you are not able to provide a suitable replacement even after so many days, after accepting payment from a client.

My education and fine judgement have nothing to do with your inability to honour your commitment in providing services.

Commenting on my education is highly improper especially when you are totally in breach of your contract at the moment.

I am a customer who has paid for your services. And you are bound to provide the services you have taken the money for. It is that plain and simple.

Your flowery-worded response does not absolve you of your deficiency in service and fraudulent manner of dealing with clients.

The number of complaints on this forum itself speaks volumes about the happiness quotient of your clients.

I would like to know if you pay employees if they are absentees on the rolls of BookmyBai.

My assessment of you not having any control or connection with the maids enrolled in your agency seems to be completely accurate, by your own admission. 4 maids, not only 1, scheduled by you for interviews have not turned up.

Since you are so human in your approach, and you think that an habitual absentee maid/employee should be paid, please pay the maid from the booking amount of Rs.3, 500/- that you have taken from me.

BookMyBai
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    2%
    BookMyBai Phone
    +91 22 4933 2424
    BookMyBai Address
    Gemstar Commercial Complex, 310, Ramchandra Ln, Kanchpada, Malad West, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400064
    View all BookMyBai contact information