Follow us
Log in        Register
     
 

Icici Bank - Cellnext solutions debit my credit card by telephonic conversation

 
3 Reviews
User
  saravanakumarrd on Apr 12, 2012
A person talked to me stating that I was allotted a gold card issued by the central govt..where I can use the card unlimited purchasing with 30% discount ....then I will be gifted by reebok shoe and 3days of a holiday resort coupon.They told my home address very correctly....then only I got the faith and they asked me to type the 14 digit card number,date of expiry,month, and CVV number...within second I got a sms rs 5500/ Debited from my card to cellnext solution...the next day I came to know that it is a scam through forums...I dont know what to do...I kindly request you to recover my money ...whenever I call them they set a voice mail that the number is busy..thus I lost my money and peace of mind.....


Regards,
Saravanakumar
97866737444
Complaint comments 2 Comments     Updated:
Resolve this Complaint  

Comments

N Apr 13, 2012 by
User
ICICI Bank Care  
 
Hi,

We are sorry to hear about your experience. We have made a note of your mobile number. We'll contact you and work to address your issue at the earliest.

Regards,
ICICI Bank Customer Service Team
D Apr 24, 2012 by
User
saravanakumarrd  
 
Kindly check the below your reply mail.

I have already informed as of 12-April-2012.

Kindly reverse the dispute amount rs.5500/- otherwise cancel the credit card.

From: ICICIBankCare <care@icicibank.com>
Subject: RE:'ICICICARE=002-005-940' ICICI Bank Credit Card
To: "saravanakumarrd@yahoo.co.in" <saravanakumarrd@yahoo.co.in>
Date: Tuesday, 17 April, 2012, 6:46 PM
Dear Mr. Saravanakumar,

We refer to our e-mail of April 16, 2012 regarding your ICICI Bank Credit Card 4629XXXXXXXX5019.

The merchant has claimed for the transaction done on your credit card for Rs. 5500.00.

Your complaint for dispute has been registered vide Service Reference Number SR220912767.

We are looking into the complaint and will revert to you on or before April 23, 2012.

Sincerely,

Venkata Siva Sairam
Office of Head Service Quality


From: ICICIBankCare <care@icicibank.com>
Subject: RE:'ICICICARE=002-005-940' ICICI Bank Credit Cards
To: "saravanakumarrd@yahoo.co.in" <saravanakumarrd@yahoo.co.in>
Date: Monday, 23 April, 2012, 11:48 AM
Dear Mr. Saravanakumar,

We refer to our earlier e-mail of April 17, 2012 regarding your ICICI Bank Credit Card 4629XXXXXXXX5019.

On receipt of your complaint we have investigated the case and we understand that you had received a call from a fraudster stating that you were selected for a free card. We confirm having done our investigations that the call is made from our bank and would like to state that you are a victim of a perpetrated fraud. It is pertinent to state that our bank has been continuously educating the customers through media for being cautious in handling the credit cards/phishing frauds. We further understand that you had provided the card number and other details to the fraudster in good faith assuming that the person is from ICICI Bank. We confirm that our bank does not have any process of calling the customers to inform that you are offered a free card.

It is unfortunate to note that you had not checked the credentials of the person and did not exercise any due diligence in ascertaining his identity before providing the card details to an outsider/fraudster which resulted in a cause of complaint/fraud. In this connection, we like to draw your attention to the terms and conditions of the usage of the card and would like to reproduce the verbatim of the same for your ready reference.

The card member is responsible for the security of the card and shall take all steps towards ensuring that the card is not misused. In the event that ICICI Bank determines that the card member has failed to take the steps as mentioned above in case of loss/theft/destruction of the card and the same are questionable, financial liability on the lost, stolen or damaged card would rest with the card member and could even result in cancellation of the card account.

The card member is responsible for the security of the card and shall take all steps towards ensuring that the card is not misused. In the event that ICICI Bank determines that the aforementioned steps are questionable, financial liability on the lost, stolen, misused or damaged card would rest with the card member.

It is relevant to mention here that customer had indemnified the bank that card member will not hold bank liable in case of improper/fraudulent/unauthorised use of card and bank will also not be liable for any consequence connected with the use/misuse of the card by any third party due to card details falling in the hands of any third party and if the third party gain access to the services including the card account, card member will be responsible and shall indemnify bank against any liability, cost or damages arising out of such misuse/use by the third party.

Further, as per the terms and conditions under which the card was issued to and accepted by you, you are bound to make payment for the transactions.

To avoid any such misuse we request you not to provide any details regarding credit card account to unauthorized personal or organisation.

ICICI Bank has offered the credit card facility to the customers on certain terms and conditions and customers had duly accepted the said terms and conditions agreed to abide by the terms and conditions of using the said credit card. However, you had negligently handled the card and provided the details of the card to the person allegedly imposed himself from the bank. Thereafter, card was allegedly misused by the person.

In view of the above said backdrop, you were negligent in handling the card and the bank will not be liable for any claim of refund.

The outstanding balance due on your ICICI Bank Credit Card 4629XXXXXXXX5019 is Rs. 21, 414.50 as on April 23, 2012.

We request you to make the payment of the outstanding balance on your credit card account to avoid levy of financial charges.

Sincerely,

Venkata Siva Sairam
Office of Head Service Quality

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good) No Rating
    code
    Icici Bank - Cellnext solutions debit my credit card by telephonic conversation