[Resolved]  Whirlpool Refrigerator 350 Ltr — Problem with Repairs and damage

Hon’ blé Justice D.P.Wadhwa, Dt. Feb 27, 2008
National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission,
5th Floor “A” Wing & 7th Floor “B” Wing
Janpath Bhawan,
Janpath New- Delhi – 1
Ph:- [protected], 23712459,23389248 and Fax No.[protected]

Sub: - Complaint / Charge against Whirlpool India Ltd.

I purchased 2 Air conditioners 150 Ei and a refrigerator 350 L from Whirlpool Authorized dealer M/s City Audio Vision (P) Ltd. on 11th June 2003 for Rs. 64,700.00 .( copy of bill enclosed ). The same was paid to the Dealer vide pay order no 182179 dt 10th June 2003 payable at Bank of America Connaught place.

Sequence of events:-

On Feb 27th 2008 I lodged a complaint with the Whirlpool call centre no +[protected] regarding my refrigerator. The problem was that the refrigerator was not working and there was no cooling in Freezer and the main cabinet.

On 28th Engineer visited my residence and recommended that they will need to change the compressor gas to rectify problem.

On 29th he visited again at our residence with the gas kit , opens the compressor and tried to rectify the problem however was not able to rectify the problem and suggested that they will need to take the refrigerator to workshop as there is a blockage in the pipe which needs to be cleaned with nitrogen.

Despite continuous reminders the refrigerator was ultimately lifted from our house on 3nd March 2008 for the repairs with the commitment that the repaired refrigerator will be replaced within 3 working days. I was continuously following up with the Call centre however they were not able to deliver the refrigerator until 8th March 2008. On delivery I paid Rs 1230 for the repairs although my refrigerator is still under warranty.

During this period I had spoken to no of Whirlpool executives including Vikram and Gurpreet from the Home Care Centre..

To my surprise when the refrigerator was returned back at my residence, I noticed that the base of the refrigerator freezer has been burnt while doing some welding in the process of repairing the refrigerator and the clip of the back tray has been broken and on top of it the refrigerator is not working at all. I called up on no +[protected], and logged the complaint again. I spoke to Gurpreet and he gave me assurance that some senior will give me a call and give me the full details and a Service Engineer will visit my home within 2 hours. Neither I have received any call from any senior nor did any Service Engineer visit my residence.

I now and totally dissatisfied with service and given the mal intentions of cheating I request yourself to register the case and charge the Whirlpool India under Consumer Protection Act 1986.

Claim:-

Replacement of my refrigerator with new one as the base of the Freezer has been burnt and is nor repairable.

Compensations of Rs 50,000.00 for the mental trauma and the stress I and my family had gone through the whole week, My old aged mother who is suffering from Herpis at this point on time and for that matter my whole family had to live without refrigerator for a week in these scorching summers.

Request your good self for the speedy redressal of the dispute.

Yours truly,

Kuldeep Kumar Koul
Consumer
760 Pocket “E”
Mayur Vihar Phase – II
Delhi 91

Ph :[protected] Mbl:- [protected].

CC:- Mr Arvind Uppal (Managing Director – Whirlpool India Ltd.)
CC: Sukhpreet Singh (General Manager - Brand Marketing)
Whirlpool of India Limited
B1/A12, 1st Floor
Mohan Cooperative Industrial Estate
New Delhi - 110 044
Tel.: ++[protected],[protected],[protected]
Fax: ++[protected]

CC :-Editor Hindustan Times
CC :-Editor The Times of India
CC:-Navbharat times.

Encl:- Copy of Bill / Invoice
Encl:- Details of Challan copied on a piece of paper duly signed by Harinder.

I find companies paying scant respect to the complaints registered. I have a problem with washing machine now. I bought a washing machine WM Splash Light Grey, Serial No: INB[protected], model No: 10437 on 16/2/2008. On 24/3/2008 it developed problem with scraping noise from the bottom.

A person attended on 25/3/2008 and said a part has to be replaced. Till now there is no sign of him. I have called call centre on 26th and today 3 times. They assure to send somebody within so many hours but nobody turns up. I was even informed by the call center person that one of their service engineers had reported that they come on 25th. But we are very sure that nobody has visited us after the first visit. What surprises me is that how can a machine stop working within a month.

Their service is very poor.
I am narrating below my experience with the Whirlpool and its refrigerator. As anybody can make out that my experience is worst than that of Mr. Koul, as I have been having problems with the fridge right from the beginning and had to manage without fridge for about 40 days after its purchase on August 11, 2007 and now for 12 (don't how many more) days. I suggest that my complaint too be appended with Mr Kuldeep Koul's Complaint to the Consumer Court.

We had purchased a Whirlpool Double Door Refrigerator (Iceberg 340 Steel) on August 11, 2007 from M/s TV House, 25, Main Market, Kingsway Camp, Delhi 110007. The piece supplied to us was defective. This was brought to the notice of the Company, whose person came and inspected the machine and accepted that the fridge needs to replaced. The replacement came after about 40 days after innumerable reminders. As the temperature outside starting increasing by March 10, 2008, we discovered that food items kept in the fridge are getting stale because of inefficient cooling. Complaint was lodged to the service centre of the company on 18th March. A service person came and told that the defect was in switch which had been rectified. However, as the problem persisted, we again got in touch with the company. Again another service engineer came and told the the problem is with the vent which gets clogged due to a manufacturing defect. He promised he would get the parts to be replaced and would set the fridge right by 21st evening. The fridge is still lying switched off since than. In between, we have made numerous calls to the company. Last response from the company was on friday, 28th March. The person on the line told that in a week's time a team from Quality Control of the company would visit our residence and after inspecting would decide further action.

From the above detailed account of our experience, anybody can make out the callous attitude and befooling tactics of the company. How can one beleive that a simple machine like a fridge requires so much deliberations for deciding the fault? My request is either company should replace the machine with a working model of similar type or should refund me the cost of the fridge along with compensation for the amount of time wasted by us in pursuring our complaints and the mental stress to which we have been put to in this process.

SB Babbar
I am an aggrieved senior citizen regarding tarnished service from the Whirlpool India.

I am using Whirlpool Whitemagic Hot wash under AMC for past some years.

My complaint regarding non functional heater vide serial 7791 on the 24 Nov 08 is yet to be solved, instead the so called engineer from Dehradun Chawla Electronics has left evn the PCB useless and the machine is standing non functional for last one month.

I don't know what to do? Mr Chawla has yet to takee some positive action. His number is [protected], please someone from Whirlpool call him up and request him to do the needful.

Whirlpool — No service for 350 Ltr refrigerator from 3 months

we are very much upset for last 2 months... our refrigerator is not giving cooling at all...

Engineer visit... after 4 days & then he is not able to find the fault.

we are very much upset... such a poor quality of engineers are hired by the 'WHIRLPOOL FARIDABAD AGENCY' THAT THEY ARE NOT ABLE TO CONCLUDE WHAT FAULT IS...

POOR SERVICE POOR COORDINATION BY FARIDABAD SERVICE CENTRE.
We dont have invoice/reciept bill, then no concerned person is properly guidingour microwave which is only 5 months old is still not working... House no.: 1145sector17, Faridabad, Ph. [protected]

We have not received any reply or action on this issue till date.

Ravikumar C

To: [protected]@whirlpool.com
CC: [protected]@whirlpool.com; [protected]@whirlpool.com; [protected]@whirlpool.com; [protected]@whirlpool.com; [protected]@yahoo.com
Subject: RE: HP 04041805
Date: Tue, 4 Aug 2009 17:36:39 +0530

Thank you for the visit from your Calicut Service Centre.

The service personnel was not very helpful in resolving the issue, his response to our query were not specific and answers very vague, he was trying to avoid the job, and not understanding crux issue

The issue is the refrigerator has got rust,

We had purchased a whirlpool model 1210-220lt in 1997, we had opted for anti rust package offered by Whirlpool at that time and we had paid for a 5 year term ( Receipt available) and renewed the same for a period another 5 years and subsequently Whirlpool came up with Home care Plan

Product No : CO/P/0907/44726 purchased on Sept 19, 2007 and we availed of availed Home care Plan Registration NF-0810-24m Plan code No. 1023171 . We were told that the Home care Plan overides all previous plan and rust coverage is also covered in the plan.

As per the plan Whirlpool service had to visit us for preventive maintenance on the following dates : 19/3/2008; 15/9/2008; 14/3/2009; and one for 10/9/2009; because of lack of support from Whirlpool service or Homecare the refrigerator has developed rust on the door and the frame .

The visit on Friday ie July 31st was the first visit under the plan

Your Calicut Service Centre, is one of the most Customer Unfriendly centre that i have across, they are not bothered about customer query, and well the moto seems if it is old model avoid all services at any cost.

I request you to sent your Service Manager for the region, to look into the issue and advise accordingly

Our contact details;
V Vilasini,
'Damodhar'
Thiruvannur P.O.
Calicut 673 029

tel[protected]
Mob : [protected]

Ravikumar

To: [protected]@hotmail.com
CC: [protected]@gmail.com; sree.[protected]@gmail.com
Subject: Fw: HP 04041805
Date: Thu, 30 Jul 2009 18:05:44 +0530

When we tried the below give number, it is ringing only, no response.

We have given instruction to our Service Centre, Calicut to attend your complaint.

They will be contacting you on this without further delay

Elsy Thomas
Cochin.

----- Forwarded by HomeCareConsumerCell/Faridabad/IN/E/Whirlpool on 07/30/2009 04:41 PM -----

Ravi Kumar <[protected]@hotmail.com> 07/30/2009 09:28 AM

To: Home Care Whirl Pool <[protected]@email.whirlpool.com>
cc: <[protected]@whirlpool.com>, <[protected]@whirlpool.com>, <[protected]@whirlpool.com>, <[protected]@whirlpool.com>, aa aa <[protected]@yahoo.com>
Subject: FW: HP 04041805

No action yet from your side

Ravikumar C

To: [protected]@whirlpool.com
CC: [protected]@email.whirlpool.com
Subject: RE: HP 04041805
Date: Tue, 21 Jul 2009 10:28:54 +0530

Dear Madam,

It is quite surprising that you do not have the details of our Home care program, where as your Head office has sent us official letter in this regard in 2007 itself, your calicut service centre too has the details.

Our contact details;
V Vilasini,
'Damodhar'
Thiruvannur P.O.
Calicut 673 029

tel[protected]

Ravikumar

To: [protected]@hotmail.com
CC: [protected]@whirlpool.com; [protected]@Whirlpool.com; [protected]@whirlpool.com; [protected]@Whirlpool.com
Subject: Fw: HP 04041805
Date: Mon, 20 Jul 2009 15:56:08 +0530

With the below given Plan Number no record found in the system.

Please provide your contact number and address by return mail so that we can arrange to attend your complaint without further delay.

Elsy Thomas
Customer Care-Cochin.

HomeCareConsumerCell/Faridabad/IN/E/Whirlpool 07/20/2009 02:38 PM
Dinu Joy Parakkal/Cochin/IN/E/Whirlpool, Callcentre-Kochi/Faridabad/IN/E/Whirlpool, Elsy Thomas Non-Whirlpool/Cochin/IN/C/Whirlpool
cc
Helpdeskindia/Delhi/IN/E/Whirlpool, Muthu Kumar Murugesan/Delhi/IN/E/Whirlpool
Subject
Fw: HP 04041805

Pls do the needful to resolve the issue ASAP.

With Regards,
Sreeja
Home care consumer cell,
Whirlpool of India Ltd.
----- Forwarded by HomeCareConsumerCell/Faridabad/IN/E/Whirlpool on 07/20/2009 02:37 PM -----

"Ravikumar" <[protected]@hotmail.com> 07/17/2009 04:33 PM
To: <[protected]@email.whirlpool.com>
cc: <[protected]@yahoo.com>, <[protected]@hotmail.com>
Subject: HP 04041805

We had purchased a whirlpool model 1210-220lt
Product No : CO/P/0907/44726 purchased on Sept 19, 2007

We had availed Home care Plan Registration NF-0810-24m Plan code No. 1023171

As per the plan whirlpool service had to visit us for preventive maintenance on the following dates : 19/3/2008; 15/9/2008; 14/3/2009; and one for 10/9/2009; because of lack of support from Whirlpool service or Homecare the refrigerator has developed rust on the door and the frame .

We regret to inform you that in spite of our calls and visit to your Calicut Service office, no one turned up for any maintenance work, also we had requested or certain parts on the refrigerator door, which was not made available despite assurance. Now we understand that we have been sold an obsolete model in 2007, the reason for service centre not to take up the maintenance of this model.

We request you to kindly replace the rusty refrigerator at the earliest or we will be compelled to file a case against whirlpool at consumer forum.

Looking forward to a favourable action from your side.

For V Vilasini

Ravikumar C

Whirlpool India
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    69%
    Whirlpool India Address
    H.No 113/8 Model Town, Gurgaon, Haryana, India - 122001
    View all Whirlpool India contact information