[Resolved]  Mumbai Municipal Corporation — Payment of Bills

09th May 2011

No action has been taken till date and the same is going on for years, Will someone listen?

Mr. Shri. Subodh Kumar,
Municipal Commissioner,
Brihan Mumbai Municipal Corporation,
Mumbai: 400001.

Bahari Bldg. No. 3, Room No. 35/36,
T.J. Road, Sewri, Mumbai: 400015.
28th April 2011

I visited your below mentioned office again on 27th April 2011 to pay my bills, I had sent a complaint to the then Municipal Commissioner in 2006, who had asked his official to call me asking me about my grievance but sadly the system remains the same even today. The system of collecting bill payments by CFC is as follows, Every person paying notes of denomination 500/- and 1000/- is made to write the notes numbers on a book, sign and enter his contact number. Most people pay in denominations of 500/- and 1000/- rupees. There was a gentleman in my queue on counter no 2. who had a complete wad of 500/- rupee notes. He was entering the numbers of 100 bills of 500/- rupee notes after which the cashier again tallied all the numbers, this process took almost 2 hours. I again returned without paying because there were three more persons ahead of me with 500/- and 1000/- rupee notes. I would like to know that, is this practice mandatory, If so then what about banks in our city that transact crores of rupees in a day. Will these banks able to function with such practice.
Sir, I request you to look into the matter and find some solution where the consumer/client can complete his transaction within a reasonable amount of time.

Mathew Menezes

Bahari Bldg. No. 3, Room No. 35/36,
T.J. Road, Sewri, Mumbai: 400015.

Mr. Shri. Subodh Kumar,
Municipal Commissioner,
Brihan Mumbai Municipal Corporation,
Mumbai: 400001.

Sub: Long Queue in Payment of Water Supply and Other Bill payments.

I visited your F/south ward office located at Parel Naka on 23rd December to make cheque payment of my water supply bill, There was a huge queue and there was only one counter in operation. It would have taken me not less than an hour and the counters are open till 1 P.M. only. How can a working/business person manage to pay the bill? I am writing this because I have had an experience of standing in the queue and returning back without paying as the counter had closed before my turn. This deterred me from making the payment. I would like to suggest that drop boxes for cheque payments be installed at your ward offices, this will be of convenience to the public and save a lot of time.

Sir, I kindly request your good self to look into the matter so that Mumbaikars are provided better service.

Kind regards,

Mathew Menezes

no water bills have been received from september 2010 in the area i.e.households of block no.129 etc in Hindustan chowk mulund colony, mulund west mumbai. Kindly look into the matter.
Sub:- Complaint against Ward Officer Mr. MILIND S. VIBHUTE and Assistant Engineer SANKE attached with P/North Ward Municipal Office of allowing insisting, instigation abetting and granting permissions unofficial for Illegal & Unauthorized Construction to the contractors by accepting lakhs of rupees in the names of bribes.

I have to inform you that the BMC is very much aware to take action against the Illegal & Unauthorized Construction. Because the circular was given by Government of Maharashtra to Mumbai Mahanagar Palika to stop an illegal & unauthorized construction in the city and particularly in the Suburban Districts of Mumbai then after the illegal construction was going through the same.

I wish to inform you that the above said officers are very strict to use the said order against the Trodden/Poorer Section of the slum dwellers. But the said officers are closed down their eyes if any such illegal unauthorized construction is going by the riches groups of people in the slum area as well as on Non Development Zone to construct their Hotels, Residential, Commercial, Premises, etc.

I further wish to inform you that the above said officers have violated the Rules and Regulations of Mumbai Mahanagar Palika. They are taking openly corruption to the riches contractors. Therefore they were not registered the offence of M.R.T.P Act against the said contractors under “THE MAHARASHTRA REGIONAL TOWN PLANNING ACT, 1966” UNDER SECTION 52 and that is why the contractors has violated the law of Mumbai Municipal Corporation Act, 1888, Development Control Regulation Act, 1991, with the kind co-operation of the above said officers.

I further state you that your officers are taking the benefits under the shed of their chairs, your officers are performing their duty writing in according to their own thought & which going out of law & no legal activities has been done by the said officers. Therefore I am having no other option except to approach your good self considering my moral & legal duties to inform you with the above facts regarding unauthorized and illegal Construction work with the help of above said officers and also the above said officers have not dare to face the Contractor.

In view of above facts & circumstance you are hereby request to look in this matter personally in the interest of Justice. I request you to take the strong, legal as well as civil action against the concerned corrupt officers and please take inquiry about action taken in the ward by the above said officers who indulge in the corruption activities. So I request you to take immediate action and reply me at the earliest.

You’re faithfully,
SHADAB J. SAYYED

Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    13%
    Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai Phone
    +91 22 2262 0149
    +91 22 2496 2125
    Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai Address
    Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400001
    View all Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai contact information