ICFAI Business School [IBS] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Nov 5, 2023
Complaints 29

File a complaint to ICFAI Business School [IBS]

Having problems with ICFAI Business School [IBS]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by ICFAI Business School [IBS] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

ICFAI Business School [IBS] reviews & complaints page 2

mpsingh.ubs
from Warangal, Telangana
Aug 5, 2012

Fees not refunded

I have taken admission in IBS Hyderabad for MBA 2-YEAR program in 2010. Due to unavoidable circumstances, I have to withdraw my candidature from the institute. I have been continuously writing to institute and UGC for fee refund for 2 years, but to no avail.

I request to concerned authorities by means of this platform to kindly do the needful.

Maninder Pal Singh
[protected]@gmail.com...
jyoti ranghar
Jun 15, 2009

sir, i am the student of icfai business school.
there is a recent judgement by the tamilnadu high court about the illegality of the all the centers of icfai running accross india.
sir my question is if this is so, why the people of AICTE and UGC were sleeping when the students were giving their entrance exams for IBSAT and got final call from this institue. now after comlpleting our whole one year in this institute now AICTE is saying that our degree is not valid.
sir there are number institutes who are running like this but only icfai has been made the scape goat.
my complaint is against the AICTE officials whose ineffectiveness and slow proceduring lead this kind of mental trauma to the students who have devoted there whole career here.
any onecan file the PIL against icfai for running colleges but why not any one file the same against the AICTE.
you are quite right at this point
in efl university hydrabad deparment of russian school studies ., onre profesor mr surajbhan singh rajput teaching very badly becaouse of lack of expreance . all students worrid, please save us . we are the future of india. your truli

imabhilasha
    Jun 12, 2009

Me Anshul Kumar, (admit card no. 124594) S/O Late Mr P R Verma, got selected in waiting list in ICFAI dehradun for MBA program.

When my waiting list cleared I send a Demand Draft of Rs 80, 000/- (No. 757090, Punjab National Bank), to ICFAI head Admission office, Hyderabad, to get admission in MBA program in ICFAI dehradun campus.

Bus I was not medically very fit and As the ICFAI fees is about 10, Lack for 2 yrs, so I failed to arrange such a fees, So I requested ICFAI for getting my fees back.

I informed and requested properly (Via Email, Fax, and Registered post) to ICFAI for my incapability to get admission due to health and financial problems, but they didn’t responded.

Infect study material and registration no. was not send to me while it was sent to every one else who deposited the fee. It means Institute did not resister me for MBA 2011 batch and they supposed that I will not take admission at Dehradun campus.

While as per UGC public notice under act o[censored].3 (A) Section, about refunding fee in which it is stated “Money taken as Admission fee by institute/ by UGC recognized university should be returned by institute to student, in case if He doesn’t took admission, and informs before starting the class . Only 1000 Rs. Can be retained by University/ Institute”

So Kindly Oblige my by facilitating my fees (Now Rs 79000/-) refunding from ICFAI.

I will be highly oblige for you kind support

Anshul Kumar
    C/O smt. Latesh Kumari
    R-147, Shastri Nagar, Kamalganj, Farrukhabad,
    Uttar Pradesh-209724
    Mob- [protected]
    The student has been refunded Rs.79, 000/- in the month of June 2009.

ajay
      May 24, 2009

1) As per the following links ICFAI BUSINESS SCHOOL (IBS) Hyderabad is recognised by UGC and AICTE-

http://www.ibshyderabad.org/

http://www.ugc.ac.in/inside/deemed%20universities/icfai.html

The head at IBS Hyderabad says that IBS Hyderabad is Aicte Approved and its a Deemed university. If its Aicte approved how can it have 800+ strength for a single MBA 2 year Program. The website http://www.ibshyderabad.org/ mentions the fees for the two year program including hostel is 7.5 lacs, but the actual fee for the batch 2009-11 is 9.5 lacs and the hostel fee is 37500 per semester.

2) The website http://www.ibshyderabad.org/ mentions 7-8 PGDM Courses, but the fact is that IBS hyderabad provides only 2year MBA, 1 year MBA and PHD programs.

As of yet not many student are aware of this website http://www.ibshyderabad.org/, all the student know only about http://www.ibsindia.org, this website does not mentions anything about the AICTE Aproval and its Deemed University Status.

This way IBS Hyderabad is not maintaining transparency and keeping the students in the dark. I request you to please kindly help all o[censored]s, as student I request you to please kindly take up this matter on priority basis as our life and careers depends on this.

I request you to please kindly look into this matter.

Regards.
      Prospective Student.
      I want to do planning that complete MCA. Please tell me that which is the UGC or AICTE fake recognised in Hydrabad.
      I am a student of IBS[protected] batch in IBS Chennai. Teaching in IBS is far below quality. Campus Placement is a cheat. By July, 2009 we were asked to shift to Hyderabad or Dehradun or to discontinue the Course since IBS Chennai was closed due to High Court Judgement. Reasons for sudden closure is known to ICFAI only ? All the students were shocked. Having spent more than Rs.7 lakhs for the course our batch is going to be jobless. After seen the High Court Judgement no Corporate is coming for campus interview. It is total mental agony and I feel that I lost my two precious years in my life in the race of employment. Money lost, Time lost, Employment opportunity lost and so on ... Hence I am sincerely advising all the prospective students not to try admission in ICFAI. Donot write IBSAT - 2010 on 27th December, 2009 as it is nothing but waste of your energy, money and time.
      plz help us out..tell me is icfai is aicte approved or not??weather it is good for mba or not??
      IBS Hyderabad has been approved by AICTE for 8 courses and accordingly can take students upto 960. subsequently UGC has granted the status of deemed to be University. AICTE approval is mandatory for the UGC to give deemed university status. AICTE approved courses as PGDM courses and subsequently when the institution gets deemed university, they can award MBA degree.
      I want to apply for IBS Bangalore through my MAT score..before that i want to know that IBS is AICTE approved or not??nowhere it has written in the IBS website..it differs website to website..kindly tell me about this...
      IBS Bangalore is a constituent of Icfain Foundation and offers PGPM (Post graduate program in Management) It is not approved by AICTE. You may visit the website www.ibsat.org/ibscampuses.asp for information.
      Hi! Rashmi,

Icfai University offers flexible MBA Program which is considered to be the best in the industry. Also, Icfai University is recognized by UGC. Universities need not require to be AICTE approved. If you are willing to join MBA, Please write a mail to [protected]@ifenindia.org, the admissions officer would respond to your queries.
      Hi Aaarthy,

"The teaching and methodology followed at IBS Chennai cannot be considered as poor it has got the best faculties with good experience. This can be judged with the previous placement and pay package record. IBS Chennai was established in 1995 and around 1500 students have graduated.

The students were given opportunity to choose the other IBS campus and were transferred. Such students have got equal opportunity for placement and were also got placed.

"
      "Mr. Tiwary, IBS has been in existence since 1995 and about 20, 000 students have successfully graduated and got placed in various corporates. It has been consistently ranked in top 10 B-schools. IBS has not sought AICTE / UGC approval, for the only reason to have academic freedom. Our curriculam and rigor is different from the institutions offering MBA / PGDBA program. Our curriculam undergoes periodical review and necessary changes take place simplifying the requirements of the corporate world with case base methodology. It is well recognized in the corporate sector. As far as teaching and academics are concerned, it is the best and at par with leading B-schools. Placement scenario is bit down but it is due to recession. This is common for all.

IBS has closed its campuses at Indore, Bhubaneswar, Jaipur, Kochi and Nagpur. These respective States have expressed interest to offer private universities to ICFAI. Hence we will commence our operation next year. "
      Dear Ms.Rashmi Jha,

Please note that Icfai University offers flexible MBA Program which is considered to be the best in the industry.

Also, Icfai University is recognized by UGC. Universities need not require to be AICTE approved. If you are willing to join MBA, Please write a mail to [protected]@ifenindia.org, the admissions officer would respond to your queries.

SSO
      ICFAI University
      all these stpd kind of discussions still makes students unawre of wht really it is, , , , n its quite d right f students 2 knw as they r investing a huge sum of money an d crucial n precious time, , , , , so try 2 b ideal with d answers n discussions...for sake [censored]r wellfare also...shalini singh patna
      I am a Student Of ICFAI DISTANCE LEARNING PROGRAM. short while i am not in touch with ICFAI thr Website.Next i open the site its not working. so, Plz give me website name for student login

With Regard
      Ritesh Sinha
      IBS-Gurgaon is not approved by AICTE nor by UGC. Therefore they are giving MBA Degree from IFCAI-Dehradune through correspondance( Distance Learning).

This is clear case of cheating and earning money from uuknown student whoi put their hard earn money for education. This institute must transprant and clear hearted to avoid any confusions. This loose the confidence of student and also waste money and time of students and through student in dark. It is my suggestion to app new students to please verify the Approval of IBS and then only invest money and time.

Such institute are totally commercial and giving reason of good placement, they are charging 7 lakhs from poor students. Please be aware.

S.K.SHarma
      Dear Ajay,
      ICFAI Hyderabad never claims that it is AICTE approved because it is not
      It is UGC recognised university.Have some common sense and tell me that
      how come the director can say that it is AICTE approved deemed university
      when AICTE dosent have any authority to issue the status of a deemed university
      This status can only be issued by UGC-University Grant Comission.and a
      university can have 800 students.Secod thing where did you sae tha ICFAI
      Hyderabad offers PGDM are you gone Nuts that a college will offer PGDM and MBA both
      My dear www.ibshyderabad dosent mentions anything about PGDM program
      and who said you the fees of MBA is 7.5 lakhs it's 9.5 mentioned on the website Prospectus
      every where and the Hostel fees is rs 25000 per semester do not missguide aspiring students
      kya yha se b.e. kr skte h?
      15 Comments

G.Jaishree
        May 11, 2009

The representatives of IBS Coimbatore came to my college and gave a false orientation about the admission to sale the applicatoin. the following are the points they lied
        1. the campus is coming in ciombatore and admissions are done for the 2009 academic year.
        2.you can write an IBSAT-2009 admission test for the coimbatore test.
        3. you can select the campus which you wish.
        since i reside in coimbatore i planned to join. i availed the application form paying Rs.1100/- (one thousand and hundred). then i was called for the second round of test at Hyderabad. to avail the transport and transit room facilty i paid Rs.1100/- (one thousand and hundred ) for me and my mother. they rushed up and got the amount. I also paid the amount. i have done all these, beleiving that i would study in coimbatore campus. The very next day they conductev a selection briefing meeting at coimbatore. There i volunteerly enquired abour the coimbatore campus. they replied me that they are not going to start any campus at coimbatore. then later when i asked to refund the money they behave like a third rate people and scolded very harshly. they dind not give any proper reply. please take necessary actions and make them give my money back. please dont encourage such fraud institutions

Jaishree.G
        customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

ICFAI Business School — CHEAT IN APPLICATION SELLING

The representatives of IBS Coimbatore came to my college and gave a false orientation about the admission to sale the applicatoin. the following are the points they lied
        1. the campus is coming in ciombatore and admissions are done for the 2009 academic year.
        2.you can write an IBSAT-2009 admission test for the coimbatore test.
        3. you can select the campus which you wish.
        since i reside in coimbatore i planned to join. i availed the application form paying Rs.1100/- (one thousand and hundred). then i was called for the second round of test at Hyderabad. to avail the transport and transit room facilty i paid Rs.1100/- (one thousand and hundred ) for me and my mother. they rushed up and got the amount. I also paid the amount. i have done all these, beleiving that i would study in coimbatore campus. The very next day they conductev a selection briefing meeting at coimbatore. There i volunteerly enquired abour the coimbatore campus. they replied me that they are not going to start any campus at coimbatore. then later when i asked to refund the money they behave like a third rate people and scolded very harshly. they dind not give any proper reply. please take necessary actions and make them give my money back. please dont encourage such fraud institutions
        The student has been refunded Rs.1, 100/- in the month of may 2009
        The student has been refunded Rs.1, 100/- in the month of May 2009
        I am a student at IBS pune and I am not surprised to see such negativity about the college.
        I have several such experiences to share with you all, I will share a few for now.
        To start with the admission process
        1. They claim the admission process is centralised and that everyone needs to go to Hyderabad to give an interview and then the selected candidates will be allotted campuses based on their assessment. THIS IS COMPLETELY FALSE. after I came into IBS I got to know that there were interviews held in campuses such as Pune and Mumbai and students were selected from those particular campuses. That means the candidates who went to Hyderabad were not assessed along with the candidates who appeared for interview directly in Mumbai or Pune. This is a clear case of cheating and fraud.
        2. In the 4th semester there were options given for electives for specialization.
        Me being a core finance student opted for the subject.of mergers and acquisitions which was cancelled just before the start of 4th semester
        The reasons which they gave are laughable.
        They have made individual rules for separate campuses, in reply they said that the subject of M&A is too technical for the students and hence it is cancelled and also "minimum 20 students need to opt for a particular elective " only then they will consider that subject.
        All of this is not present in the student handbook which contains all the rules and information.
        Hearing such reply I had a thought in my mind ( what if we did the same thing that they r doing ? In that case we can say the same thing that we will only pay full fees if they actually teach all the subjects they offer!)
        There are several severe issues with this institution. I think these 2 are enough to tell their character and how they function.
        Please feel free to comment if someone of you have faced the same situation.. I. Absolutely sure that a lot of students have gone through such problems.

Ashish Kumar Tiwari
          from Raipur, Chhattisgarh
          Apr 27, 2009

Refund of First Installment of Fess Rs 80,000/-

I am students who got through ICFAI college hyderabad for MBA and had no option to pay their hard earned 80000 bucks to ICFAI authorities .I have informed the institute on 6th April 2009 via e-mail that I won't be joining the course and have asked for the refund but I have not got any response from the ICFAI officials.

There has been a circular issued by HRD ministry that has ordered all the institutes coming under UGC...
          Vikram Miglani
          Dec 31, 2008

I was selected in ICFAI BUSINESS SCHOOL & deposited fees Rs 80000 in march 2008, but didn't take admission, but Icfai didn't refund my fees, although it had refund fees of other candidates for which i had proof
          The student has been refunded Rs.64, 000/- in the month of october 2009.

amit1742
            Dec 19, 2008

I am Amit Kumar Jain from hyderabad. I joined Icfai business school, hyderabad in the month of may2008 for mba, later after a month due to medical reasons i could not continue my course and had to withdraw my admission. I gave a request to postpone my admission for the next batch which starts in may2009. Before joining the course i paid 80, 000 as admission fees and then on july25, 2008 i received a letter from IBS(Icfai business school) headqauters stating that My postponement (Deferrment) of admission would be processed if I pay the fees of 1st installment of 1.34 lacs along with the submission of mark sheets of graduation on or before november 1st, 2008.The reference letter of the Letter from IBS to me is IBS-HQ/SSD/STU52 OF 2008. On october 29th, I paid 1.34lacs and done all the other formalities. but later the registrar (Mr. Venkateshwar) at IBS headoffice Hyd said that they are not sure of giving admission to IBS HYD, they are willing to give any other campus. They said that they can let me know the status about my admission to ibs hyd only in the month of APRIL 2009. The reason they gave is that they have applied for AICTE approval for hyd campus, so if any documentation problem or any other problem comes up then they wont give me hyderabad campus. I have a certificate from the Doctor at CARE HOSPITAL HYD that I am strictly advised to stay at Hyderabad because I am under a medical treatment. The letter sent to me on july25, 2008 clearly states that My deferrment is for "hyd campus". They say that they will refund my 1.34 lacs if not given admission to hyd campus, but then also i will loose my 80, 000 admission fess, the important thing above money is my career, due to this thing my career is at stake. When i send a online query to the IBS people, they say that there is no such (postponement) deferment of admission facility. There is no transparency. Whenever I try giving an formal request for this matter at IBS headquaters Hyd, the authorities just say that dont worry, we will let you know the status by april 2009 and dont even care to read my formal request, I request the concenrned authorities to please help me getting back my admission to IBS HYDERABAD and save my career.

Regards.
            HI, The above complaint is written by me. All this problem was caused by some unknown and unconcerenec authority at IBS. I am extremely sorry as there was some misunderstanding created for my side. I am sorry for all the troubles and damages caused to each and everybody at IBS and thankfull to the concerned authorities who cooperated inspite of soo much problem created by my misunderstanding.

Lokesh Chawla
              Nov 18, 2008

Respected Sir / Mam Thsi is Lokesh Chawla from Ludhiana. I was selected for PGDBM - MBA Programme at ICFAI Business School, Hyderabad. The entry into the progrmme was on a condition that we were to deposit Rs. 80000/- as secrity deposit which was duly paid by me. But It was due to my Mother's acute Blood Pressure which had crossed 180 mark & the Doctors has asked for MRI, Angiography & Hospitalisation. So in such an environment i had issued a letter to the ICFAI Authorities which was received by them on 17/6/08 that Myself Lokesh Chawla was not able o join the Course for the above reasons even i had to sacrifice my job for my mother. I had also enclosed the various Medical Prescriptions of my Mother.A Recommendation Letter duly signed by Dr. Sandeep Puri, Head DMC&H, Ludhiana But since then i have not recieved a single reply from their side. Can all the wothy members please let me know the right channel how to proceed further because 80000/- is quite a good amount for me.
              Thx & Regards

Lokesh Chawla
              I duly agree to the genuine reason posted by Mr Loeksh Chawla and certailny some strict action must be taken against these authoroties so that they dont keep the money of genuine people as the money is hard earned by everyone & 80000/- is not a small amount
              I would request others also to join Hands so that Mr Lokesh gets his money back.
              I also strongly agree to the same as the reason is Family problem so must be heard by the authorities & the amount deposited must be refunded
              i disagree with lokesh statement as it is the rule of ICFAI as not to give the advance amount which they receive at the time of selection & it is clearly mentioned in their prospectus.