[Resolved]  Airtel Prepaid Mobile Service Mumbai — Activation of VAS without my consent and charging for services which was never applied for

I had taken the Airtel prepaid service in Mumbai in December 2009
Initially i had a balance of Rs 50 after the activation. I made a few calls and my balance was reduced to around 34. Then suddenly the next day my balance is reduced to Rs. 0
On inquiring i was told that all the amount was used up in GPRS transaction. I dont even know how to use GPRS. So i thought may be because i dont know i must have done something which might have used GPRS.
Then i recharged my phone with Rs 275. and soon with in 3 days my balance got reduced by Rs. 50-60.
I understood that its done because job alerts and some other alerts were activated.
I called up customer service they said that i have activated these alerts. I was told that these alerts might have been activated when the automatic calls from airtel comes and some button might have been pressed.
Then i was told if thats not happened what might have happened is they start the free trial service and after trial it continues and to stop it we have to send a message which i guess is total violation from the TRAI guidelines which states that unless The Consumer gives direct consent no value added service or any alerts should be activated.
I made a complaint and was told that i will be getting a call from their concerned department in 4 working days for the complaint i made with the complaint number [protected]
Then i called up to ask for the status after some days they refused to pay me back the money they stole from me.
Then i told them i do not wish to get any message from Airtel or any other company so they said they would activate the DND facility for me with the request number W[protected].
After this the service provider didnt send me any message.
My phone had been switched off for last 3 days.
Then when i start my phone today i got around 8 messages from Airtel with cricket updates.
I called up Airtel again about this and they said this might have happened by mistake and accepted their mistake and said they are returning the money they charged for this service.
In the evening again i got another cricket update and my balance was deducted again.
This time they said the balance is not deducted. I asked for information that when was the service activated and they first say on 16/2/2010 at 4AM
I asked him you believe that i got up at 4AM to activate this service he quickly corrects it by saying sorry its not AM but PM. But the question is how can i activate this service with my phone switched off.
To this he says i must have pressed some button when i got the automated call from Airtel.
Then i asked him to tell me if my DND service has been activated. To which he replied yes.

Now what i cant understand is
1. How can i get a call from Airtel when my phone i switched off.
2. Why i am getting calls and messages from Airtel as they claim that is how the service got activated when my DND is active
3. Why is TRAI guidelines being ignored so blatantly and these people having the guts to say that you wont get your money you want you can go to consumer court. (This was told to me when i was making a complaint for money being deducted for services which i didnt activate first time.)

Again he has give me a complaint number which is [protected] and i am very sure they will deny it from happening.

Seriously speaking i feel since the revenue per person has gone down this is the tactics they are using to extort money from us. I Hope some Airtel management sees this complaint and replies me with a solution

Also i would request everyone and anyone who has any information about where to make the complaint about the violation of DND and TRAI guidelines officially as i believe that by making an official complaint with the TRAI is the only way they can stop cheating clients who are supposed to be kings but treated like criminals and asked to pay for faults which they are responsible and not us.

Airtel — Activate DND without my consent

Sir, i am an airtel customer. My number is [protected]. I bought an airtel sim on january 2009. I called customer service for not getting any offer, but they are saying that you have activated DND service on 2007. For a newly started pack it is free from all service. By activating DND service they blocked my offers without my consent. For deactivating this i called several times and spent my precious time for this. At last i asked compensation from them for activating DND without my consent and spending lot of time with customer care. Please take action and ask them to compensate me Rs.1000. Thank you.

Airtel Prepaid — Activation of JOB Alerts without consent

VAS - Jobalerts was activated without my consent on my Airtel Prepaid Number - [protected]. The service has been bugging me for the last two daily moths without fail. You always somehow manage to send an sms while I am doing the only important work of the day.

Kindly Deactive the service. I am very content being jobless.

Airtel Mobile Prepaid — service activated without my consent

I have not opted for hello tune services but when i start my mobile after three days at 7.00am on 24-11-09 a message came from hello tunes saying thanku for subscribing hello tune service you have been charged Rs 30. Sender 543211 time 03:29:59 on 24-11-09.As i written my mobile was switched off from 22-11-09 morning to[protected].00 morning,message time is 3.29.59am.
my mobile no [protected].
i wish to inform you that, i am facing a serious problem on my cell number [protected].
i called on this number but according to call register no call was received from that number where i talked .
when i checked call register i got surprised according to call resiter at the same time call was received from other number.
when i checked that number there was no call made from the same number.
you are requested to take this matter seriously, your early action shall be highly appriciated. with regard ajay
Dear Mr Chugh,
Thanks for your comment.

I would just like to bring to your notice that if you have really gone through the complaint i made with all the description given by me there are atleast 3 reference numbers from where you can get my information from the Airtel Customer Service. The only thing is you willing to do so.

Secondly i guess this is the standard response given by Airtel Customer Service team as this is the same response give to all the complaints regarding airtel given in this site with none of them which i got through given any response about why the problem may have occurred.

And lastly we need to bring all our grievances at this public platform for the simple reason that your customer service is not actually of any customer service as all the information which they give are either rubbish or what all we already know. For ex I was told that the cricket alerts has been activated on the day my phone was actually switched off. On insisting to know why was i contacted for this service the response was may be some problem with the server which is another strange reason for which we are being charged when actually we should be given compensation for being disturbed while i am a registered DND client.

So i would like to request you to first give me some satisfactory reply here so that i should give you my other details (i dont understand why my address would be required as i dont think these alerts are concerned with my address. So i would also like to know the reason for your need of this information also)

Pankaj
Unsatisfied Airtel Customer

Pl send Name and address of pre-paid airtel Mobile owner. Mobile No is [protected].This no of Mumbai. soon.

Thanking You.

Airtel — jobs on mobile alert activated without consent

Jobs on mobile service has been acticated on my mobile phone ([protected]) without my consent.
Every day Re 1 get deducted from my balance.

Kindly take the necessary action and immediately stop this service.

Anish singh Chaudhary
anish.[protected]@gmail.com
Mobile phone- [protected]
I agree with Mr Pankaj. AirTel is only interested in exploiting people, rather than giving them good service, their customer care executives are useless, they only give redundant or wrong information, put us on a never ending hold and never get back with a proper solution, just saying humme iske liye khed hai, we are sorry and what not. They were good when they were only into telecommunciation, but now after trying hands on everything, they are spoiling their name. And the funniest thing is after 31st May 2010. The customer care service on 121 will be chargable !!! how lame??? We need to pay to speak to your executives... Get a life

Airtel — Activation and Charging money for Alerts without my permission

I have called airtel customer care seven times and all seven didn't gave any solutions to Refund my money. For your kind information i did not activate the Alert option. It got activated by Airtel and they charged me for these alert without my permission. The details of Alerts activated by them and my money deducted them is as follows,

Alert Type Activation date Days/ Frequency Money deducted

Ramayan Alert 25/01/2011 48 96 Rs.

LKD Alerts 02/01/2011 2 or 3 times 20 or 30 Rs.

The customer care didn't respond my complaint and refused to refund me. I want my all money back and also the money charged for calling customer care. Please provide me the way to take serious action against the company. This was happened with me for third time , so I want aware all customer using mobiles and to teach a lesson to the company. Here I briefly writing my complaint because, the Aitel company has 13 cores customers and I calculated that if they deduct money from each customer illegally 10 Rs. each, they can earn 130 cores yearly. I know that they earning by this way, on my fathers mobile they activated number of alert without their permission. Please contact me on email or mobile no. and we have to file a common complaint in court if they deceived you. This is My address and contact details

Mr. Bhushan Shivraj Kantode
C/O Kavtekar.
Vishwa Residency, Dange chowk,
Thergaon, Pune.
Email: [protected]@scigenin.com, [protected]@yahoo.co.in
Mobile: [protected], [protected]

Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    Airtel Phone
    +91 96 6339 5551
    +91 11 4266 6500 [Head Office]
    +91 11 4666 6100 [Head Office]
    Airtel Address
    20, Sarakki Main Road, JP Nagar 1st Phase, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560078
    View all Airtel contact information