[Resolved]  TATA Indicom Photon Plus — INAPPROPRIATE/FRAUDULENT BILLING STRUCTURE

I purchased Photon Plus @ Nite Surf connection from Tata Indicom on 5/8/09 and was told that I would be given 2GB free download during daytime(7AM - 11PM) and 10GB download during night(11PM - 7AM). Any extra usage must have been charged @0.50 per MB.

Upon receiving the bill, it was shocking to see that they have charged me on the basis of HH/MM/SS taking my bill to Rs2313 which would have been otherwise close to Rs1000 only. They have also not clearly stated my usage details, that is, bundled usage and extra usage. As per the RTI Act, being a customer I have the right to know the exact details for which I am billed.

I would like the authorities to check the billing structure of Tata Indicom so that customers are not looted by means of hidden/fraud methods. For information purposes, I have attached my bills and the plan advertisement along with this complaint.

Simran Jeet Singh

TATA Indicom — Excess Billing as per the old plan even after changing

This is to bring your attention towards the conduct of breach in the billing of my "Tata Indicom Plug to surf" Tata Indicom No: [protected] & Account Number :[protected].

I requested my plan to be changed on 2nd of May 09 to "325 Monthly rental" and the same was assured it got changed and my next bill would be generated on pro rata basis with the revised plan and I used the service adhering to the new plan. But still I received the bill as per the old plan Bill Date: 23/05/09.

Every Telecom company is sending the bills on pro-rata basis.

Kindly look into the matter and do the needful.

Thanks in anticipation.

--
Ehtesham
(+91)[protected]
Good evning iam thiru, i wanted for [protected] this number take for internet using but this sim missed one week, but bill was 1668. No infromation for the details in the your branch, but he send the law and order 406&418. sorry for late infromation, i am go for combuter today, mention the latter number [protected] i am call this number but he is no responce the call so iam send the complaint plasce take action ok i am ready pay for amount, you give the full details ok
this is the first latter ok

TATA Indicom — excess billing over and above plan

My Tata Indicon data card number is :- [protected],i am using their service since last january 2009.
I was using their 30 hrs plan and swieched to VDATA 1 GB plan from 16/8/09.

Now first of all they send us bill from 23/7/09 to 10/9/09.and also they have charged us over and above 1 gb as our usage has nt even reached 1 GB.

we have complained for this several number of times to their concerned department,but all the complain has fallen n deaf ear and they have ignored it all the time.

so we have decided to discontinue using their service and switch ovver to Realiance or Airtel .

This is really a very bad experience o[censored]sing Tata service ,as we normally see Tata as our backbonne of Economy.
Have been going through the pains, cusotmers are going through.. not sure who will bell the cat.. god knows

TATA Indicom/Photon + — Excess Bill Generation

Sorry to say, but Tata Indicom is simply looting the customers of Photon+ services.

My Photon+ plan is of 950 INR per month. According to this plan my download limit is of 2GB morning and 10 GB in the night. Nowhere its written and even customer care persons didn't tell me that if I starts download before 11 PM, it will take charges of morning plan even after 11 PM.

Customer care of Tata Indicom didn't bothered me to tell these details at the connection time. But after bill generation of 3000 INR, they are telling me these details.

Please don't use Photon +, it really sucks.... its services, its customer care... everything.
i agree with you completely..i have got the same connection with the different tariff...the problem i am getting is the speed...i supposed to get 3.1Mbps(but customers atleast expected 1Mbps) but i am getting a speed like 100kbps for browsing and 10-20kbps for downloading...after paying INR 3500/-...i gave complaint twice which are not useful at all and they dont really care abt the complaints...as you said tata photon plus, customer care, technicians, everything sucks, dont take this connection...
tata indicom has this custom of generating excess bills ...and i suppose there is a bug in their system which shows unimaginably high usage numbers!!!
Or might be tata is playing a probabilistic game of fraud by generating excess bills

TATA PHOTON is cheating on its customers through inappropriate billing and not keeping up to its word. I am a Photon Plus (rather I was, as I would no longer like to use its services) customer since near about six months now. My plan was Rs 750/- with 3600 minutes usage per month, after goingthrough their new unlimited plan details I have called their [protected] Customer Care number on 18th August and requested my plan to be changed to unlimited plan (i.e Rs 950/- + tax). They have assured me that since it was middle of my billing cycle, they will change my existing plan from next billing cycle onwards i.e from 5th September onwards. Just to be doubly sure, I have called their customer care number again on 2nd September and taken asurance of my plan change effective 5th September. I was assuming that the plan has changed from 5th September and I have started using internet more often and for long durations as it was unlimited plan. But, when I called up same Customer Care number on 9th of Sepptember for a billing query and also asked for my existing plan which was supposed to have got activated, to my surprise the Customer Care representative informed that i was still under Rs 750/- limited hours plan. I was spell bound and zapped by their act. I have formally lodged a written complaint and asked for an explanation. Their representatives have called me back and informed that I have only enquired about un-limited plan and not asked for change of plan. I was not happy at all and sent another written complaint, finally someone has called me on 12th September and informed that they have verified all my calls made to them and they accept that it was their fault and the unlimited plan would be effective as communicated form Sep 5th onwards and formally in systems it would get updated from Oct 5th as it was middle of billing cycle. Though the bill that would be generated for Sep month would be that of my rs 750 /- plan, but as they have confirmed post to bill generation they would re-work it to unlimited plan. Again I was betrayed, and the bill generated for Sept month on 4th Oct was for Rs 3600/- and they refuse to provide any solution as yet.

I DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH THEM.

FOR NEW USERS PLEASE BE CAREFUL WITH TATA PHOTON SERVICES.

ROHINI

tataindicom- photon Plus — my account does not take in pay bill

hello,
my Account with the Tata indicom for paying bill online was working well. however, for last two months [February; March 2011], I have been facing the problem of failing at payment.
I want to close down the previous account and start a new account, which again is not possible. I do not know why?
Any help?
My email is sdbaral.[protected]@gmail.com
my phone::[protected]
I have been a regular susbscriber to tata photocn plus for one year([protected]). After being fed up with excess billing every month, I opted for unlimited connection under advance payment scheme with yearly rental being payable in 3 instalments (this was clearly explained to me by the customer serve rep of the co and can be verified by recorded msg). However, I was sent a bill for advance payment of the entire amount for the year in one instalment. On raising a complaint with the co, it was advised to me that I pay the same in three monthly instalments and the service wiill be continued(the same can also be verified by the co through the recorded msg of customer service rep).I accordingly paid the first instalment of rs. 3144 before the due date. However, I was utterly surprised to find that the company subsequently disconnected my service. Beinga frequesnt traveller, I have not been able to take up the matter in time with company nor could make any alternative arrangement causing undesirable hardship. This abrupt disconnection after a misleading inmformation is totally undesirable from a company of tata group.

My previous payment record has been impeccable without any instance of non-payment or delay in payment. However, the company does not have any system of checking the antedecents of customers before taking a drastic and unjustified step
Cheatedby TataPhoton
Please go through the mail below before buyng TATA Photon Plus.

Latest update : After posting this mail to Tata indicom customer care, I got a reply saying that if I pay 1500 and buy a new device I will be able to use Tata photon internet. So they mean that everytime you switch location, you dump your device and buy a new one so those at Tata indicom will get their monthly pay.
Even though I am the owner of the useless device, I am unable to use it because of the in TATA indicomm.

This is regarding the series of issues I am facing with my TATA photon plus usb device.

I bought a Photon Plus device last year, from a TATA dealer at Powai, Mumbai. I gave my local Mumbai address (Mahakali Caves, Andheri, Mumbai ) and obtained a postpaid connection. The postpaid account number is[protected]. The TATA indicom person came to the address specified above, and installed the device on my laptop . After using the postpaid connection for about two months, I applied for converting my postpaid connection to prepaid connection at TATA indicom showroom at Sakinaka, Mumbai. I went to Sakinaka office continously for about three months, and then got my postpaid connection converted to prepaid . The prepaid number is [protected].

Till December, I was using the prepaid connection, after which I got transferred to Chennai, TamilNadu. After that when I tried to access my device in Chennai, I got an error that my account was blocked. So, I called up the Customercare and they said that an address verification was held in Mumbai at January, and since I was not at Mumbai at that point of time, my device was blocked.

So, I applied for a fresh prepaid connection at TamilNadu, and tried to activate the device. But again, when I tried to activate using the new number, I received the message that my device is blocked. So I went to the dealer at Chennai, and told him the problem. He checked with TATA authorities and said that the Mumbai number is still in my device and it needs to be removed from my device in order for me to use the device again. So, when I tried to contact customer care to remove the Mumbai number from my device, I got the most surprising answer from the Customer care executive . He said that the number [protected] was registered to some other person (it was a male) in Mumbai.

It was a shock to me to know that the prepaid number which I had been using for about 3 months was actually registered in the name of some other person. Finally the customer care guy said that it is impossible for me to use the device again, as the number can be removed only if the person to whom the number is registered to, applies to disconnect the number.

My wonder is how come people at TATA indicom showroom at Sakinaka gave me a prepaid number that was already registered in some other person's name. They had given a connection in the name of some non-existent person, and finally say that the device is blocked because I was not at that address. How can I apply to deactivate the connection if the connection itself was provided in some other person's name. If I had given wrong address, how could the TATA indicomm person come to that address and installed the device on my laptop?? This is really irritating. Because of the mistake done by some stupid officials at Sakinaka office, I am unable to use the device that I bought for about Rs. 1800.

I have enough proof to show that I am the original owner of the device and that I was using the postpaid and prepaid connections from my laptop.
I have provided the device details below :
ME ID : A000001A9E76B3
S. No. : U09MAB[protected]

I bought the device using TATA employees discount. I had provided my ID card for ID proof. I have used my HDFC account to pay bills for my postpaid account, and to recharge the prepaid account.

Since I am the original owner of the device, I feel I deserve the right to use the device. Just because some careless registered my connection in someone else's name, I cant be made to suffer for his carelessness. I can provide enough proof to claim the ownership. And that being said, I request you to act hastily so that I could be able to use the device within a week.

I am getting frustrated day by day for wasting my money on a useless device. Its been six months since I came to Chennai, and I am unable to check mails or connect to internet just because I bought an useless device. I request you to take the necessary action immediately, as I cannot waste my time further on this useless device. If my complaint is not resolved in a week, I have no other option than to dump this device and opt for some other network provider who provide good customer service, and most importantly, who dont cheat customers . I also inform you that if I cant use this device, I want a full refund of my money, failing which I may be forced to take legal actions against you for all the distress and mental agony that I have been through so far.

Hoping this issue will be resolved soon.

Tata Indicom
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    60%
    Tata Indicom Phone
    +91 22 6667 1414
    Tata Indicom Address
    D 26, TTC Industrial Area, Sanpada, Turbhe, Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400703
    View all Tata Indicom contact information