Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Sep 3, 2025
Complaints 2255

File a complaint to Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]

Having problems with Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] reviews & complaints page 100

ssaha21
Jul 5, 2014

I Ms Sarmistha Saha, Consumer no: [protected], Customer Id : [protected], Bill No. : [protected], had paid my CESC electricity bill amounting to Rs 7738.00 (Rupees seven thousand seven hundred thirty eight and forty nine paise only) for the month of May 2014 through net banking on 05/07/2014 and the above amount was debited from my bank account. However, I am yet to receive any receipt/acknowledgement from CESC regarding the above payment.
Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

D_Das_2014
    Jul 4, 2014

My Consumer Name: Biswanath Roy, Consumer no: [protected], Customer Id : [protected], Bill No. : [protected], I had paid my CESC electricity bill amounting to Rs 2790.00 (Rupees Two thousand Seven hundred and Ninety only) for the month of May 2014 through net banking on 04/07/2014 at 15:09 hours and the above amount was debited from my bank account. However, I did not received any receipt/acknowledgement from CESC regarding the above payment. My request to you please send the receipt of the above mentioned e-bill through e-mail to this e-mail address: [protected]@rediffmail.com
    Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

ssur
      Jul 3, 2014

E-bill payment receipt not generated

I Mr Sudipta Bose, Consumer no: [protected], Customer Id : [protected], Bill No. : [protected], had paid my CESC electricity bill amounting to Rs 1833.49 (Rupees One thousand Eight hundred and thirty three and forty nine paisa) for the month of May 2014 through net banking on 02/07/2014 at 22:49 hours and the above amount was debited from my bank account. However, I am yet to receive any receipt/acknowledgement from CESC regarding the...
      Shibdas
      Jul 3, 2014

My consumer name: SHIBDAS DAS, consumer no: [protected], Customer Id : [protected], Bill No. : [protected], I have paid the e-bill amount(RS1453/-) of May 2014 through online bill payment on 02/07/2014 and the amount of RS1453/- has been debited from my bank account, but I did not get any receipt/acknowledgement from CESC. I still don't know, how this problem would be solved and when CESC would refund this payment which is not adjusted. Please look into this matter as early as possible.

Santosh Bubna
        from Chittaranjan, West Bengal
        Jul 3, 2014

I Santosh Bubna residing of 14/21/2 Sanatan Mistry Lane, Howrah - 711 106 complaining about excess billing in the month of May'14. From Last 6 months my average consuming units are approx 150 units. All of Sudden in May'14 the bill showing 1072 units consumed. So please recheck the meter reading and correct the bill amount immediately. Also inform me the reason for excess units. As I am Domestic consumer so there is no question of excess billing. So please check it.

Thanking you in advance with anticipation.

Santosh Bubna

Indrajit Lahiri
          Jul 3, 2014

Dear sir, This complaint is regarding the consumer no: [protected]. Customer Id : [protected], Bill No. : [protected]. Its in the name of Sova Hazra, 19/1/G, abinash Chandra Banerjee Lane. Our current bill for the month of May'14 has come to a total unit of 1351 and totalling to an amount of INr 11640/-. this is quite unusual as the average consumption of our last few months is around 130 units. On good faith and trusing yourn opinion, we've cleared the current due as well abt we're seriously worried about the same. Please look into the matter. Regards, Indrajit Lahiri [protected]

adrika
            Jul 3, 2014

I have two meter boxes in my house. Due to immense rain water has entered the main supply pipe and is dripping down on the meter boxes. Since we have wooden meter boxes so within these two days, immense water has led the wood to rot transforming the once wooden meter boxes in a dilapidated condition accompanied with an extremely rotten smell. It is impossible to stay in the house in this condition as it is smelly and dangerous too. I had contacted the emergency dept yesterday and they had invigilated the said problems pretty promptly and had informed the necessary authorities. But no person(s) have arrived since for repairing the said problem. My Docket no is[protected] and I request u to inform the necessary authorities and send them for repairing the problem as early as possible.

SAS.BIOSYNTH
              Jul 2, 2014

I am your customer consumer no--[protected] name mr. Anil kr. Dutta . I always depositing my electricity bill in stipulated time period .This month my average bill suddenly increased without any reason . I think somewhere or the other this bill is absolutely wrongly billed or unit consumption is is wrong when the unit consumtion was being taken by your company personnel at the time of meter reading .
              This is my earnest request to cross check the unit consumption in my meter or recheck the avarage monthly billing so that this problem can be solved.
              As per as this bill is concern kindly suggest me, what i should do after getting this increased billed amount .We have got our own budget to run everything in life & now your increased billed amount pulls me in such a condition that i have to face many problem .Kindly do the needfull at the earliest & send me the suggesion

ravikch
                Jul 1, 2014

Dear sir/mam I have received electricity bill for may 2014 showing units consumed as 1567 units and net amount payable rs. 12960. I would like to bring to your attention that average consumption of last 6months is appx. 275 units only. Please look into the matter at the earliest as such a huge amount has totally taken me by surprise and i have a lot of faith in your meter reading system. So kindly do not let me down and investigate my problem at the earliest. Name- ravi kumar chatlani Palazzo Fl-10e 35 panditia road Kolkata 700029 Phone - [protected] Email- mrs.[protected]@yahoo.in

JAI PRAKASH JINDAL
                  Jul 1, 2014

I have paid online against my electricity on 30/06/2014 Rs. 2458.49 against my above consumer number through net banking from ICICI Bank and the amount is debited from my Bank Account.
                  However, i have not received receipt and the same is showing due in CESC. I dont know how to get the same reconciled and get payment recorded against my electricity or when CESC would refund payment which is not adjusted.

J P Jindal
                  Dear Mr.Jindal,

We're sorry to hear your concern. We have made a note of your e-mail ID.
                  Our official will get in touch with you soon.
                  We appreciate your patience.

ICICI Bank Customer Service Team.

ujjal biswas
                    Jul 1, 2014

my consumer no-[protected], consumer name- sachindranath biswas, i lived at chowbaga zone.here, , everyday current supply condition is very.distrupted.(2-3hr..)..every peoples becoming inconveninet...please sir, , take step with responsible...
                    thanking u..,

nehz30
                      Jul 1, 2014

E-Bill payment receipt not available

Consumer No. [protected] Consumer Name: Mr. Rakhal Ch. Dutta Bill for May'14 has been paid today i.e. 01.07.2014 through online payment but I did not get any receipt. Cant find a helpline number for the same to address my issue. Due date is 02.07.2014. Don't know if bill paid or not and amount is debited from my account. Please help at the earliest....
                      81 Comments
                      debuga44
                      from Chittaranjan, West Bengal
                      Jun 28, 2014

I'd like to bring to your notice that I am Dhirendra nath Roy have been receiving very high electricity bill of Rs. 650, and Rs. 600 for the month of April 2014 and May 2014 respectively.My consumer no. is [protected], consumer type- Domestic. My average unit consumption is around 50 units during summer time, whereas for the month of April and May the bill shows consumption of more than 107 units. I am using the same no. of fans, lights, and tv, and there is no A.C., but suddenly the bills gone up, which is just the double amount, way beyond my electricity consumption. I would therefore request you to re check both the bills immediately and arrange for immediate refund/adjust excess billing amount or re generate correct bill amount. Regards, Dhirendra nath Roy Mobile- [protected]
                      IN OUR "PURNALAKSHMI APARTMENT LOCATED AT 24 GARFA MAIN ROAD, THERE ARE 11 ELECTRIC METER . IT MAY BE NOTED THAT THE UNIT CONSUMED FOR ALL THE METERS IS SHOWN AS ALMOST 1.8 TO 4 TIMES OF THE AVERAGE CONSUMPTION IN EACH METER RESULTING IN BILL AMOUNT TO BE PAID ARE ALMOST 2.5 TIMES TO 4 TIMES EXCEPT IN ONE METER WHICH AS PER BILL IT SHOWS NIL CONSUMPTION BUT THE CORRESPONDING METER IS SHOWING ESTIMATED 600 UNIT CONSUMPTION AROUND THE OF READING DATE OF 01 JULY.2014. IT IS NOT UNDERSTOOD HOW THE METER READING GETS SO HOW IN 10 METERS OUT OF 11 METERS. I AM INDICATING FOUR CUSTOMER IDS OF PURNALAKSHMI APARTMENT, 24 GARFA MAIN ROAD KOLKATA-700075 FOR READY REFERENCE
                      CUSTOMER I.D - [protected], [protected], [protected] AND [protected] AND EXPECTING SOME INSPECTION FROM CESC AUTHORITIES TO ADDRESS THIS PECULIAR PHENOMENON COSTING US HUGELY

EXPECT SOME RESPONCE FROM CESC ON MAIL id "[protected]@gmail.com"
                      I am Amar Banerjee with consumer Number [protected] is receiving excessive electric bill from last two months, which is more than the bill when I kept my AC on for 5 hours a day. I have received a total bill of 3580 in the month of July'14 which is at least 1.5 times higher than the average bill, the same thing also happened in the month of june'14 also. It may be a coincidence, that soon after I started paying my bill through net payment I am receiving this kind of excessive bills. Kindly look in to this and please adjust excess amount charged from my next bill.

CESC (Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation) — over voltage and low voltage

consumer no -[protected]

Unable to get sept14 mths E-BILL (Details attached)

For consumer no.[protected] n [protected] so that I can pay off online through internet banking. Regards, pankaj bhattacharjee Cell no...[protected]

uttamncp
                        Jun 28, 2014

Address: Howrah, West Bengal

Consumer no : [protected] Nature of complaint : Bill related issue, month of May'14 Remarks : Howrah Regional Commercial Executive does not pick up my phone call from last 10 days Kindly help to resolve my issue immediate basis ' Thanks & regards Uttam Pattanayak [protected]

manas75
                          Jun 28, 2014

Dear Sir, I would like to bring to your notice that I, MANAS SAHA, have received an abnormal electricity bill of Rs.3780 for the month of May 2014. My Consumer No. is [protected] and my address is 5/5 Motilal Mullick Lane Kolkata 700035(LP.63/9/1/1/1.) My average units consumption is around 103 units whereas, for the month of May 2014 the electricity bill shows a consumption of 594 units which is an absolute abnormal amount, way beyond the normal electricity consumption. I would therefore, like you to look into the matter and take necessary action in order to redress the aforesaid problem as soon as possible. LP.63/9/1/1/1 Consumer No. : [protected] MANAS SAHA 5/5 MOTILAL MULLICK LANE KOLKATA 700 035 My yearly consumption as follows Month Billed Units Gross Bill Amount Net Bill Amount May-14 594 3816.93 3781.93 Apr-14 0 32.26 32.16 Mar-14 109 616.85 611.35 Feb-14 67 361.29 358.18 Jan-14 47 251.70 249.57 Dec-13 50 258.55 256.28 Nov-13 78 400.04 396.26 Oct-13 117 626.37 620.37 Sep-13 184 1064.75 1054.34 Aug-13 130 719.92 713.00 Jul-13 117 652.13 646.03 Jun-13 107 585.45 579.98 May-13 132 743.96 736.90

Ranaroy
                            Jun 27, 2014

Dear Sir, I would like to bring to your notice that I, Rana Roy, have received an abnormal electricity bill of Rs.7260 for the month of May 2014. My Consumer No. is [protected] and my address is 178B, Sarat Bose Road, Kolkata-700029. My average units consumption is around 103 units whereas, for the month of May 2014 the electricity bill shows a consumption of 843 units which is an absolute abnormal amount, way beyond the normal electricity consumption. I would therefore, like you to look into the matter and take necessary action in order to redress the aforesaid problem as soon as possible. Thanking You, Rana Roy 178B, Sarat Bose Road, Kolkata-700029. Consumer No. [protected] Phone no.: [protected]/ [protected]
                            for the month of May, 14 to July, 08 2014Excess Electricity bill.please look into the matter & initiate necessary action to do the needful.
                            Consumer NO. [protected]

kanak k debnath
                              Jun 27, 2014

Dear sir, I am not using my meter regularly because I am presently staying out of kolkata due to service exigency and I am staying in my home during summer vacation only. in view of I want to pay my electricity bill at the end of july every year. is it possible to pay without fine. or can u disconnect meter till 10 May 15 to avoid paying meter charges.

Bijay Ghosh
                                Jun 25, 2014

We are the residence of DumDum. Few month back we made a complaint for this consumer no in the name of Ranen Ghosh regarding higher bill. after that we were getting appropriate bill amount. But now we are seeing that after March'14, we did not get any bill against that meter, We have checked the mater reading, which is 44unit now, till we didnot get the bill in the running month. So, please check the matter and do needful as early as possible. Thanks & Regards; Bijay Ghosh FL -5, 1st floor 1647, purbasinthi road, dumdum, kolkata-700030, w.b Mob:[protected]

Ushashi12
                                  Jun 25, 2014

Customer ID [protected]. Bill no.[protected]. In the month of May '14 current bill, the consumed units 309(c) shown compared to Average consumption 60 units for last 12 months.IF the consumed units considered also for billing month April'14 ( which is shown big zero in last month bill )- Reason not known by the consumer. The abrupt abnormal consumption in May can not be rationally explained when 1) No change in consumption pattern ( no addition of electrical Gajetts) 2) No festival / social occasion's / gathering during that period in 860 sqft flat. 3) No out side unwarrented connection due to closed locked in side meter room. I will be obliged If prompt action and rational reply is available to the following address. Email: [protected]@ yahoo.co.in. Yours faith fully JAYITA GHOSH Address: Flat no 3C, 53D, Dr S.C. Banerjee Road. Beleghata Kolkata:700010

Uma Sankar Roy
                                    from Amalapuram, Andhra Pradesh
                                    Jun 25, 2014

Address: North 24 Parganas, West Bengal

I have received Electricity bill for the month of May, 2014 showing therein due amount is Rs. 82/- against meter No 4606393 and billed for 1 unit only ( Bill No [protected] ). I am the consumer of your service and there cannot be 1 unit consumption in a full month of May, 2014. Please note that I have increased my Load (kva) to 6 from 2.90 kva. I am unable to understand that whether meter reading was not taken& billed wrongly and if it is so, are you are going to charge me at high rate because of Rate table in the next month. I would request you to look into the matter and not to charge me at higher rate per unit in the next month bill. Thanks Uma Sankar Roy [protected] Consumer No [protected]