Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Sep 3, 2025
Complaints 2255

File a complaint to Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]

Having problems with Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] reviews & complaints page 110

sarikagupta
Dec 19, 2011

electricity theft

Address: Howrah, West Bengal

This is with regard to electricity theft and high electricity bills by CESC ltd and inability to register a complaint online ( once u type ur complaint, the submit button doesnt work) and even at phone no-one picks up or when they pick up a consumer call, they disconnect it

I am a working professional and reside at Flat no.11/05, tower 4 ruchira residensy, 369, purbachal,Kalitala Main road, Kolkata...
20 Comments
yourbiswanath
Dec 17, 2011

Address: West Bengal

I have complain against CESC Limited that due their faulty electric meter the charged me excessive bill. On 12.12.2011 i personally requested th Senior Commercial officer to make arrangement to check my electric meter but the request fells on deaf ears.
my Consumer no:- [protected]
Adress:- Biswanath Hazra
Ichapur Telecom Housing Complex
Bolck- B 7/ Flat - 12
Ichapur, Howrah- 711101
West Bengal
KINDLY REDIRECT MY GRIEVANCE APPEAL TO THE APPROPRIATE TO C.A

TO
THE DY.MANAGER (Commercial),
(kind attention to Sri Basudev Mukherjee)
CESC NORTH OFFICE
RESPECTED SIR,
IT IS REGRET TO INFORM YOU THAT YOUR NOMINATED METER READING STAFF HAVE NOT ATTENDED MY HOUSE TO TAKE EXACT CONSUMED UNIT FOR THE MONTH OF JANUARY'12 .
HOWEVER, AN EXCESS UNIT SHOWN IN BOTH OUR BILLS i.e.1)CONSUMER NO.[protected] in f/o Late Sailendra Nath Bose(Domestic) and Meter No.0948133, Consumed unit shown as 210 in addition to Previous Meter Reading i.e.7027, hence comes to 7027+210=7237 as per reading date on 30/01/12 mentioned in your current Year's bill of January 2012.
2) Consumer No.[protected] in f/o Probir Bose(Domestic) and Meter No.3101664, Consumed Unit shown as 107 in addition to previous Meter reading 17198, hence comes to 17198+107=17315 as on 30/01/12( Meter Reading Date)
Howeve, it is regret to inform you that till today both the METERs have not yet crossed 7237 and 17315 unit reading bar which earmarked in January 2012 Bills respectively for both the ushers as mentioned above.

Please treat this as "MOST-URGENT" and rectify the same accordingly with allowing special rebate in the next month's Bills as because U are collecting excess amount in most unethical way.
Thanking you with better expectation and solicited transparent transactional dealings in future and also solicited your valued reply at the earliest please.

Yours Truly,
PROBIR BOSE (CONSUMER NO.[protected])
Ref. Bill No [protected]/09187
Customer ID [protected]
Subject : Sudden escalation of Electricity bill for September 2018

I would like to draw your kind attention to the above-noted subject. The electricity bill for September 2018 found to be much higher than my average bill amount. Since I am a retired person and not covered by any pension scheme but somehow managing my living with the drastically reduced interest on bank deposit so I am very much cautious in consumption of electricity.
Therefore, I would request you to have the bill thoroughly examined against your record and rectify it as early as possible and adjust the excess amount
Thank you in advance for your co-operation.

D.S.Chatterjee
H-2/141, Sarsuna Satellie Township,
Kolkata700061
Ref. Bill No [protected]/09185
Customer ID [protected]
Subject : Sudden escalation of Electricity bill for September 2018

I would like to draw your kind attention to the above-noted subject. The electricity bill for September 2018 found to be much higher than my average bill amount. Since I am a retired person and not covered by any pension scheme but somehow managing my living with the drastically reduced interest on bank deposit so I am very much cautious in consumption of electricity.
Therefore, I would request you to have the bill thoroughly examined against your record and rectify it as early as possible and adjust the excess amount
Thank you in advance for your co-operation.

D.S.Chatterjee

kalya29
    Oct 29, 2011

Address: North 24 Parganas, West Bengal

TheHead(CorporateCommunications)
    CESCHouse,ChowringheeSquare
    Kolkata - 700001.

Sub: Low voltage in supply of electricity, Consumer
    No. [protected]-Reg:

This is the reiteration of my earlier complaint about two and half months before on behalf of my ailing brother Shri Tapas Das which may be read as follows:-
    Shri Tapas Das had got the CESC consumer number [protected].We reside at Mayrapara, P.O- Ichapur, Nawabgunj , Pin-743144. Dist.-24 Prgs(N), LP- 24/14/3. For years we are facing a lot of problem due to low voltage in the supply line supplying the electricity in our house since incepted in the year 1994. All the previous verbal complaints to the local CESC authority took a deaf ear. The condition is so wretched that it is difficult to turn on a tube light without the use of an electronic choke at night. Let alone, the use of the other electrical equipments o[censored]rgent need including the water pump, Aqua guard etc. Even it is hard to manage to get the Desk Top Computer to work once in a day of 24 hours due to low voltage.More than two months elapsed since my last complaint . But nothing fruitful result has yet been received. I earnestly beg to your honour for your earlier interference to get rid of this wretched condition.

(KALYAN DAS)

Kalyan.[protected]@gmail.com

sucharita saha
      Oct 15, 2011

Address: North 24 Parganas, West Bengal

since last 3 years i receieved a high electricity bill ,actually i am using one fan, one t.v , two lights and one refrigarator regularly but my elecricity bill is above rs.400 most of the time.i doubt there is some problem in meter.my consumer no is [protected].

Please solve this problem as early as possible .Because it's impossible to bear the high amount bill for me for long time.
      Apr 2, 2022
      Feb 25, 2022
      Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Customer Care's response
      Dear Consumer,
      We believe the issue has been resolved. if not kindly call us on 1912.
      CESC Limited
      consumer no[protected]
      HIGH ELECTRICITY BILL LAST YEAR2011 JAN TO MAY AVERAGE UNITS WERE 93 UNITS.
      CURRENT YEAR 2012 140UNITS.
      I FAILTO UNDERSTAND THE DIFFERENCE SEEMS TO BE TOO MUCH.
      MY CONSUMER NO [protected] IN THE NAME OF RANU ACHARYA

MY ELECTRICITY BILL USUALLY BETWEEN RS.100 TO RS.200.00

I AM SHOCKED TO FIND THAT ELECTRICITY BILL FOR THE MONTH OF JANUARY 2014 HAS COME TO RS.410.00 WHICH IS VERY MUCH ON THE HIGHER SIDE.

I AM POOR PERSON LEADING A RETIRED LIFE, HENCE IT IS DIFFICULT FOR ME TO PAY THUS HIGH AMOUNT. KINDLY CHECK THE METER READING BEFORE I MAKE PAYMENT OF THIS BILL.

Kanchan Prakash Saha
        from Rampurhat, West Bengal
        Sep 19, 2011

Since last few months I am receiving very high electricity bill unit from CESCHowrah. Actually we are using 2 fans & 2 Tube lights,4cfl bulbs, 1 freeze, 1washing machine semi-auto,22" colour TV, but the Eclectic bills are coming above Rs.700/month which is very much high than what it should be.
        I have a doubt in my mind that either Electric Metre is not working properly or someone is doing Electric theft from our metre as we are unable to check what exactly happening because the metres are locked in a net cabin under the staircase.
        So request you to kindly look into it & resolve it as soon as possible.
        My consumer no:-[protected]

sudipta22
          from Mainpuri, Uttar Pradesh
          Aug 21, 2011

CHANGE OF BILLING ADDRESS

Address: South 24 Parganas, West Bengal

I want to change my CESC billing address to as below,
          SUBIR ROY
          11, THAKUR BARI ROAD
          P.O-KALIGHAT
          KOLKATA- 700026
          My consumer no-[protected], LP No-109/32, present account address-
          Flat no. 3A, Floor No. 3
          249A, MOTILAL GUPTA ROAD
          KOLKATA 700082.
          account is with-Mr SUDIPTA NANDI
          please do this at the earliest as i am finding it difficult...
          18 other people found this review helpful
          18 found this helpful
          46 Comments
          me_bi43
          from Port Blair, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
          Aug 12, 2011

I had applied for release of my Security Deposit of Rs.2103/-with CESC on 20th May, 2011.
          Their acknowledgement docket no. is 150310/[protected]/150310 dated 20th May, 2011.
          Till the date of this complaint i.e. (12th August, 2011) i have not received any response from them, and am still waiting for my refund of Security Deposit

Kind regards,

Sqn ldr Bidyut Chatterjee
          Mobile: [protected]
          My complaint has still not been addressed, in that i am yet to get my refund in spite of the fact that my CESC account has been closed
          Complaint stands withdrawn, since refund has been received

sanofi
            Jul 21, 2011

This is to bring to your notice that I am yet to get the refund of the security deposit aginst my old meter no 3693782 which has been surrendered long back. I fail to understand that why being a customer I have to follow up with your Organisation when I think its your duty to make the refund to me. I expect you to please let me know about the status about the above mentioned refund by 3 working days.

Ashimjyoti Ganguly

KUNTAL CHATTOPADHYAY
              Jul 17, 2011

Address: Hooghly, West Bengal

MY ELECTRICITY BILL FOR JUNE 2011 SHOWS ONLY 14 UNITS BEING CONSUMED. IT APPEARS THAT MY METER (NO.3876808) HAS DEVELOPED SOME DEFECT. PLEASE CHECK THE METER AND DO THE NEEDFUL.

PROF. KUNTAL CHATTOPADHYAY
              CONSUMER NO-[protected]
              FLAT-105, 75 JOY KISSEN STREET
              UTTARPARA, HOOGHLY-712258

gtatai
                Jul 15, 2011

In the night my voltage is going down to such level that the AC is not working and all the ceiling fans are just revolving at negligible pace with dim lights. I have already docketed my complaint on 12.07.2011but to no avail till date. Please help. My details are as below.

Consumer No.[protected]
                L/Post no.101/9/7
                Docket No.013308 dated 12.07.2011
                Consumer Name-Mousumi Banerjee
                Address-1/51, Netaji Nagar, Kol-92
                Mobile-[protected]

murlidhar harlalka
                  Jul 14, 2011

Our consumer number is [protected]. In the month of april 2011 we had received a bill of Rs 30060 (net amount).and we complain for that in the shyambazar office of the CESC board. There they asked us for a payment of Rs 1060 and they also said that they will send someone to again check the meter reading and do the needful. After that they did not gave any response and for the month of may I had received a bill of Rs 33300 (net amount).

I want to draw your attention that even from the last six month the maximum bill amount was of Rs 1240(gross amount) for the month of jan 2011. I am also providing you the last six month details of the bills:

Month Units Gross Amount(Rs)

Oct 2010 201 910
                  Nov 2010 133 530
                  Dec2010 149 610
                  Jan 2011 263 1240
                  Feb2011 115 440
                  Mar 2011 172 730

Kindly take the action as early as possible. Awaiting for your response.

sanjaybhandia
                    Jul 5, 2011

I am being charged almost double by CESC,for the last two months,compared to my average billing.Attached is my written complaint to the Co.

Sent: Tue, 05 Jul 2011 10:24:42 +0530
                    To: "shibshankar.chakravarty"shibshankar.[protected]@cesc.co.in
                    Subject: inflatory bill for may,2011,

Consumer No.;[protected]

Please refer to above.

I have received a bill for Rs 2347/- for the month of June.

If you compare my average bills for the whole year,you will find an average of Rs[protected],of billing.

How can a month bill more than double in a single month,without any increase of consumption? And this type o[censored]nacceptable bill has been issued from your office,many times in the past.

I have personally met you in your office, regarding same type of complaints, several times in the past.

Please take some necessary step to average down the inflated bill of June in the future bills,as it has been done in the past.

Also,pl ensure,this type of complaint never generates in the future.

Once again, I personally thank you for the support & response you have shown in the past

Sanjay Bhandia
                    for
                    Damodar Hariram
                    C/o Jamnadas & Co.
                    47a, Satish mukherjee road,
                    Kolkata-700026
                    Despite my complain,as above for the May bill,Once again I have received a bill of Rs 2309/- for the month of June.
                    It seems that a trend has been set up with no guidelines. The billing amount according to the consumption is simply unbelievable.Do take some necessary steps to get out of this awkward situation.
                    High electricity Bill
                    Since last 3 months I am receiving very high electricity bill from CESC Kolkata.Actually we are using 4fans & 6 Tube lights one tv. Washing &freeze but the Electic bills are coming above 1500/month which is very much high than what it should be.
                    I have a doubt in my mind that either Electric Metre is not working properly or someone is doing Electric theft from our metre as we are unable to check what exactly happening because the metres are locked in a room.
                    So request you to kindly look into it & resolve it as soon as possible.

note-my consumer no-[protected]

md. ashraf ali 81/1g topsia road. kolkata700039
                    3rd floor
                    (m) [protected]

compani
                      from Chittaranjan, West Bengal
                      Jun 25, 2011

excess billing

respected sir,
                      my consumer no is [protected] in the name of anamika sonkar and i stay here as a tenant and i have complaint in the concerned dept several times regarding my excess billing through mail and physically also visited their office but it does not make any difference to my billing so i am giving the details of the appliances used in my residence below, please look after it that whether this billing is right or not, and if...
                      garai_deba
                      Jun 22, 2011

My consumer No. is [protected]. In our lane, supply breakdown occurred in four houses (My house and my neighbour's house-Mr.& Mrs. Mukherjee, Mr. Ghosh and another one) on 17-06-11 at about 10:30 AM. Accordingly, we have tried to made complaints/information over 1912/[protected] but failed to contact with such IVR number since the same is not working properly.However, through sms on 56070, I made it possible to inform CESE about the above power breakdown at about 01:20PM. I have been given docket No.[protected] against my above complaint.

Now 6 days have already passed. Temprorary connection from other residence’s phase have been provided after 2 days but No one from CESC Authority attended the actual course of action till date. Mr. Mukherjee is a serious kidney patient. He is passing his days with very hardship. I have also tried to contact with CESC Authority's HQ, South-West Regional Office,Taratola over so many phone nos. but no one lifting the phone. As such I am visiting their office personally but of no results.

GOBOR
                        Jun 14, 2011

Faulty meter reading & excess bill amount

I am a consumer of cesc limited ([protected]) kolkata and i am very much astonished to view the electric bill of may 2011.
                        The bill shows the total unit of 248 of may 2011 whereas in may 2010 it was 174. It is totally ridiculous.
                        I think the meter reading is not taken or may be the meter is faulty or the person not take right meter reading.
                        Due to excessive meter reading the bill of may 2011 will display the...
                        santu37
                        Jun 9, 2011

My self Joy Ranjan Mukherjee am consumer of CESC supply. My Consumer No.[protected].Now a days I face a problem that your billing department does not taken meter reading properly and regular basis. They sent me an average bill for current month (i.e.May'2011).So I feel worried about my electric bill.
                        So, my earnest request to you that please take my meter rate properly and billing properly that means on actual basis not on average basis.

meter reading is not regular — meter reading is not regular

I am steaing at Mahulbera in Mosabani east Singhbhum Jharkhand in our area meter reading is not regular.
                        Meter reader not regularly comming to our area, maximum time average billing is coming and at some month very high bill is a result.
                        My request to regularise the matter so that correct bill for each month will come.

Meter reading not done in regular basis - Comment #1822482 - Image #0
                        CESC Complaints & Reviews - Meter reading not done in regular basis
                        View all CESC complaints
                        CESC

Location: Kolkata, NORTH 24 Parganas, West Bengal, India

P.M.[protected]@GMAIL.COM AS ON DT 07.10, 2011

Meter reading not done in regular basis
                        My self DURGA MONDAL am consumer of CESC supply. My Consumer No.[protected].Now a days I face a problem that your billing department does not taken meter reading properly and regular basis. They sent me an average bill for current month (i.e.JUNE & SEPT '2011).So I feel worried about my electric bill.
                        So, my earnest request to you that please take my meter rate properly and billing properly that means on actual basis not on average
                        WE HOPE YOU WILL TAKEN THE MATTER AND LEDGAL ACTION AND OUR PATMENT DECTION OR ADJUSTMENT YOUR YOUR BILL
                        THANKING YOU
                        YOUR FAITHFULLY
                        DURGA MONDAL

CESC (Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation) — one face fused up

Dear sir, our consumer no.[protected] has got 440 volt line it has 3 face. Unfortunately one of my face has got fused up. Plz kindly do the needful service asap

Not satisfied with bill

Customer name- Saroj Kr Saraogi. customer id- [protected], meter reading is not satisfactory, kindly recheck the bill meter.

High bill due to power theft

Dear all,
                        This is to inform you that someone is hooking with our Electricty Meter. Please inspect it and remove it immediately.

consumer no: [protected]

somnaths
                          May 27, 2011

Address: Hooghly, West Bengal

On 23 rd of May,2011 I have submitted Rs. 5581.00 to CESC for increasing my electric supply load as I am going to install an AC. But till now no response has been come from CESC. I have the money receipt with me. When I am calling to CESC offices (Toll free 1912) they are not taking any complaint regarding that & saying that you need to contact to district office. When I contacted to the district offices they said that for that you need to contact to commercial office at howrah, but no one is picking up the ph at there given no as [protected]/26669199. I dont know what to do? Since CESC is doing monopoly business of electricity, I don't have any option change the service provider. Please help me. My consumer no is [protected] residing at 133 BM Saha Road, Hindmotor, Hooghly.

Hemanta Lal Saha

tapendu.mondal
                            May 23, 2011

I am writing on behalf of my mother Mrs. Bipasha Mondal who is the owner of this flat & domestic electricity meter (consumer no. - [protected]).
                            I am quite surprised to receive such a heavy bill for domestic power consumed by me during the last few months.I think that the meter is not reading accurately or there is any technical fault in the meter. The bills I have received from you for last few months are higher than I normally pay. It was just not possible for me to have used so much of power as I am living alone in this house and for whole day I am working outside except Sunday. If you compare it with our previous bills, you will clearly see the huge difference in the bills.
                            You are, therefore, requested to have the meter checked and send me the amended bill.
                            For further any query please contact me at [protected] or [protected].

Mr. Tapendu Mondal
                            I am writing on behalf of my Father Sri. Gour Mallick who is the owner of this domestic electricity meter (consumer no. - [protected]).
                            I am quite surprised to receive such a heavy bill for domestic power consumed by me during the last few months.I think that the meter is not reading accurately or there is any technical fault in the meter. The bills I have received from you for last few months are higher than I normally pay. It was just not possible for us. If you compare it with our previous bills, you will clearly see the huge difference in the bills.
                            You are, therefore, requested to have the meter checked and send me the amended bill.
                            For further any query please contact me at [protected] or [protected] or mail to [protected]@gmail.com

Mrs ANITA DATTANI
                            7 NAND LAL JEW ROAD MY CONSUMER NO-[protected]
                            1St floor
                            opp uttam manch
                            KOLKATA-700026
                            REQUEST YOU TO CHANG MY ABOVE THIS NEW ADDRESS . IN FUTURE SEND ALL BILLING LETTER ETC ON THIS MENTION ADDRESS FOR ALL MY PAYMENT IN TIME

Online payment of consumer no-75168010003

Hi, I have paid nov14 bill through AXIS BANK net banking on 14.12.14, Payment was successful, Amount debited from my A/C but I have not received receipt of payment from CESC.Kindly share the same. rds, Paritosh ph:[protected]

excessive bill amount for the month of june 2014

we were bot at home for the entire month of june how can a bill amounting to rupees 1530 come? please check whether there has been any theft /any problem with the meter

dhruvfun
                              May 12, 2011

I am a subscriber of CESC. Every month we are receiving bills between 17th and 20th of the month with due date around 21st to 27th, thereby giving us a week or 10 days at max to pay the bill, failing which they charge penalty. Isn't there a guideline in place where the Utility Providers have to give a minimum time frame to their consumers to pay the bill. Even this month, i.e. May 2011, the bill has not even been generated on their website, leave alone reaching us in paper format!! This is shameful and something must be done to protect the consumers.
                              Consumer No. [protected]

I want to know if electricity bill is payed or not.

J.R.Banerjee

My email address is : [protected]@gmail.com
                              My consumer no. is [protected]

I want to know whether my bill is paid or not?

abhijeetdg
                                from Amalapuram, Andhra Pradesh
                                Apr 8, 2011

Since Last 2 months we are facing a huge fluctuation of voltages in our area 11 ,Pottery Road ,Kolkata-700015 (56 word )....We have done several complains to CESC .... but till date no action has been taken from their end ... Because of this reason any time our electronic goods like refrigerator, Television, Computer ,Fan,Light may get damged .... No initiative has been taken from their end ... We want a result of this complain ..

Citizen of Kolkata - 700015 and Consumer of CESC .